We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Really good place to stay. Modern rooms not the largest room I have stayed in. But when you are in a big city you won't be spending a lot of time there. Did find the fact there was no room service a problem - for those late checkins it is always handy to be able to get in room service without having to navigate new city to find a burger bar :-).Would recommend however and stay again.

Room Tip: Go higher if possible, you will find better view across harbour
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Sue B
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you had a problem ordering room service, as we do have this service available. A full menu from 5-10pm and a smaller overnight menu, I will be sure to follow us to what occurred. But thanks for recommending the hotel and I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,707)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Hotel Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,316 - 2,322 of 2,707 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

The first thing that surprised me about this hotel was the ease of access on foot. The bus from the airport dropped me really close and the hotel lift comes down to almost street level on Plimmer Steps - I was expecting to have to climb to the top, so was mighty pleased.

Reception staff could not have been more helpful - I arrived earlier than the standard check-in time and they did their best to get me to my room as quickly as possible. Very professional. The room itself was really good with views through the interesting Wellington cityscape to the harbour. The bed was super-comfortable and the place is quiet, making for a great night's sleep right in the heart of the city. All in all, great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiRoverJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear KiwiRoverJim

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I will be sure to share the comments you have made about the hotel and the helpfulness of the reception staff with all the team. Your review has captured the essence of Travelodge Wellington. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel is within walking distance of shopping, the cable car, and the waterfront. Ask the front desk for a map of the area; they were quite helpful in getting my bearings. The food is average. The quietness of the rooms makes for an excellent night's sleep. The elevator system is a bit tricky for some people, but I appreciated the security it provided by limiting the number of people who had access to the guest floors.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colorado_Traveler_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Colorado Traveler 98

Thanks for reviewing the hotel, you have highlighted our location. The Hotel is located very centrally to all of Wellington’s points of interest. With the elevator all you need to do is insert your key to access your floor. Sorry you thought the food is average, this is not a typical comment in regards to the restaurant that usually receives high praise.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had to make a last minute trip for a function at tsb arena, so to find a hotel only a five minute walk away was great. Parking was good and a reasonable price to what we have paid previously in welling ton, the check in staff could have been better. The room was great we had a awesome view of the harbour, clean, plenty of space, the bathroom was also big and spacious. We had three rooms booked for this trip and they were all great rooms no inconsistencies. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey43_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Tracey43_13
Glad you enjoyed your stay and found parking to reasonable and you found the rooms to your liking. Sorry to read you thought the check-in staff could have been better. As with the previous review that was positive about the team I will be sharing your comments, as we want everyone to have the same level of high quality service. Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was so easy to find. A $9 bus trip from the airport and you are dropped almost on the doorstep. The reception staff were very helpful and we were lucky enough to get an early check in. Hotels in Wellington are not cheap. This was great value in an excellent location. The only thing missing is a fan or air conditioner as I think the rooms would get fairly warm in Summer.
The bar beneath the hotel had great specials for various days of the week.

Room Tip: Despite road works happening outside our room on the 17th floor was very quiet and we were able to s...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin11457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Kevin11457
Glad you enjoyed your stay I will be sure to pass on your comments in regards to the team. Just wanted to add the hotel does have a fresh air system and all guest rooms have windows that open. Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We did a last minute booking and this accommodation turned out to be much better than we expected.

For the price we paid, we had a nice room with a small LCD TV, a fridge, a wardrobe, a small luggage stand and a table with two chairs. There is a safe box and an iron board in the wardrobe but we didn't use them. Our room was located on the very top floor, but our window was facing another tall office building so we had to keep our curtains closed most of the time. Speaking of curtains, they were thick enough for the room to remain dark at 11am in the morning and we really loved sleeping in!!!

Pros:
1. Great location - so close to everything, even to the two Les Mills gyms
2. Excellent customer service at front desk
3. Clean and quiet

Cons:
1. No TV 4 or other free SKY channels other than sport and news (there were a selection of in room movies that we could pay for)
2. We found a used towel on our made up bed on our second day.
3. Not a lot of space in the shower for shampoo, conditioner, facial wash..etc.

Would we stay there again? Yes we would.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janda0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Janda0808
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry about the towel clearly should not have happened. Otherwise I please to read overall your stay was a good one and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Nigel Warwick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

With Wellington, if you're not a hostel-go-er, you'll do well to find a decent bed for under $100. That's the nature of the beast. Travelodge fits, it was $99 and we stayed one Saturday night. It is expensive for what it is, and I'm being particularly lenient as we were upgraded not once but twice! I feel that for this price not only should parking be included but wifi, too. Parking is $20 per day and wifi is ridiculously expensive. The room itself was really good, really clean and had a great view. The location is fantastic and walking distance to almost everything you'd want to do in the capital city.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Adamson20

I think from your opening comment in regards to hostels you are clearly not someone who uses hotels a lot. If you were, you would know that $99 for a 4 star city hotel provides excellent value for money.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,883 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £66 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing