We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
1 review
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Nice clean and spacious room. Checking-in was a breeze with polite and efficient staff. Checking-out just as efficient and friendly. Have stayed here many times on my infrequent trips to Wellington and will continue to do so as it is so centrally located to everything in Wellington. Peter B - Auckland

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    1,333
    573
    135
    58
See reviews for
585
983
146
900
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I have lost count of the times stayed here over the last 15 years traveling to Wellington, so when asked 'have you stayed here before?' It kind of annoys me - my name has not changed, same company... And I am afraid that is the general theme of the stay. While it is clean, has location it needs a serious revamp. Just the small things, iron was broken, paper in morning never arrived, air con was lousy... James Cook is just run of the mill, not bad bad, nor super wow, just average. Next week I am back at the Bolton.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I spent a few days recently at the Palliative Care Nurses New Zealand Conference. The room was well accomplished and clean. The Health and Massage section was amazing. My wife and I felt so good after the experience that we re booked a couples massage the next evening.

Room Tip: Choose a waterfront view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson az
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Food was outstanding. We ate both breakfast and dinner here at the buffet. Both were very very good with tremendous selection. Lobby area is beautiful. They have a pianist who plays in the bar during happy hour. He is amazing, especially considering that he is blind. Apparently he has been playing here for years.
The room was fine but nothing to write home about. ...not new, no safe in room, wifi was $9 for 2 hrs.
Location is excellent. Wharf area is about 2 blocks away and a very easy walk. Lots of stores and restaurants within a 3 block area. The cable car entrance is just steps away.
All employees were quite pleasant. Nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for view room. It may cost extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tucsonfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twizel, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The airport bus can drop you off at the Lampton Place entrance where you enter an arcade and get the lift to reception. A real plus if you fly in and no car.
The staff we had the pleasure of meeting were without exception friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and all made us feel wonderfully welcome.
Walking around the city was easy and the trip up the cable car next door and then walking back through the botanical gardens is well worth doing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannetwizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Had a fantastic 2 night stay at the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, the staff were great and went out of their way, the room was lovely with an amazing view overlooking the waterfront and had a huge buffet breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Booked this hotel as it looked central to Wellington. It was in an excellent location for shops and the wharf area. Not easy navigating around Wellington so the fact most was in walking distance was great. We had a terrace room which was a little dated, but all we did was sleep there so that was not important. A little "musky" as you come out of the lifts also. Staff were very helpful and responsive. We chose a "EAT, DRINK AND STAY" package which worked well for us. On arrival we were offered a $18 breakfast special which we went to use the next morning. Unfortunately, we could only have either the $18 breakfast special or the $50 food vouched, NOT both so it ended up costing $12.00 for the two of us for breaky which was cheaper than the $36 it would have with their special offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Property: James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing