We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel ... avoid if at all possible.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Short version: inflexible policies; price gouging; unhelpful staff; and cramped, small rooms that are nothing like the photos on the website.

Longer version:

First warning ... do NOT book unless you are 100% rock certain of your dates. Booked May 28, 2013 (37 days in advance of our stay). Contacted them within 24 hours of the initial booking (still well in advance of the '30 days advance booking' deadline) needing to cancel the second night's stay, due to circumstances beyond our control. We were traveling prior to meeting up with a tour in Auckland and the tour changed *their* dates. Travelodge flatly refused to cancel the second night. Their booking policy is that your "deposit" is not refundable and is equal to the FULL BOOKED STAY. Seriously?! Thank goodness we'd only booked for TWO nights. For the record, the car rental company and EVERY other hotel we had booked at went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating to our changed circumstances. Dates were promptly changed and we were not charged a cent extra ... except in the case of this dreadful hotel.

Our hotel experience: We arrived late off the last ferry in from Picton. This was the reason we'd picked this hotel due to its central location. As others have said, the location is the ONLY thing this hotel has going for it.

The clerk on duty was worse than useless. It took two trips upstairs from the underground parking lot to figure out where the heck we were supposed to park. First instruction: "look for hotel signs" ... these were small signs on the wall in front of the parking spaces, thus very difficult to see when a vehicle was already parked there. There were nine "hotel sign" spaces ... ALL were already occupied. How did the clerk not already know this? He then gave us a parking sticker and told us to park in one of the 240 minute slots. Note: We checked in around 10:30 PM and left around 8 AM the following day. So 9.5 hours maximum. Too late we discovered that if we'd taken the Pay and Display 12-hour public option we'd have paid a maximum of NZ$16. Arriving on a Friday night as we did ... we could have taken one evening and one weekend pass for a total of NZ$6.00. This hotel charged us NZ$25 for parking! Advice: If you must stay here, use the public parking option.
http://www.tournament.co.nz/location/the-plimmer-towers-carpark/

The room was exceptionally small and cramped (see photos). We had one 21" airline carry-on and two small 28" airline check-in suitcases ... I had to move the iron and other junk out of the "closet" to make room for one of our suitcases. There was simply no floor space for it. The power wasn't on and a window was open making the room freezing. After stumbling around in the dark, I eventually found a working bedside lamp. We called the desk to report the problem. We aren't regular travelers and so had no idea about the new "stick the room key in the special slot behind the door to activate power" thing. Something else the desk clerk should have mentioned as we checked in. We got the power and heat working but the window would not close properly, so we had a miserable night forced to listen to street noise and wind whistling through the gap.

Hotel mini-bars are notoriously expensive. This was no exception. We obviously didn't touch anything and took photographs to prove it, just in case! Example: a 1.5 liter bottle of water was NZ$5.50! FYI, New Zealand tap water is safe and tasty ... save your money and refill an existing water bottle.

When we checked out after just one night they acted all surprised!

Total rip-off cost for one rotten night's stay ... NZ$230.20 (US$185.22). Obviously made more expensive because they refused to cancel the second night and grossly overcharged us for parking. Nevertheless ... this hotel would be expensive even if you are business traveler and your company is paying ... thus making it technically free to you.

Avoid at all costs! This hotel does not deserve your business.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank USTravelerBAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Guest

When you take advantage of discounted advance purchased rates they do come with conditions. This is not unique to us, if you require greater flexibility you can take a different option.

Following recent comments and some changes in the general charges of the car park, I would like to explain clearly the car parking. As the guests who have commented have not been accurate in their facts. Weekend parking if you pay directly at the car park to cover midday to midday which is what most hotel guests require would cost a total of $9. However, you will need to return to your car three times to purchase tickets as they are not structured around overnights. Secondly, the tickets purchased from the hotel are multiple entry and you can come and go as much as you wish. We are not unreasonable and have reduced our weekend rates to $15, for this price you can park for a full 24 hours and come and go as you wish. It is a similar situation on weekdays where you would need to return to the meter multiple times. Day rates are $16 per day and as a hotel stay spans two days the rates we offer are very reasonable.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,402 - 2,408 of 2,758 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Booked for a "girls" weekend away; we wanted to be centrally located and comfortable without spending a fortune. This hotel fitted the brief perfectly. The location was great, we could go pretty much every where we wanted on foot. Our room was small but clean and tidy; great views too. The only contact we had with the staff was briefly on check-in and check-out; no problems there, they were efficient and polite. We chose not to eat at the hotel as central Wellington has an abundance of great eateries to suit all budgets. We did not need to use the internet or mini-bar in the room; prices for these seemed somewhat inflated but perhaps this is the norm for Wellington .
If I was staying longer, or had to spend more time in the room I possibly would've felt a bit cramped, but for our purpose the room was just fine, and I would have no hesitation in returning. I would happily recommend this hotel to others who want a comfortable and central place to stay for a night or two in Wellington without blowing the budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the hotel met your requirements. Our internet and minibar prices are the norm for Wellington and other major cities. Whilst the rooms are not huge, the whole point is to offer guests value for money. We don’t expect you to be in your room all that much, so why pay for floor space you don’t need. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotels location is all it has going for it. Staff on check in did not listen when asked a question and proceeded to challenge me that my AMEX was actually a debit card? Rooms are small, old with stains on the tiles in the shower, dirty curtains and damaged thread pulled carpet. The small table in the room is inadequate for any form of work to be done on it with very low chairs. If you arrive on a Sunday the restaurant is closed and staff are not sure about room service? Breakfast is very poor and I would challenge the freshness. What they claim to be a bar has a very limited selection with no tap beer. Rooms are very noisy with almost no benefit from closing the window. Stay somewhere else...........

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilyTripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations these are thoughts and I have to respect that. However, the comments you made are extreme and inaccurate.
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The rooms in this hotel are extremely small but are comfortable. The staff were polite but not overly helpful as they obviously did not seem to have systems in place to communicate what their guests required. We had asked for a shuttle to be ordered for when we left and when we returned to the hotel that afternoon the staff were not sure whether this had been ordered or not. They run a mini bar system which I detest in hotels as it means that you need to check this as soon as you arrive to make sure that everything is there and in this case there were items missing which as I found out were no longer supplied and the cost of the bottled water was extremely expensive. You don't actually need to purchase bottled water in NZ as the tap water is completely safe to drink. On the plus side the hotel is right in the middle of the city and I found it to be quite quiet with only minimal street noise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I shall pass your comments onto the team, I am sorry you felt they were not as helpful as they could have been. If we had ordered a shuttle bus it should have been recorded I will look into that. Sorry you are not a fan of minibars, lots of guests are and find this a welcome addition.
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last 3 months. The hotel is very central in the city centre and close to many shops and restaurants.
The rooms are small but adequate for my purposes. The noise levels are somewhat disturbing, but this is to be expected because of the location.
The staff were friendly, but not overly help full. Also during my first stay, both me and my colleague's wake-up calls did not come through...very important if you have to get up at 03h00 in the morning to be in time for your overseas flight!
The second time we stayed, the person at the counter confirmed to me the final amount that would be charged to my credit card...but then they still charged a small second amount to my card. I sent them an e-mail complaining about this, on which they apologized, and said that they would reverse the transaction.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I appologise for the mix up with your credit card and the wake up calls. This will be discussed in our team meetings where we look at all issues with the aim of continuous improvement.
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

On arrival we where greeted with a speedy check-in, room was clean and modern. Hotel location excellent and staff where always very polite and helpful. This is my second stay here and would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisDHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased you decided to stay with us again and we look forward to many more visits. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Budget hotel in great location. Room is basic and very odd shape with very strangely placed TV. The bathroom is very small and not very tidy. Friendly but not very helpful staff. Internet severely overpriced, like in most other hotels in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kermadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, you mentioned the bathroom is not very tidy. Your picture clearly shows a bathroom that has already been used, so I feel your representation is not a fair reflection.
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,912 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £65 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing