We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is a really excellent luxury hotel at a surprisingly reasonable price. We stayed in a one-bedroom apartment suite and were pleasantly surprised to find that our room had a small but well-appointed kitchen and a washing machine/tumble dryer so we were able to get some washing done without resorting to the hotel laundry. The shower was enormous, and the bed very comfortable. Excellent and reasonably priced mini-bar, good room service. The staff were also very helpful - one of the two televisions wasn't working and someone was despatched to help us immediately. He tinkered about for a minute, couldn't get it to work, and so we were swiftly upgraded to a bigger and better room with two working televisions. Great location equidistant between the waterfront and Courtney Place/Cuba Street, and very handy for Te Papa on a rainy day!

Room Tip: The apartment suites are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_prz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,423 - 1,429 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

Having a great art collection isn't the first thing you think about when you want to book a hotel but it makes this particular hotel stand out from most modern anonymous hotels. Take the time to look at the walls. When we stayed there there was also a beautiful shiny motor bike parked in the lobby. The only odd thing is that the owners should have decided to paint the exterior in a rather unattractive post-modernist black. But then again... It does stand out.
Another note-worthy point is that the hotel was moved on wheels. Yes, that's right - the entire building was put on wheels and rolled several metres back to make room for Te Papa over the road.
It's location is as good as it gets in Wellington. The service is old school impeccable with a touch of informality. The rooms are fine but not that exciting from a decor point of view.
I would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Declan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We had occasion to visit Wellington for four nights and left our hotel booking to the last minute. Trip Advisor reviews almost put us off the hotel rooms. They suggested that if you stayed here you should book the apartments, however we didn't need the cooking facilities and didn't want to pay the extra money for the apartments. We decided to take a gamble based on the location of this Hotel near to the entertainment hub and across the road from Te Papa (national museum).

We ended up on the second floor with views of the harbour. The room and bathroom are spacious and the shower great.

Service was good. When we had a problem connecting our iPads to the wifi someone came immediately to help, and they followed up next day with a call to ensure that this was now working (it wasn't - we had intermittent connection issues throughout our stay).

The pool/gym facilities are nice and clean.

Overall we were very happy staying here - Pity about the wind that threatens to blow you into the path of traffic as soon as you leave the hotel!

Room Tip: Hotel rooms more than adequate - no need to stay in the apartments unless you want the cooking facil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwifromgreylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Every corner of the hotel has some art displayed. I’m a very artistically challenged person, I just don’t get it; but I could appreciate this place and enjoyed it too. One thing I could not believe was this hotel was moved from a different location. I liked the motorbikes displayed as art, I would love to see them in action. First couple of nights we stayed at the apartment wing of the hotel. The studio was spacious for 2, it has all the amenities built into it, a complete kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine for the laundry etc. The en-suite facilities were spacious enough. One thing I would really like to have though is the option to open windows, felt a bit suffocating at times.

We shifted to hotel wing with harbour views for the last couple days, I like the rooms, it was spacious, did not have the kitchen. The room had a private balcony opening to harbour, weather was tad too cold for us to enjoy outdoors. The decor of the hotel wing is completely different to the apartments, the hotel is bit flash whereas the apartment it is toned down a little bit for Museum standards. I liked both. The breakfast at hippopotamus is good. Parking is a bit of worry at this hotel, very limited space for parking and the driveway is small, I had a 20 minute wait to get my car out of the hotel from its driveway. Nonetheless it is must try hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the hotel wing rooms if short stay, the best would be with the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Has a mix of older art-house rooms and a block of modern suites and apartments. Have stayed in both and while the former delights in funkiness the latter is more liveable and tidily modern. Excellent wireless and broadband. Great showers! The bar and restaurant (the Hippopotamus) have wonderful views. The staff were friendly. Would definitely come back (again).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unlimitd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the museum hotel. Very tidy and modern. Location perfect in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Loved the decor and our spacious room. We booked a Marina suite which was very spacious and well appointed including a kitchen and laundry. Great location, opposite Te Papa the national museum and shops, restaurants and a supermarket all nearby. Comfortable king size beds, air conditioning and super large bathroom including a double bath and rain head shower. Chaise sofa in the lounge and a large tv. Second TV in the bedroom. 
The art throughout the hotel adds to the ambiance along with a fantastic sense of style. Great cocktails available as well. All the staff were friendly. Only drawback was the disappointing breakfast which was very poor compared to what I would expect of a hotel of this standard. Great hotel for a romantic get away. 
A well equipped gym as well with a lap pool,spa and sauna. All very clean and well maintained. 

Room Tip: Ask for the residential wing with a view of the harbour.  The rooms are newer. The higher up the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McQ069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,939 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
786 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £108 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing