We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I was amazed at what I got for my money! Double bed, big room, usual stuff plus a safe. Great views of the city.

Great helpful staff.

Bar, restaurant, gym - all for a budget price!

And right in the heart of town too.

On,y negative for me was no free Wifi

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear HKinsey
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased the hotel exceed your expectations, we do aim to offer great value in a very right in the heart of Wellington. Whilst WiFi is not free we do offer packages via our website; just goggle Travelodge Wellington. There is also a daily 15 minute free access to guests should you just want to check messages. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    1,228
    506
    130
    59
See reviews for
478
1,013
195
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, TX
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the Travelodge in Wellington. Lodge is misleading, this is a high rise hotel in the center of the city. Our room had great views of the harbor. The room was nice and clean, the staff friendly. There was a great café for breakfast right outside the entrance of the hotel. They offered dining as well but it was a little pricey.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleyville_TXAngjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Colleyville_TXAngjoe
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay I will be sure to share your comments with the team. Just to add the hotel also does a great breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Friendly, helpful reception staff and a good sized, spotlessly clean and well equipped room awaited us. Appreciated being able to order a simple coffee and muffin as an alternative to a large breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nordeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Nordeuk
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay I will be sure to share your comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Really good place to stay. Modern rooms not the largest room I have stayed in. But when you are in a big city you won't be spending a lot of time there. Did find the fact there was no room service a problem - for those late checkins it is always handy to be able to get in room service without having to navigate new city to find a burger bar :-).Would recommend however and stay again.

Room Tip: Go higher if possible, you will find better view across harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Sue B
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you had a problem ordering room service, as we do have this service available. A full menu from 5-10pm and a smaller overnight menu, I will be sure to follow us to what occurred. But thanks for recommending the hotel and I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The first thing that surprised me about this hotel was the ease of access on foot. The bus from the airport dropped me really close and the hotel lift comes down to almost street level on Plimmer Steps - I was expecting to have to climb to the top, so was mighty pleased.

Reception staff could not have been more helpful - I arrived earlier than the standard check-in time and they did their best to get me to my room as quickly as possible. Very professional. The room itself was really good with views through the interesting Wellington cityscape to the harbour. The bed was super-comfortable and the place is quiet, making for a great night's sleep right in the heart of the city. All in all, great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRoverJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear KiwiRoverJim

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I will be sure to share the comments you have made about the hotel and the helpfulness of the reception staff with all the team. Your review has captured the essence of Travelodge Wellington. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel is within walking distance of shopping, the cable car, and the waterfront. Ask the front desk for a map of the area; they were quite helpful in getting my bearings. The food is average. The quietness of the rooms makes for an excellent night's sleep. The elevator system is a bit tricky for some people, but I appreciated the security it provided by limiting the number of people who had access to the guest floors.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado_Traveler_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Colorado Traveler 98

Thanks for reviewing the hotel, you have highlighted our location. The Hotel is located very centrally to all of Wellington’s points of interest. With the elevator all you need to do is insert your key to access your floor. Sorry you thought the food is average, this is not a typical comment in regards to the restaurant that usually receives high praise.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had to make a last minute trip for a function at tsb arena, so to find a hotel only a five minute walk away was great. Parking was good and a reasonable price to what we have paid previously in welling ton, the check in staff could have been better. The room was great we had a awesome view of the harbour, clean, plenty of space, the bathroom was also big and spacious. We had three rooms booked for this trip and they were all great rooms no inconsistencies. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey43_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Tracey43_13
Glad you enjoyed your stay and found parking to reasonable and you found the rooms to your liking. Sorry to read you thought the check-in staff could have been better. As with the previous review that was positive about the team I will be sharing your comments, as we want everyone to have the same level of high quality service. Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,851 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing