We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No worries”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights in a premium corner room with harbour views. Well, you could sort of see the harbour through the gaps between the tall buildings opposite. The room was comfortable, spacious and the complementary wi-fi worked fine. The bathroom was functional although the yellow and grey colour scheme looked very dated. The hotel is well positioned in the heart of the city with direct access to Lambton Quay.

Room Tip: Go for a premium room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,979)
There are newer reviews for James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,513 - 2,519 of 2,981 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for three days on business. We had a fantastic time in Wellington (New Zealand is terrific), and this hotel is located right in the City Centre and lets you enjoy their downtown without having to deal with the confusing streets—you can walk around here for days, it's just great.

If you are visiting from out of country and need to do, you know, actual business, you will frustrated to find out that, like other hotels in New Zealand, the hotel Internet service here is an absolute joke. Not only is it expensive, but you can't have have access to wifi with more than one device per room.

Just let that sit in for a second. If you have a family staying with separate computers, iPads and iPhones, only one device can connect to their crappy Internet at once.

What's worse, is that even if you do the 24 hour option, you are limited to 2GB of data AND the more data you use, THE SLOWER IT GETS. Seriously! I uploaded a picture to show you. To cap it all off, there are additional taxes so when we you do check out...well, the Internet bill shocked us, let me tell you. We left furious.

The rooms are okay—this hotel connects with a separate building and the bridge that we used to cross to the next room stank something awful, we assumed it was because of the carpet. The elevators are old and clunky and it just feels a little run down. The rooms are fine, nothing to write home about, but they do afford some pretty nice views of the downtown. The showers were really odd, you have to step up into them, so the shower head we had was actually even lower, less than 5 feet high...it was very strange and made for some contortions to wash my hair. No big deal, just odd.

Anyway, this hotel has a great location and if you don't care about the Internet access issue, then I can recommend it, no problem. It's a pity that the thing I remember most about my experience at the hotel was the crappy Internet.

Room Tip: Higher rooms had a great views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel was easy to find straight off the slip road. The staff were friendly and helpful. Valet parking was very useful . Breakfast was wonderful as were the large rooms which were lovely and clean. We had to depart early but the staff were kind enough to bring breakfast to our room at 6 am, thank you for your assistance in allowing us to have breakfast before travelling.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel due to its central location.Front staff were very helpful but we found the rooms a bit musty but nice n clean. Not sure were they get the the 4 star rating.They need to get the wifi sorted as all modern hotels have free wifi included in the tarif


Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I normally stay at the The Mecure on The Terrace, mainly because it has a swimming pool but this weekend it was all booked out for some reason. That ended up in me going back to an old haunt where I used to stay regularly, The James Cook grand Chancellor. Surprisingly, it wasn't that expensive. Now I regret letting my "points" at the James Cook lapse just so I could swim at the other place. I had not been there for a couple years but they certainly remembered me and made me feel welcome again.The buffet breakfast does have that "edge". Just before going to Wellington James sent me an email offering me a special $18 breakfast so that certainly motivated me to indulge in it. The chocolates waiting for me on the bed upon check in ... a nice touch. But I just can't work out why a beer is $2 cheaper than a lemon, lime and bitters!!!It will be hard cloise net time coming to Wellington... swim or upgrade a level...

Room Tip: Try requesting an upgrade to a corner room... well worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeikoLade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very pleasant one night stay at the James Cook in Wellington. It's been a long time since I've been in hotel with the custom fitted furniture with embedded electronics. Felt like I was in a James Bond movie from the 60's. Room was very nice, staff were extremely helpful, and the lift down to Lambton Quay was a quick way to get around. Great breakfast venue on the 17th floor overlooking the harbour. Not sure if I'll ever make it back to Wellington - but if I do, I'd certainly consider staying at the James Cook again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILikewhatILike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Nice clean and spacious room. Checking-in was a breeze with polite and efficient staff. Checking-out just as efficient and friendly. Have stayed here many times on my infrequent trips to Wellington and will continue to do so as it is so centrally located to everything in Wellington. Peter B - Auckland

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,882 reviews
0.7 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,639 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £74 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing