We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Wellington
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    368
    346
    122
    65
See reviews for
266
321
106
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga,
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for the weekend of the Phoenix v Newcastle United football match. Due to the demand the price was highly inflated and so value for money was negligible. The rooms are dated and in particular the bathroom with partially broken mildewy wall panels and old fittings. The beds were comfortable but carpets and drapes marked and shabby. Really felt ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cpt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Cpt58,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on the Hotel, I trust you enjoyed the double header football games. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior quality of service and standards for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Kind regards

Rob Poole

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The exterior of the hotel isn't flash in any way but the room was perfectly fine. It was clean and the bedding was nice. The view from the top floor was very nice and the room was quite.
I would have preferred if more wall sockets were available so I could charge my devices.
The pool was disappointing and the sauna was good but could have been hotter. The gym was fine.
The staff was very friendly. The location isn't bad. It is a short walk from the heart of the city though you have to go up a steep hill for a short way. There is an entrance located further down the hill that you can take an elevator to the reception.

Room Tip: The top floor had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyHTnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear EmilyHTnz,

Thank you for your recent post. It is great to read that you enjoyed the views on offer from your room and found the location of the Hotel close to many of Wellington's attractions. The comment you made with regards to the staff are most appreciated and I have forwarded these onto all of my team.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Mercure Wellington again soon.

Kind regards

Rob Poole

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirataka-machi, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Firstly, the staff were wonderful. Organised my airport shuttle, posted my postcards for me, arranged an early check in for me, really friendly.

Breakfast was delicious with many options that should please all diets.

I stayed on two separate occasions on the same trip, with a 2 day break in between where I left Wellington. The hotel was able to store my suitcase for me.

Both rooms that I stayed in were spacious, with bathrooms that were fairly large by hotel standards. the rooms were clean and comfortable, with extra blankets provided to keep away the winter chill. The bathrooms were clean, and there were plenty of towels available. There were also plenty of tea and coffee options in the room - always a plus.

Whilst the hotel is not central in the city, it is not a very long walk, about 10-15 minutes max to the centre. Also, its distance means that you don't get any of that noise that comes with central hotels.

There is also a pool and gym in the hotel for guests to use.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamicraggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poolerob, General Manager at Mercure Wellington, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Hamicraggs,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Wellington. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the team looked after your needs. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Kind regards

Rob Poole

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.7 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.2 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington

Property: Mercure Wellington
Address: 345 The Terrace | PO Box 6753, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Wellington enjoys a prime location at the top of the Terrace with spectacular views over the city and harbour. This charming hotel is an easy walk to the Cuba Quarter, funky boutiques, shops and famous Wellington attractions such as TePapa, Waterfront, Westpac Stadium, Courtenay Place and the theatre district. If you are looking for an ideal holiday destination with your family, the Mercure Wellington is a perfect place for you to stay and explore the Wellington area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing