We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Proximity to the City Centre Facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Proximity to the City Centre Facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not luxurious but it is quite adequate and very well situated right in the middle of the Wellington CBD. It is not suitable for a romantic weekend but should certainly suit the casual tourist. I will most certainly stay at the Travelodge again for both the location and the very reasonable price tag. Worthy of mention is the great service and attitude shown by the Front of House Staff - an exemplary attitude to customer service so just checking-in makes you feel good about the place even before you see the room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GallopingGourmet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear GallopingGourmet51,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am thrilled you found our customer service exemplary we pride ourselves on making first impressions count as well as continuing a high level of service throughout a guests stay in all departments.

I am pleased you will return to us and hope it is soon.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    1,147
    475
    124
    58
See reviews for
436
944
190
506
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawkesbay
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Apart from my comments on the washroom area my stay was comfortable and had all the facilities I required. Staff very friendly and helful. The hotel is central to the CBD which was a bonus. I have stayed there in the past and will stay there again as the occasion arises.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jbrand79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear jbrand79,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I am also thrilled you will come back to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

For a facility that regards itself on service, I have some misconceptions with this, having to pay a $100.00 bond very unusual in this electronic age. An imprint of a credit card is usually all that is required, to have $100.00 taken off a card is very unusual I was not able to do this as do not have a company credit card so I did not have access to all the facilities of the motel and could not charge things to my room. Also this policy did not seem to hold true for all clients the previous client was not asked for a bond on their credit card and nor did they have a credit card, they were from the corrections department but this should have no influence on company policy. Had to go out for breakfast to local cafe and not able to use the restaurant facilities as was locked out of using all other facilities in the hotel. Also bathroom was not clean, and had a strong unclean odour associated with it.

Also check-in process had to wait 20 minutes to check in after having been in conference for most of day waiting around for check-in when it is the busiest time of the day there was only one staff member on.

I stay away at from home at least one to two weeks per month and this stay has not been one of my better experiences, travel-lodge wellington would need to improve before I stayed again

A. Waters

Room Tip: Try to get rooms which are not situated near where the lifts are opening and shutting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear alwaters,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. Hotel fraud is an unfortunate reality and is much more common than most people think, while the vast majority of guests are honest it is these fraudsters that take full advantage of a hotel's commitment to guest service and satisfaction and get away without paying their bill which are commonly a great deal more then the average guest. We have these policies in place to prevent such things from occurring while it may be an small inconvenience to our honest guests, if you fully intend to pay your bill it should be no problem.

A tip would be to tell your company to guarantee all charges when you book your next accommodation then you will not have this issue in any hotel.

I hope this explains why we do these things, should you need further clarification please feel free to get in touch with me anytime.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Room was good but whistled in the wind. Parking costs were expensive and should should be noted on the website. Breakfast was very good. We noticed that when we had a shower water sprayed out onto the bathroom floor








  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2kiwis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear 2kiwis1,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry you found our parking costly it is a valuable commodity in Wellington as there is limited space. Next time you book with us book on a Tuesday and check out the deals you can get, free parking is one of them. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was not impressed by the service about tours when I arrived. The room was clean and tidy great view. Did not like the position of the hotel was hard to find when just arrived. The lifts were quite quick arriving. The imformation sheet in the room could have had better imformations about the different floors.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clyde M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Clyde M F,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry you found our service in regards to tours unhelpful, Wellington has so many great things to see and do it is hard to keep an encyclopedic knowledge of them all on hand, however we have a policy that if we don't know something we find out in a timely manner so I do apologise for us not doing this for you. Our hotel is located right in the heart of Wellington and you can't get too much more central than where we are. Our information sheets do explain all facilities of the hotel and where they are located.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The hotel was well located for checking out the city. The check in and check out was fast and efficient with excellent staff.The rooms were comfortable and included a microwave oven which can be convenient at times.Access to the hotel is a little unusual with the reception on level 7 due to being on a steeply sloped site.
This doesn't present a problem when arriving by Taxi as they will drop you at the right spot although signage to the access ramp could be better.We found access to the hotel to be difficult on an after-hours return to the hotel with baggage from the city entrance as the convenient escalator in the adjacent building is closed after hours.During normal hours without baggage it doesn't present a problem for able bodied persons. We stayed on 2 separate occasions the first room producing better sleep quality as it only had one window producing a darker and quieter room. The second room was a corner room which had 2 windows making it a little noisier and harder to darken for a better sleep - darker curtain backings would help.

Room Tip: Choose a single windowed room for a better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filthyrichfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear filthyrichfil,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am thrilled you enjoyed two stays with us and found most things to your satisfaction. Thank you for bringing to our attention your concerns we will definitely take them under advisement.

I do hope you will stay with us again should you return to Wellington.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Although quite central to main shopping strip, restaurants, cafe's etc. the car parking arrangements were less than ideal. Having to use 2 separate sets of lifts made it difficult and the receptionist provided no information about which lifts to use to get from the carpark to the hotel and then from the lobby to our room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Perry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Perry H,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry you found our parking building difficult to navigate and that our team did not adequately explain the lifts. Rest assured I have reminded them of the importance of giving clear directions on this.

I am glad you found our hotel central to Wellington's many attractions and I hope you would stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing