We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convinient location but rather dated bathrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convinient location but rather dated bathrooms”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

When I stayed at Grand Chancellor a few years ago the 1st time I was over excited and loved the hotel. This time was not so lucky, location is the the best feature, but at this point it seems to be the only one. Rooms are ok, bathroms are terribly dated though. It was hard to get any sleep, as walls are so thin I could hear any breath of my neighbours. Food in lobby not worth the price that's for sure. Next time will stay at Travelodge who offers all the same perks of cenral location with a pretty much halfed price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank elle152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi elle152

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your most recent stay with us, I do hope that you will reconsider and that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    1,305
    565
    133
    57
See reviews for
569
969
145
879
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim Municipality, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

A big and nice luxurious hotel in the middle of wellington, with clean rooms and comfortable beds at a reasonable price. The hotel is located close to the shopping areas of Wellington. 5 min walk down to the water front. Good value for money

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello Kristian R

Thank you for your review, I’m pleased that you enjoyed our central location and I hope that we will see you back to stay with us again soon.

Best regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed in a twin room on the terrace side of the hotel. The room was nice and quiet, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the room rate and it was pretty good, but let down by small things (coffee wasn't hot, and choice of bread for toast was very average). All in all, Ithought this hotel was in a good location and was good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furry90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

An excellent location for sight seeing. Easy walking distance to vernacular train to botanical gardens and to houses of parliament.
Excellent buffet dinner which was an Indian theme on our visit. Spent a lot of time in lifts.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If your thinking of parking your car in the Wilson car park which is attached to the hotel for any length of time/overnight, make sure you get valet parking at $27 a day. I got stung for $48 for overnight parking ...only afterwards did I notice the valet option. Hotel is ok, central enough, rooms are a good size, windows can be opened to allow fresh air too. Its a bit weird that the lobby, foyer, downstairs bar/breakfast area is also a thoroughfare for pedestrians trying to get from one level of the street to another, takes some of the ambience away, its more like sitting down for a meal or a drink in a train station at times.

Room Tip: High up is away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YnotNorthofAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveJMartin, General Manager at James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hello there

I’m sorry that you ended up paying more than you needed to for parking. Next time please just pull up outside our main doors and our Concierge staff will valet park for you (as you have correctly said the current price is $27.00 for 24 hours).

As a consequence of our central location we do have many pedestrians passing through our lobby each day, as people make their way between Lambton Quay (CBD) and The Terrace (predominately offices). Sitting in Sojourn Café & Bar (in our lobby) is great for people watching and does add a certain vibe to the hotel. However if you prefer a quieter experience Whitby’s restaurant and bar is available on our 17th floor.

I hope we will see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Steve Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

3 nights in a triple share room - a little squishy, but clean and well presented every day. Chose this hotel because of it's location and it didn't disappoint. Have stayed here before so knew just what it was that three (mature) ladies might need to make it a comfortable trip. Shopping and so many shoes (wow) we just didn't have time to try them all out. Restaurants and cafe's abound all within easy access. Cable car close by but we couldn't leave the shops to even give it a go. Fabulous weather during our visit last weekend 32/5 - 2/6. Helpful staff and housekeeping great. 1st hotel we have come across in a while that fully makes all beds every day with clean pillowcases daily and lovely (no bleach smelling) towels. Soundproofing is a bit light especially when children use the hallways to play in - but we just went shopping when it got too noisy :) Reception gave us a maximum fare ticket to the airport which cost us $30. Good value all way round. We (at least I) will be back there again next year. Pity the 17th floor has lost its view of the harbor. Spent many hours just looking out with a coffee or a drink - now little or no view of the water due to building in front. :(

Room Tip: If for three suggest a suite rather than a room - a little squishy for 3 adults. Terrace rooms fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

James Cook is in an excellent location and if driving it is a perfect place to drive in and have the car parked. walking access to CBD is easy and the location for cafes, restaurants, shopping, walking and the harbour is fabulous. the sound proofing between rooms is not great - but the fridge was the quietest we have ever experienced in a hotel room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor

Property: James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Address: 147 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor is located in the heart of Wellington City and features a unique thoroughfare between the leading retail district of Lambton Quay and business hub of The Terrace. The hotel features 268 accommodation rooms, two restaurants and bars, and a complimentary in-house gymnasium. High-speed internet connectivity is available throughout the hotel and the exclusive 26th floor Club Lounge offers the pinnacle of executive comfort with complimentary full buffet breakfasts, evening bar service and a business centre with spectacular harbour views. For meetings and events, the Hotel has a diverse selection of eight meeting and conference rooms, catering for up to 350 delegates. The entire conference floor and Whitby's Restaurant can also be utilised for large events and tradeshows for up to 600 guests. The hotel offers fresh, modern facilities along with a state of the art sound system. The dedicated Functions team are on hand to provide advice, information and ideas along with professional and friendly assistance. Experience the highest standards of service at Wellington's definitive accommodation and conference venue; the James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Cook Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing