We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, but a bit tired” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Wellington
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Central, but a bit tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spent two nights here, one on either side of our trip to Australia. It's a good location, an easy walk to the city centre and waterfront. The hotel is looking a bit tired, although it was clean and tidy. The first room was small and smelled faintly of cigarette smoke which wasn't pleasant. The second room was a bit larger and didn't smell! The rooms were stuffy, the air conditioning didn't work very well at all. The staff were friendly and helpful; they arranged a $20 fixed taxi fare to the airport which was an excellent deal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyp2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Jazzyp2005,

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay at Mercure Wellington. I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel close walking distance to Wellington's attractions including the water front.

I am sorry that the first room smelt of smoke all of our rooms are non smoking but unfortunately some guest will not respect this. When the hotel becomes aware of this we will charge them for a cleaning fee and ensure that the room is deep cleaned to remove any odors.

Finally I am pleased that the team booked you a great set taxi fare to the airport.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    368
    346
    122
    65
See reviews for
266
321
106
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Fantastic stay at Mercure Wellington - well appointed room, staff couldn't have been friendlier. The breakfasts were the highlight, amazing selection, catered for the kids and the views over the harbour were stunning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Jacqui S,

Thank you for posting such great feedback we very much appreciate the comments you made. It is great to see that you enjoyed the selection of breakfast on offer for your kids and managed to enjoy the fantastic views on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington soon.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Mercure Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel was comfortable enough. Nice bedding and soft furnishings. The hotel seems in need of some TLC as it has a dated feel and slight musty odor. The buffet breakfast in the restaurant was very good and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is a short, 2km-ish walk from Te Papa (conference venue). I enjoyed the walk and found refreshing, but I had to take a taxi when it was raining.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank lbnz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Ibnz14,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Wellington again soon.

Kind regards

Rob Poole
General Manager
Mercure Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.7 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.2 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington

Property: Mercure Wellington
Address: 345 The Terrace | PO Box 6753, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Wellington enjoys a prime location at the top of the Terrace with spectacular views over the city and harbour. This charming hotel is an easy walk to the Cuba Quarter, funky boutiques, shops and famous Wellington attractions such as TePapa, Waterfront, Westpac Stadium, Courtenay Place and the theatre district. If you are looking for an ideal holiday destination with your family, the Mercure Wellington is a perfect place for you to stay and explore the Wellington area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing