We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Fitness centre
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Quest on Johnston(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Park Hotel Lambton Quay(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
West Plaza Hotel(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,982)
Filter reviews
2,982 results
Traveller rating
761
1,405
576
165
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
1,405
576
165
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel lodgegreat locationplimmer stepscentral locationlambton quaycable carwould stay againclean roomswithin walking distanceroom serviceeasy accessair conditioningbusiness tripthe heart of the citywellington cbdnice roomshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,719 - 2,724 of 2,982 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2012

after a long day the fact that the lift was broken was not an auspicious start. The room was on the 17 th floor, reception suggested i wait as if i used the stairs i might not be able to get through the locks on the fire exit doors. In thier defense i was offered a free drink while the lift was fixed.
Hotel is very central to Lambton Quay and whilst very basic was comfortable. Rooms are small and there is no visible air conditioning ( a small wall heater). The showers are designed without doors so the water goes all over the bathroom floor and hall carpet. Also no free wifi!
Parking at $20 a night is a rip off as well, recommend using the carpark pay machine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear Stuart H

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback
Please accept my apologies regarding lifts not working upon your arrival. Travelodge rooms are designed to be everything that you need without the fuss. We offer clean, tidy accommodation at very competitive rates. Our standard rooms are of a comparable size to most hotels in our region. There is always the option to upgrade your room type when you make your reservation and also on check-in.
Our parking is $20 per night which is a very competitive rate when compared to the other Wellington hotels. We always have parking inclusive specials available both online and by booking direct.
The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.

Kind regards
Rean Vorster
Assistant hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Nice room on a high floor with great view over the surrounding buildings and the bay. Very nice bathroom. Very well located for the CBD. Air conditioning would have been nice... Parking in the adjacent car park is expensive so if you are staying before taking the ferry to the South Island return your rental car before the stay and take a taxi to the terminal like we did - it's cheaper, and you shouldn't need a car in the city. Another tip - take the lift to the bottom and then use the escalator down to the street, rather than exiting the hotel at reception level, otherwise you have a long walk down a fairly dull street. Return the same way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastSussexToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWLG, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Dear EastSussexToad,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Glad you found our great location so convenient!
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind regards
John Bristowe
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My wife and I had three lovely days at the hotel - the location is great and the room very warm and cozy with all the basic features a couple might want. Unfortunately, our experience was devalued a little on our first night when we found oursevles on the streets of Wellington at 0545am for over an hour following a fire alarm and evacuation. We were there with all the hotel guests in their pyjamas but no staff - no one to advise what was happening let alone anyone to take a roll call! And no apology from the hotel later even. We subsequently discovered as we sought to walk back to our room from the lobby that the doors in the fire stairs to each floor were locked!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul62Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Dear Paul62Canberra

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the service you received from our front office team, during and after the fire evacuation. We are currently investigating our fire evacuation procedure during early mornings.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Travelodge Hotels in the near future.
Kind regards

Rean Vorster
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Travelodge Wellington was a very good basic hotel to our taste. We stayed there for a week while attending to a conference in Wellington. I would have given four stars if it would not have been so cold in our rooms. However, this is the same with all the buildings in New Zealand, they get very cold during the winter due to the fact that the apartments/hotel rooms don't have double windows which I find kind of bizarre. One other thing that bothered us was false fire alarms. We had to evacuate the building twice because the fire alarm went off. It's not very fun to stand outside in the cold waiting to get back in.

The location of the hotel was great, however. Not too far from the very vibrant and lively Cuba Street and very close to everything. And still very peaceful and quiet location that I really appreciate when traveling for business. Service was fairly good also, with some people at the reception being more friendly and helpful than the other. The breakfast was very good! I really enjoyed the pancake machine especially :) On the down side, the internet connection was very expensive, 29.95 $ (NZ) for 24 hours. Coming from Finland where the hotels basically always offer free internet connection, the price at the Travelodge was pretty steep.

All in all, good hotel and I would stay at the Travelodge again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Same W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWLG, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Same W
I’m very pleased to read how much you enjoyed Travelodge Wellington’s awesome location! We are situated right on Lambton Quay, making us the perfect base to explore the coolest little capital in the world.
Please accept my apologies for the fire alarms going off .We have investigated this matter and found that someone activated the fire alarm.
Also as you pointed out we do charge for our internet with prices starting from $13.95. Wellington has many free wireless hotspots offering half hour free access. Many of these are close to Travelodge Wellington.
Our chefs take great pride in the hotels breakfast and I’m sure they will be very happy when I pass on your feedback to them

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Hotels again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Rean Vorster
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Alright hotel located in easy walking distance of the harbour foreshore. Basic hotel but then its at the cheaper end of the market so nothing more could be expected.
Rooms are clean but relatively small but windows can be opened for fresh air.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h0lidaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews