We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Handy location”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Handy location to Vic Uni and all the city has to offer. Cheap and cheerful. Seen better seen worse. Friendly staff. Not a big deal but would like to be able to use the stairs as an alternative to lift - for speed and health!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NZ67family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid B, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear NZ67family,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a successful open day at Victoria University. Our location is very handy indeed and along with a great team and immaculate rooms, we are certainly heading in the right direction.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    1,228
    506
    130
    59
See reviews for
478
1,013
195
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Great location for us visiting the Victoria University open day. We were able to leave our car in the car park and walk so didn't have the hassle of trying to find parking. Very handy having the restaurant on site for breakfast. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid B, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Mandy B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am thrilled to hear that the open day went well and we were able to take away the hassle of visiting central city. We are renowned for our great value, service and cleanliness and I am pleased to know we ticked all the boxes for you.

Thank you again Mandy. I hope to welcome you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We were in Wellington overnight. It was easy to find, the perfect location handy to everything we were doing. The staff were friendly, the rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. Will use again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Klbannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid B, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Klbannon,

Thank you for sharing your most encouraging review with us. It is truly a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am glad to know that you were well looked after by our friendly team.

I will share your comments with our team as this will act as encouragement to all of them.

Thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Good place to stay during business trip. Very convenient.
Breakfast was rather boring, not much variety, standard English breakfast. The decor very average, not nice feel. The room was good size, nice place, quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ewa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid B, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Ewa G,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am pleased to hear that you not only found us to be good value for money, but also enjoyed our well appointed rooms.

Ewa, we are in the process of revamping our restaurant to create a warmer and more inviting environment for all our guests and will certainly take your comments on board.

Thank you once again for sharing your comments with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dapto, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My first time in nz the hotel was in a good central location loverly room king bed , restaurant was very nice food was nice I had dinner there the first night scallops were loverly I had breakfast there as well the morning I was leaving the staff was very help full I would stay again s

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodie3382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid B, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear jodie3382,

Thank you for sharing your most encouraging comments with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am thrilled to know that your first trip to NZ was a successful one.

Jodie, I will share your comments with our team as I am certain this will act as encouragement to all of them.

Thank you once again. I look forward to welcoming you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

small rooms and bathrooms, Shower pretty much sprayed directly on bathroom door will need to be replaced soon due to moisture build up. couldn't ask for more for $100 a night. ironing board was broken and iron keep spilling wasn't the user, reception staff were great.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pacmanreturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid B, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Pacmanreturns,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. While I am pleased to hear that you found us to be great value for money, I am disappointed to hear of the broken ironing board and leaky iron. This is not acceptable and I will be having a stern word with our team.

Pacmanreturns, may I please request a quick email from you highlighting your room number and dates of stay, as this will enable me to rectify the issue immediately.

Please do send me an email on sbhatia@travelodge.co.nz

Thank you sincerely for informing me of the above. I hope you will visit us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Already written one, given my time again I would have booked a motel as this hotel offered nothing a hotel should have. I stay in a hotel so as I have a bar & restaurant and decent facilities not what I got.



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sid B, General Manager at Travelodge Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Diane,

Thank you again for your comments. There are several areas you have highlighted in the previous review where we could have served you better.

I certainly will be addressing these with my team. Your comments enable us to better serve our guests in future.

Sincerely,

Sid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,850 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Wellington

Property: Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Address: 2-6 Gilmer Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#11 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Business Hotel in Wellington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#15 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour, in the centre of Wellington's CBD and shopping hub. With close proximity to the city's financial hub as well as many Wellington attractions, such as Wellington Zoo, the Wellington Cable Car, the Te Papa Museum of New Zealand, and the Wellington Botanic Gardens, Travelodge Hotel Wellington is perfectly located for both business and leisure travel. We offer fantastic Wellington accommodation at great value. Join us and stay in one of our 132 hotel rooms. Our 24-hour reception assistance and friendly advice about the local area will help you to make the most of your stay. Enjoy meals and refreshments in the Steps Restaurant & Bar - the perfect place to unwind with friends or to impress clients. Room service is also available, if you would prefer to stay in your own spacious and comfortable room. Ours is one of the best-placed Wellington hotels for the smart traveller who appreciates great value and access to everything this harbourside city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Towers Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Wellington Plimmer Hotel
Wellington Travel Lodge
Wellington Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing