We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great CBD and shopping streets location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is a long established, well known Wellington Hotel.The room were given was comfortable but needs updating and needed maintenance for a squeaky sliding bathroom door and central AC was cranky and noisy but both were sorted when reported. The outlook of the room we were given was not great overlooking a rooftop and another tower.the corridors of the hotel were not heated and a bit chilly walking from lift to bedroom, left to breakfast room.The breakfast staff were brilliant topping up coffees and clearing dishes. The buffet was extensive but both days the omelette station guy was missing from duty.The lobby has an afternoon piano player which is entertaining but unfortunately the lobby is a main thoroughfare for commenters and shoppers jumping between streets which makes it a constant flow of folks who do not stay in the hotel.Overall we had higher expectations for such a well known centrally located hotel and were a bit disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask to see and check your room and outlook before taking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi Peter W

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review. Please accept my apologies for the maintenance issues you experienced on arrival.

Shaun our pianist has been with us for 34 years and plays in the lobby for a couple of hours before heading up to Whitby’s restaurant where he entertains our guests, generally until closing. We do have a busy foyer area with people transiting between the main shopping area of Lambton Quay and The Terrace – a great spot for people watching whilst enjoying a coffee or glass of wine and even better when Shaun is playing.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,571 - 2,577 of 3,134 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

love this hotel, its the second time iv stayed here and i wouldnt stay anywhere else when im in Wellington,
its close to waterfront, TSB arena, ice rink, Te papa, Courtney and Cuba.
hotel is clean, comfortable beds, has great showers, mini bars, is reasonably priced considering how close to everything it is. the staff were amazing also. and yum food from room service.
as i said, id never stay anywhere else, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherrydreadful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for a girls night on May 14. We were in the City suite on the 25th floor which had a fantastic view.
The suite was large and roomy and light, with an incredibly comfortable bed (super king) and was very clean. The club lounge provided a good place to get out from the room without leaving the hotel and had a good selection of beverages. The staff member in the lounge as well as Ashley at the check in counter were fantastic. I would stay here again - the reason I gave the hotel a 4 was because the decor wasn't modern (however it wasn't dated) and because we only had 4 spoons in our room and no other cutlery which was a hassle when we were trying to cut cheese. Definitely recommend the James Cook for a nice weekend away!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellersamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hello Travellersamm

Thank you for your positive review. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your experience in our Club Lounge – we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed 1 night in Room 1501, a beautiful, quiet, clean, spacious room w/ 2 double beds w/ plump pillows and nice linens, great bath w/ tub & shower, AC, easy chair & floor lamp, closet, minibar, coffee/tea setup, good reading lights above the beds. Because Wellington is hilly, 1501 was about 4 floors above the street when you looked out the window. Both dinner & breakfast buffets were very good, and the bar was great for a drink or coffee. Central location downtown near the cable car, shopping and restaurants. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hi Retirada

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review – I’m glad that you enjoyed our rooms as well as Whitby’s buffet. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Me and my girlfriend checked in to James Cook in Wellys on the 3/5/14 for 2 nights and was greeted by a warm young friendly and professional lady called Lesley who was happy to check us in even thou we arrived at 12pm.We received a free upgrade to a higher floor and we opted for club lounge access on the 26th floor which included free canapés and drinks 5-7 alcoholic and non alcoholic and snacks all day long plus 1000mb free wifi ohh and not to forget the fantastic buffet breakfast with the biggest selection I've ever seen and i do travel very frequently it was pretty awesome.The hotel is situated in the best location in wellington with a lift going directly down to Lambton quay.

DONT BE SILLY LIKE US AND PAY ACCOR/HILTON PRICES WHEN YOU GET BETTER AT A LOWER PRICE RANGE CHAINED HOTEL!!!

Overall had a fantastic stay and WILL return next time in Wellington,clean friendly warm modern everything you need for a great weekend away.

thanks to all the staff for making this special!!

Room Tip: Rooms are best that don't have interconnecting doors to neighbours can be noisy,unless thats wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offshorescaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and very well located. Rooms are nice. The breakfast was average and busy hotel. The lady at the breakfast insisted to charge for the breakfast although it was included in our package and prepaid. The reception sorted this out on seeing the voucher however it did waste some time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Karan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed twice, once on Boxing Day evening and again on New Years Eve, we were very pleasantly surprised at the complimentary upgrade to another room for the New Year. The rooms were very clean, quiet and comfortable, I wanted a bath however the plug was missing, after calling reception one was brought up immediately for me. Location was great, there was a back door elevator to the street for CBD shopping and to Lambton Quay. Car parking was under cover and very convenient, valet parking. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,929 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £73 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. Lift Upgrade Schedule Please note, the hotel is currently replacing all elevators until later in 2018. The schedule has allowed at least one working elevator for each hotel wing throughout the duration of the upgrade. The lift access to Lambton Quay is currently serviced by one elevator. All floors will still be accessible by guests however please note that some delays may be expected during peak times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing