We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
768 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Functional and Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The James Cook Hotel is an older style facility. It is well located in the centre of Wellington and it is a good choice for the business traveller (about $30 in a cab from the airport). It is well appointed and the rooms are airy and functional. There is space to spread out not feel crammed. There are good dining options in the hotel. The gymnasium is modest and it has a good range of equipment from weights to treadmills. The conference facilities are good. The staff were very courteous and helpful. Overall, a good place to stay for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Kai ora TWal1

I appreciate you taking the time to write and post your thoughts on Trip Advisor – thank you.

As well as our in-house gym we also provide complimentary use of a local fully-equipped gym, which is a five minute (approximately) walk from the hotel.

I do hope we will see you back to stay with us in the near future.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    1,230
    539
    119
    54
See reviews for
534
928
133
796
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had a recent one night stay, very good value for money on an internet special. In room amenities very very good, and room was clean. Furniture dated. One real complaint was the EXTREMELY HARD bed. King size bed, on a double base, with a piece of timber nailed across to bring it up to size, cheap mattress that was very thin. Made for a very uncomfortable sleep

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther65_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My friend and I stayed here for one night in November before flying back to the South Island after travelling on the North Island for a week. It is a typical business-style hotel, and we had comfortable stay. There was a bit of a mix up with them somehow having two reservations for us instead of one (we booked to Booking.com) but luckily that was cleared up. The breakfast buffet in the morning was very good!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rkstar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

No matter where my work puts me to stay (to match the location of meetings in Wellington), other Hotels just do not stack up. The James Cook Grand Chancellor is consistently superb. The are always friendly, always helpful, and I feel as if I am a special friend returning each time. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Clive_A_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hello Clive_A_My

Thank you for your review, it’s great to hear that the team are taking good care of you. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is in a great location for walking to almost anywhere in the city, the service was good and the room was pleasant and clean but quite noisy mainly from inside the hotel, other guests and the housekeepers. We ordered room service late one evening and unfortunately it didn't come with any condiments (salt, pepper, sauces) but it did come with a few extras in the salad like an egg shell and a hair.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatlivego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hello ianandjade

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review. Please accept my apologies for the less than satisfactory experience you had with room service, this is certainly not our normal level of high standards and I have followed up with the team.

I do hope that we will see you back soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour group, our second visit here. The welcome at reception was very good.
Our room was on 22nd floor and had 2 double beds, a bathroom with bath and shower and the usual safe, fridge and hot drink makings. Decor was very plain but in excellent order and very clean.
This was one of the few hotels with enough room to put both suitcases on the stand to unpack.
The room had no view, being in the middle of a high rise city, but was quiet and gave us good nights sleep.
As there are so many places to eat close to the hotel, we did not eat there.
Overall we had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Nothing wrong with this hotel it is just basic and dated. Valet parking cheap and easy. Fine for a short stay. Clean room, friendly staff and good location easy access to the city centre. If you are wanting modern and new than this is not for you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Property: James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing