We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Franklin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights on a trip to Wellington for the World of Wearable Arts show. The room on the 20th floor was more than adequate although a bit on the small side. The location was great for our purposes with everything at our doorstep. The restaurant was good and the staff helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martyvose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Martyvose
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am happy to read you enjoyed the restaurant and you found the staff happy and friendly. Location is certainly a strength for us, we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    1,149
    481
    123
    58
See reviews for
440
949
190
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Great location right on Lambton Quay easy walking distance to shopping ,markets,cable car,Cuba Mall,Te Papa, TSB arena and waterfront.Our Room on the sixteenth floor was small but clean and beds comfortable but no view as looked onto other buildings. Fine if you are just there to sleep and shower. Room was lovely and quiet. Staff helpful and friendly and we arrived at 10am and were able to check in early which was great.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Mary R
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. One of our strengths is our location and I pleased this was a plus for you, as it is for many. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback about the team being helpful and friendly.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I am not sure what I expected but this was not it. The room was small but the view was out of this world. I am used to hotels in New Zealand being quite dated and frequently very quaint. This one is a modern extravaganza with a view that can't be beat.

For those with late flights out of Wellington, this hotel has late check in. I arrived early and that was not a problem for them either.

The staff was friendly, the parking garage was tolerable. The room was everything you would hope for and the location is central to the shopping areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Elizabeth J

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to read that you a “treat” staying with us. As you mention the hotel location is central to shopping areas, I would just like to add it close to all Wellington City’s points of interest. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at the Travelodge Wellington for one night in September 2013. The most compelling reason for choosing the hotel is location - it backs right on to Lambton Quay, the main shopping strip in Wellington.
The hotel itself is clean and while the rooms are pretty small, if you are out most of the time it is fine. No sofa or lounge chair - to watch TV you had to sit on the bed - always a bit of a downer.
Breakfast was included in the rate, which was excellent.
Good service, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: My room was right next to the elevator and there was a bit of noise early in the evening as people c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallymagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Sallymagpie

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I will share your comments about our breakfast and the good service you received with all the team. Hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent 1 night here, before catching the ferry to South Island. Check in was easy, and the room clean and tidy, if a little small.The staff were really helpful in resolving a problem with our camera - Thanks!!
The approach to the hotel from the alley below, up a flight of steps, with 2 large suitcases was a little tricky, especially in the dark.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN22216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear John22216

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. Firstly I will pass your thanks onto the team for the help with the camera. Secondly, to anyone reading this if you are arriving to the hotel with large cases or limited mobility, it is better to access from Gilmer Tce. The access onto Lambton Quay is just a foot traffic entrance. The team looks forward to you staying again.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Whilst the room was slightly on the small side it was one of only ten on the floor. As you will see from one of my photos the rooms on floor 18 at least are all different shapes and sizes. This may have been a contributing factor to a very quiet stay, only heard one door slam for the entire duration of our stay. Windows are single glazed, but from our room at least (1803) no road noise and very quiet as long as the window was left closed. The room has no individual control of the room temperature, which may be an issue in summer, the room was very warm, and we opened the window to cool it down. The room does have an user controllable heater. The room came with a microwave, along with knifes, forks and spoons, 2 bowls and dinner plates, but no tea towel, dish wash liquid or dishcloth. The room was very well lit, which for a hotel room is unusual! The shower had good pressure, was nice and hot, but had an illogical semi wet-room floor with water from the large shower cabinet only partially contained by a fixed glass screen only covering half the length of the shower.

The hotel is in a good central location, either accessed from the attached car park from Gilmer Terrace or by foot from the Plimmer steps on Lambton key very close to Willis st and directly opposite a Starbucks. About 5 minutes walk away In Willis St ins a New World Metro supermarket.

The hotel has some reserved car parks in the attached Tournament Plimmer Towers Car Park. You can purchase one of the hotel car parks for $15 during the weekend and $25 during the week. If staying in the weekend it is cheaper to just buy a car park ticket from the car parks vending machines (and NOT park in the hotel reserved car parks). The Tournament car park charges are $3 from 08:00 till 18:00 and $3 from 18:00 till 08:00, the only catch is there is no logical way of getting a continuous ticket which means you need to return to your car and purchase another ticket at the end of the time period. You can come and go as you please from the car park as you please.

The hotels breakfast has a good selection, with either continental breakfast costing $19 or cooked breakfast $22. We attempted to dine at the hotel for dinner, but when not served for 15 minutes despite being the only guests in the restaurant we voted with our feet and went somewhere else.

Room Tip: Asking for a room with a view on a high floor would be advantageous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilmore_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Kilmore

Thanks for taking the time to do a long and detailed review of the property. I have forwarded your comment about the dinner service issue which is totally unacceptable. I have already been spoken with the restaurant manager, my sincere apologises. I do look forward to you staying again.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Good location, check in & out smooth. Frustrating lift operation to access room floors, rooms on the smallish side no individual room temperature control & noisy if you open window(s). Breakfast very tasty but both days it was tepid at best which was disappointing. Staff polite & helpful but appeared to be down on numbers, room not serviced until 1pm.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKBus_Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Ian M

Thanks for reviewing the hotel. I thought I would just address the point about the time the room was serviced. All hotels clean their departure rooms first so they can be ready for afternoon check-ins. We then service the occupied rooms, this generally start late morning and runs through the afternoon. 1pm I believe is a reasonable time for this to be done. Sorry you felt the breakfast was tepid, there are guidelines about food storage temperatures. Our breakfast is held at the same temperature each day, this is the first complaint we have had of this nature.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#14 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing