We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yikes! beware the parking prices.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
North of Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yikes! beware the parking prices.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If your thinking of parking your car in the Wilson car park which is attached to the hotel for any length of time/overnight, make sure you get valet parking at $27 a day. I got stung for $48 for overnight parking ...only afterwards did I notice the valet option. Hotel is ok, central enough, rooms are a good size, windows can be opened to allow fresh air too. Its a bit weird that the lobby, foyer, downstairs bar/breakfast area is also a thoroughfare for pedestrians trying to get from one level of the street to another, takes some of the ambience away, its more like sitting down for a meal or a drink in a train station at times.

Room Tip: High up is away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YnotNorthofAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello there

I’m sorry that you ended up paying more than you needed to for parking. Next time please just pull up outside our main doors and our Concierge staff will valet park for you (as you have correctly said the current price is $27.00 for 24 hours).

As a consequence of our central location we do have many pedestrians passing through our lobby each day, as people make their way between Lambton Quay (CBD) and The Terrace (predominately offices). Sitting in Sojourn Café & Bar (in our lobby) is great for people watching and does add a certain vibe to the hotel. However if you prefer a quieter experience Whitby’s restaurant and bar is available on our 17th floor.

I hope we will see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    1,304
    562
    133
    57
See reviews for
566
969
144
876
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

3 nights in a triple share room - a little squishy, but clean and well presented every day. Chose this hotel because of it's location and it didn't disappoint. Have stayed here before so knew just what it was that three (mature) ladies might need to make it a comfortable trip. Shopping and so many shoes (wow) we just didn't have time to try them all out. Restaurants and cafe's abound all within easy access. Cable car close by but we couldn't leave the shops to even give it a go. Fabulous weather during our visit last weekend 32/5 - 2/6. Helpful staff and housekeeping great. 1st hotel we have come across in a while that fully makes all beds every day with clean pillowcases daily and lovely (no bleach smelling) towels. Soundproofing is a bit light especially when children use the hallways to play in - but we just went shopping when it got too noisy :) Reception gave us a maximum fare ticket to the airport which cost us $30. Good value all way round. We (at least I) will be back there again next year. Pity the 17th floor has lost its view of the harbor. Spent many hours just looking out with a coffee or a drink - now little or no view of the water due to building in front. :(

Room Tip: If for three suggest a suite rather than a room - a little squishy for 3 adults. Terrace rooms fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

James Cook is in an excellent location and if driving it is a perfect place to drive in and have the car parked. walking access to CBD is easy and the location for cafes, restaurants, shopping, walking and the harbour is fabulous. the sound proofing between rooms is not great - but the fridge was the quietest we have ever experienced in a hotel room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It can be difficult to find hotels that offer two beds per room so Mum and I chose to stay here because they have rooms with a queen and a single bed. It's also conveniently close to Lambton Quay for easy access to shops and restaurants. The room itself was fine, with a good sized bathroom and comfortable beds. We spent very little time in the room other than sleeping because we had so any activities planned, so I didn't check out the wider hotel amenities. Staff were pleasant and happy to arrange to store our bags when we checked out at 11 but intended to stay in Wellington for the rest of the day. Valet parking is an extra charge but can be convenient given the scarcity of parking in the region post-earthquake. A pleasant stay overall.

Room Tip: We were on the 19th floor (1903) and it was well soundproofed, with none of the rushing wind noises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLKrivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spent one night with my wife and 2 children at this Wellington Iconic hotel and really enjoyed my stay from A to Z
All staff we came across was very friendly and room lovely.

We did not have dinner in house but breakfast was great. Lance our waiter was superb and Lua was great with the kids and apparently made the yummiest pancakes.

Thank you very much to all the staff, will be definitely be back next time in Windy Welly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here again on 17-18 May 2014, and enjoyed it very much as always. We've been coming here for years and the staff spoil us rotten, so very nice that they remember us and make us welcome. We now purchase a room on the club floor if we can, as these are beautiful large rooms with a bath, full toiletries, robes etc, and access to the club lounge makes you feel that you're really having a holiday. I would recommend these rooms as very good value for money. The staff in the club lounge are so helpful, and the cocktail hour provides lovely food and drinks which is very nice. The hotel is always well maintained, clean, a little bit luxurious but at a reasonable price. The staff are so helpful and flexible in accommodating any needs like an early breakfast which we asked for. Very much appreciated, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trampingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Nice hotel but the rooms are quite small. Clean and good decor but traffic noise is audible on west side of building. Room service is very expensive for basic things. Ie. paying a premium for steamed veggies that were clearly pre-cut and previously frozen.

Over all it worked as a one-night business stop.

Room Tip: Internet only lets you use 1 device at a time, so don't expect to be able to have a laptop and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 78miket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Property: James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing