We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice lobby, restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Food was outstanding. We ate both breakfast and dinner here at the buffet. Both were very very good with tremendous selection. Lobby area is beautiful. They have a pianist who plays in the bar during happy hour. He is amazing, especially considering that he is blind. Apparently he has been playing here for years.
The room was fine but nothing to write home about. ...not new, no safe in room, wifi was $9 for 2 hrs.
Location is excellent. Wharf area is about 2 blocks away and a very easy walk. Lots of stores and restaurants within a 3 block area. The cable car entrance is just steps away.
All employees were quite pleasant. Nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for view room. It may cost extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tucsonfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,837 - 2,843 of 3,299 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

The airport bus can drop you off at the Lampton Place entrance where you enter an arcade and get the lift to reception. A real plus if you fly in and no car.
The staff we had the pleasure of meeting were without exception friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and all made us feel wonderfully welcome.
Walking around the city was easy and the trip up the cable car next door and then walking back through the botanical gardens is well worth doing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzannetwizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had a fantastic 2 night stay at the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, the staff were great and went out of their way, the room was lovely with an amazing view overlooking the waterfront and had a huge buffet breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Booked this hotel as it looked central to Wellington. It was in an excellent location for shops and the wharf area. Not easy navigating around Wellington so the fact most was in walking distance was great. We had a terrace room which was a little dated, but all we did was sleep there so that was not important. A little "musky" as you come out of the lifts also. Staff were very helpful and responsive. We chose a "EAT, DRINK AND STAY" package which worked well for us. On arrival we were offered a $18 breakfast special which we went to use the next morning. Unfortunately, we could only have either the $18 breakfast special or the $50 food vouched, NOT both so it ended up costing $12.00 for the two of us for breaky which was cheaper than the $36 it would have with their special offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My partner and I recently stayed in this hotel and it was simply a wonderful experience.The room was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and that nothing was a problem for the staff to help us with. One of the best hotels we have stayed at!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I would definitely recommend the James Cook to stay. The bed and pillows are the best I have slept on they were soooo comfortable. We were on the 26 Floor and it was quiet and the view was great. The elevators for Lampton Square are very handy and brings you out two blocks over from the Wharf where there is great dining. The staff were very friendly always greeted with a smile and very helpful with information. This is the place to stay for comfort, convenience and friendlyness.

Room Tip: We were on the 26th floor and had no noise from upstairs, don't know what other floors would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2TouristsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A group of us had a long weekend in Wellington and stayed at this hotel. It was a good experience in all ways and can be recommended. The room had everything required, the staff were efficient and friendly and the restaurant food was very good.
Location is excellent as there is direct access to both The Terrace and Lambton Quay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
2,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £77 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. Lift Upgrade Schedule Please note, the hotel is currently replacing all elevators until later in 2018. The schedule has allowed at least one working elevator for each hotel wing throughout the duration of the upgrade. The lift access to Lambton Quay is currently serviced by one elevator. All floors will still be accessible by guests however please note that some delays may be expected during peak times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing