We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Clean”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Helpful, friendly staff. Room very clean although deluxe room quite small in comparison to other Wellington hotels. On top floor but view only of office building next door. Recommend inclusive internet deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Cathy255118,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and next time you book with us try our harbour view rooms if a fantastic view is what you're after this will do the job.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    1,218
    504
    130
    59
See reviews for
469
1,007
194
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The room had everything I needed, and was very clean. The shower was big with good water pressure, although a little on the tired side. The heater in the room (once it heated up) was nice and warm, particularly handy for this cold snap. The buffet breakfast was generally nice, but I was disappointed that they only serve margarine - no butter. Unfortunately the infamous pancake machine was out of order. Most of the staff were genuinely friendly, however, one of the men at the breakfast buffet came across as being "put out" when I told him the coffee machine had run out of milk...

I've never come across a hotel who doesn't take your bag to your room if you have already checked in and your room has become available during the day while you are away. 2 hotel front office staff confirmed that I had to go to reception and pick it up myself ...

Tip:
Turn your room heater on before you go out to dinner. When you come back, your room will be nice and toasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Cheryl M,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us and your room was nice and warm during this very cold winter. I apologise for the attitude of the breakfast attendant but am glad you enjoyed breakfast.

I hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is very nice and we had a lovely stay, but the reason for this review is to say how kindly I was treated by Charlotte, after getting stuck in the lift on the way to our room on the 20th floor. She helped me out of the lift (I am very claustrophobic), and then organised for our room to be moved to a lower floor within minutes. The way she looked after me was so caring and she is an asset to the hotel. Thank you very much

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Neddzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Neddzy,

Thank you for your review. Firstly let me apologise for your experience with our lift. I am glad our team were able to assist you in an efficient and effective manner. I have passed on your kind words to Charlotte who was very humbled to hear your comments.

I do hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The evening meals a ridiculously bad, risotto and scallops appear to be something else entirely. Had steak which was cold in middle - sent it back to be told "that is how rare steak is done" - got a replacement. Rooms are basic but comfortable, internet is so poor it is unusable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Rick T,

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologise for the dining experience you had with us, our food and beverage manager has been in touch with you personally to apologise and to offer you a complimentary meal on your next visit. I am confident your dining experiences with us from now on will be very enjoyable.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Best location for shopping, buses, food, and attractions. Most staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms small but had everything you needed and beds were very comfortable. Bit noisy due to outside fan going 24/7. Room service was very convenient with lovely food and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Debbie B,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marton
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Friendly staff, good location, perfectly adequate clean hotel with good breakfast provided. a bit stark on character. Weekend better to take parking building rates than hotels rates.White curtains let a lot of light in at night

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear David S,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found no major faults with our hotel. I do hope you will stay with us again.


Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland City
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

room was not serviced in the morning.
Staff at desk were friendly and wanted to help.
Dining staff very friendly - food generally good. not the best of entry to get to. Charging for parking was steep for the first night at $25. $15 after that


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel W, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Alan W,

thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry your room was not serviced. I am pleased to hear you found our team wanting to help and were friendly. I do hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Oliver Woods
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing