We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As you'd expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As you'd expected”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Smooth check-in / check-out, standard but clean room. The location is pretty good for trans islands ferry as well as easy access to shops/restaurant. We only stayed over night, and I'm sorry there isn't much more to say.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LG_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear LG_HK

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. Please to read you found the room to be clean and the location good. Hope we see you again.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    1,215
    504
    130
    59
See reviews for
469
1,004
194
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights & would not hesitate to stay again. Rooms were small, very clean & extremely quiet. It is a 10 minute stroll to Te Papa & Michael Fowler Centre, 3 minutes to the cable car terminal & about 30 seconds to the main shopping area of Lambton Quay.
Staff were friendly & courteous at all times - take advantage of the $2 brekky deal if available as the breakfast selection was excellent

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingleMaltMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear SingleMaltMan1

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. Sounds like you had a good time whilst visiting Wellington and the hotel was part of that positive experience. Even at normal price the breakfast is good value and the winter $2 brekky just makes it that bit more tasty. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
551 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I hasd got stranded in Wellington during the Great Snowstorm of August 2011. The staff couldn't have nbeen kinder even though the lifts had gone down and one had to trudge up all the flights of stairs imaginable. The restaurasnt room attendant had even trudged up them herself. Despite the poweer failures, I remember the visit with fondness.

Room Tip: Try a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Perry B.
I was not at the hotel when the snowstorm occurred. It is nice to see we are still in your memory and the staffs were helpful. I do hope you return one day, perhaps summer this time.
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Great value hotel - right in the middle of town - step out the doors into Lampton Quay - Great place to stay for a Wellington weekend.Five minutes from Cuba Mall - ten minutes to Te Papa - within sight of K&S -what more can I say

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Bruce B

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel it is great to see that we met with your requirements. We look forward to your next visit.

King regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Spent the weekend here when going to Wellington for a Bledisloe Cup Rugby Match. It was a fantastic location to the central city. Walking distance to shops, Cuba Mall, Westpac Stadium and more. Rooms were clean and tidy. Good secure parking

Room Tip: It is a tall building. If you don't like heights ask for a room on level 8 or 9. The reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitKat368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Kitkat
Hope you enjoyed the game, as you have highlighted we are close to pretty much all of Wellingtons main attractions. Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and we hope to see you again when you next visit Wellington.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here night after the recent 6.6 quake and experienced some strong aftershocks, stupidly I had joked about an upgrade and got it to a 19th floor room with harbour views. The shocks were in middle of night and we woke up to the building swaying suddenly & after regretting the upgrade we felt very safe still.
Hotel was in good location, we walked all around the city and to dinner. Fetching bags from car park was a pain although they had trolleys & it did only cost $16- on a Saturday, I see on other reviews they were changing it so the lower price is good and cheaper than most we paid in NZ.
Room was decent & modern. Wasn't huge but was as expected. The shower seemed a little dirty so we didn't use it. That would be my biggest complaint.
Cheers to the fella who upgraded us!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiritbird116812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Spiritbird
Thanks for reviewing the hotel, I am pleased to hear that despite the shakes you felt safe. The hotel does have a 100% seismic rating and was not damage by the recent quake. Regardless whenever there is a big shake we have engineers come through and double check everything within 24 hours. I will pass on your feedback to our housekeeping manager. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Great hidden location very central really good buffet breakfast wish they had Hot Chocolate in the rooms.
Lovely staff & facilities, loved the bathrooms. Very cosy for all: singles, couples and families

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwards5409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Edwards5409
Thank you for taking the time, I am glad you enjoyed the stay and your breakfast. I will be sure to pass the feedback onto our teams as well. I am looking into the possibility of putting hot chocolate into the rooms. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Toga Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing