We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at James Cook for a price of $229. The night before we stayed at City Life (next door) for $209.

We were given a dated, small room with a lot of road noise, an uncomfortable bed, and lumpy pillows. There was nothing about this room that justified the price charged and it was much, much less than the fantastic accommodation at City Life.

Not recommended at all. I have no idea how they got their 4.5 star rating.


Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nscriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    1,231
    539
    120
    54
See reviews for
535
929
133
798
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights in a premium corner room with harbour views. Well, you could sort of see the harbour through the gaps between the tall buildings opposite. The room was comfortable, spacious and the complementary wi-fi worked fine. The bathroom was functional although the yellow and grey colour scheme looked very dated. The hotel is well positioned in the heart of the city with direct access to Lambton Quay.

Room Tip: Go for a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for three days on business. We had a fantastic time in Wellington (New Zealand is terrific), and this hotel is located right in the City Centre and lets you enjoy their downtown without having to deal with the confusing streets—you can walk around here for days, it's just great.

If you are visiting from out of country and need to do, you know, actual business, you will frustrated to find out that, like other hotels in New Zealand, the hotel Internet service here is an absolute joke. Not only is it expensive, but you can't have have access to wifi with more than one device per room.

Just let that sit in for a second. If you have a family staying with separate computers, iPads and iPhones, only one device can connect to their crappy Internet at once.

What's worse, is that even if you do the 24 hour option, you are limited to 2GB of data AND the more data you use, THE SLOWER IT GETS. Seriously! I uploaded a picture to show you. To cap it all off, there are additional taxes so when we you do check out...well, the Internet bill shocked us, let me tell you. We left furious.

The rooms are okay—this hotel connects with a separate building and the bridge that we used to cross to the next room stank something awful, we assumed it was because of the carpet. The elevators are old and clunky and it just feels a little run down. The rooms are fine, nothing to write home about, but they do afford some pretty nice views of the downtown. The showers were really odd, you have to step up into them, so the shower head we had was actually even lower, less than 5 feet high...it was very strange and made for some contortions to wash my hair. No big deal, just odd.

Anyway, this hotel has a great location and if you don't care about the Internet access issue, then I can recommend it, no problem. It's a pity that the thing I remember most about my experience at the hotel was the crappy Internet.

Room Tip: Higher rooms had a great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel was easy to find straight off the slip road. The staff were friendly and helpful. Valet parking was very useful . Breakfast was wonderful as were the large rooms which were lovely and clean. We had to depart early but the staff were kind enough to bring breakfast to our room at 6 am, thank you for your assistance in allowing us to have breakfast before travelling.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
257 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel due to its central location.Front staff were very helpful but we found the rooms a bit musty but nice n clean. Not sure were they get the the 4 star rating.They need to get the wifi sorted as all modern hotels have free wifi included in the tarif


Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kruuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I normally stay at the The Mecure on The Terrace, mainly because it has a swimming pool but this weekend it was all booked out for some reason. That ended up in me going back to an old haunt where I used to stay regularly, The James Cook grand Chancellor. Surprisingly, it wasn't that expensive. Now I regret letting my "points" at the James Cook lapse just so I could swim at the other place. I had not been there for a couple years but they certainly remembered me and made me feel welcome again.The buffet breakfast does have that "edge". Just before going to Wellington James sent me an email offering me a special $18 breakfast so that certainly motivated me to indulge in it. The chocolates waiting for me on the bed upon check in ... a nice touch. But I just can't work out why a beer is $2 cheaper than a lemon, lime and bitters!!!It will be hard cloise net time coming to Wellington... swim or upgrade a level...

Room Tip: Try requesting an upgrade to a corner room... well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeikoLade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very pleasant one night stay at the James Cook in Wellington. It's been a long time since I've been in hotel with the custom fitted furniture with embedded electronics. Felt like I was in a James Bond movie from the 60's. Room was very nice, staff were extremely helpful, and the lift down to Lambton Quay was a quick way to get around. Great breakfast venue on the 17th floor overlooking the harbour. Not sure if I'll ever make it back to Wellington - but if I do, I'd certainly consider staying at the James Cook again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILikewhatILike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#12 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Property: James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing