We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the best Hotel in Wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North
1 review
“This is the best Hotel in Wellington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We have stayed in many hotels in Wellington over time but none have the service and aesthetics of this accommodation. This is more than a hotel, this is an art gallery with a fantastic bar and restaurant, with magnificent harbour views. The amenities are superb.
It has the feel of the best, boutique hotels have to offer. A short walk has you in the CBD.
I can recommend this hotel to those wishing to come to Wellington to experience opulence at affordable prices.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stompie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    573
    201
    60
    41
See reviews for
190
819
77
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

The Museum Hotel is my favourite place to stay in the world, and I have stayed at some fancy hotels (eg Intercontinental Park Lane, Grand Hyatt Hong Kong).

The feel of the place is amazing. There are beautiful art pieces to be found around every corner and if you ask for the book at the front desk, you can enjoy the experience of learning about each piece as you walk through the various areas.

You will see everything from Italian super-bikes to skulls made up of "hundreds and thousands" and mounted in clear block.

If you are looking for a standard luxury hotel, Museum will do fine; especially the new residential wing that is very well appointed. If you are looking for something unique, there is nothing like the Museum Hotel.

I stay often for business and cringe when the travel agent says she has to put me in one of those boring hotels across town.

Some people talk about poor experiences that they had here. I challenge you to show me a business involving people where that doesn't happen.

Will the staff occasionally have a poor day? Sure, so does everyone.
Is every room perfect ever time? No, but have you looked around your house lately?
Does the entire package of ambiance, art, nice rooms and location to restaurants make it great? You Bet!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digitalmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Excellent location at the center of town. Modern, minimalist rooms were overly design rather than function oriented. Nothing major, but multiple annoyances existed such as the bathroom had no place to put towels or toiletries. No room safe as well.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jj711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

I absolultely loved this independent and stylish hotel. The whole hotel is an art exhibition. There is nothing corporate and boring about it. It is beautiful!
The staff are fun and friendly.
The food is gorgeous (though a little pricey)
The rooms in the old part of the hotel are a little small but the ones in the apartments are like paradise.
I loved it, although my colleague (of an older person's disposition) found it dark, small and over the top.
I relished in it's difference.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the apartment side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally_loves_camping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

This was easily one of the best places I have ever stayed at. Internet and services were fantastically priced. The restaurant/bar was well priced and the cocktail service was brilliant, some amazing creations. Staff were incredibly friendly. Great location too. Walking distance for anything in the city.

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank benkiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Perfect locationto stay at Wellington with rooms overlooking the main harbour and Te Papa - the national Museum by the side makes it a good choice. You may find good Indian restaurants at walkable distance from this place at the the back side of the hotel. Room service and housekeeping is quite slow you need to push/ remind the staff a bit. The entire hotel is done very very differently with lot of antique and modern art pieces. if you are a vegetarian do not try your hands at the hotel's restaurant Hippopotamus for dinner/ lunch.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reetika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Second time staying here had a fantastic time very clean and tidy and the staff were just great , had to alter my booking that was no problem will stay there again

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing