We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
131 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good for stop-over”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Clean, good location, and no fuss. This is Travel Lodge and thus you won't look for fancy facilities. I stayed there for just one night -- kind of stop-over before taking my flight to South Island. Very convenient location and just 2-3 minutes you'll have arrived at the harbour. Easy to find restaurant, coffee shops, and many others with 5-10 minutes' walk. The only down side is that you'll have to pay to get access to the internet. But I encountered the same problems in other cities in New Zealand. Not a good practice but that's life here in this part of the world. The room is OK. Bed is comfortable. As I said, rather standard Travel Lodge.

Room Tip: My room faces buildings but it turned out to be rather quiet on a Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bally1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Bally1966
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. The Travelodge is about providing all you need without the extras and doing this with a friendly smile at a great rate. From your comments I believe we met that expectation. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    1,215
    504
    130
    59
See reviews for
469
1,005
194
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Not a bad hotel for Wellington, but I wouldn't suggest paying full price. The rooms are very small, with about .5 metre clearance around a king bed. Internet access is at the extortionist price of $30 / day, so unless you're on a business expense account and don't care you can find a cafe to access the free CBD wireless (the Thunderbird Cafe on Featherston is just a couple of blocks away and has excellent food along with the wireless). The biggest downside was the noisy doors - they're on automatic close, which takes them slowly to about .2 metres and then slams them shut to make sure they lock. Unfortunately this rattles the whole floor. I had one night when several people were coming in at 2 am, then several others (I hope) going out at 6 am, so it made it very hard to sleep. The staff was very friendly and helpful, which helps compensate for the flaws.

Room Tip: End of the hall, away from elevators, will give you the best noise isolation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechnoKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear JavaTrainer
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. Firstly I will be sure to share your positive feedback about the staff with them staff. I am sorry you were disturbed in the early hours of the morning, all doors are automatic close in any hotel, fire and safety regulation require this. They are set so they don’t make noise and we don’t get complaints about this. What I am guessing by your comments and the time that we had some rather noisy guests coming back in the early hours. Which again is a rare occurrence, but I do apologise that your sleep was disturbed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Professional welcoming and friendly staff, nothing a problem a real happy-to-please attitude throughout the hotel. The rooms are well appointed, fresh, clean & very comfortable. Breakfast choices and quality excellent.
The access to the centre of Wellington's best shopping and short easy walking distance to restaurants, Te Papa, and stunning water front all at your feet.
Thanks for making our stay in Wellington so personable and relaxing at such a busy time of the year. Merry Christmas to each and everyone of you !!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear RosieW
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased you had such a great stay with us and I will share your comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards and happy new year
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
397 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I was amazed at what I got for my money! Double bed, big room, usual stuff plus a safe. Great views of the city.

Great helpful staff.

Bar, restaurant, gym - all for a budget price!

And right in the heart of town too.

On,y negative for me was no free Wifi

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear HKinsey
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased the hotel exceed your expectations, we do aim to offer great value in a very right in the heart of Wellington. Whilst WiFi is not free we do offer packages via our website; just goggle Travelodge Wellington. There is also a daily 15 minute free access to guests should you just want to check messages. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleyville, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the Travelodge in Wellington. Lodge is misleading, this is a high rise hotel in the center of the city. Our room had great views of the harbor. The room was nice and clean, the staff friendly. There was a great café for breakfast right outside the entrance of the hotel. They offered dining as well but it was a little pricey.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleyville_TXAngjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Colleyville_TXAngjoe
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay I will be sure to share your comments with the team. Just to add the hotel also does a great breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Friendly, helpful reception staff and a good sized, spotlessly clean and well equipped room awaited us. Appreciated being able to order a simple coffee and muffin as an alternative to a large breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nordeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Nordeuk
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay I will be sure to share your comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Really good place to stay. Modern rooms not the largest room I have stayed in. But when you are in a big city you won't be spending a lot of time there. Did find the fact there was no room service a problem - for those late checkins it is always handy to be able to get in room service without having to navigate new city to find a burger bar :-).Would recommend however and stay again.

Room Tip: Go higher if possible, you will find better view across harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Sue B
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you had a problem ordering room service, as we do have this service available. A full menu from 5-10pm and a smaller overnight menu, I will be sure to follow us to what occurred. But thanks for recommending the hotel and I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Nigel Warwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing