We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
QT Museum Wellington
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)
US$135
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$250
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$131
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
US$131
US$125
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (1,850)
Filter reviews
1,850 results
Traveller rating
831
668
230
79
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
831
668
230
79
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippopotamus restaurantte papaart collectiongreat arthuge bathacross the roadapartment roomespresso machinerain showerpublic areasnew zealandharbour viewmini barwasher dryercourtney placecourtenay placelocation is great
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,208 - 1,213 of 1,850 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Unfortunately my stay was soured at check-in when they surprised me with a 2% surcharge for use of ANY credit card! What century are they living in? Then $20 extra fir a car park. :( The rooms are really nice, in great condition and well appointed but I have chosen to give my business to others in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Glad you liked the Hotel. I'm surprised at your comment concerning parking charges. Unless it's part of a package deal, I've not come across an Hotel anywhere in the world that doesn't charge for valet parking! We are the least expensive of any Hotel in Wellington and your car is taken from you at the Hotel entrance, securely parked, and returned to you at your convenience. Frankly, it's cheap at the price. Alternatively,you can park your car freely on the street outside the Hotel, and it should be safe.
And Credit Card fees! These are also standard in the Hotel, Airline and many other industries. There is no charge for a DEBIT CARD, or for overseas visitors (who don't have debit cards.)
I hope you will come back, as you wont find a better hotel in Wellington, and certainly not one that provides free valet parking.
Our restaurant HIPPOPOTAMUS is nationally acclaimed. Our ART collection is extensive and highly regarded. An then there is the Pool and the Gym!!! Chris Parkin 021 459146.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is just the best hotel I stay in anywhere. Rooms are fantastic, great bathrooms and toiletries, fantastic decor, amazing art, and above all a fantastic French Cuisine restaurant. Excellent front of house service - very welcoming. It is well positioned to walk anywhere in Wellington, opposite Te Papa, handy to all waterfront activities and other areas of interest. Not cheap but worth every penny and often has really good deals. Only 15 minutes from the airport - allow a little more at peak times. Room I had last was in the older original section and I think these rooms are the best as you can get a balcony and good waterfront views. New section has great decor - very individual!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a waterfront view and balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Art Museum Hotel is relatively modern, has a good location situated on the waterfront conveniently close to a supermarket, fabulous museum, cafés and theatres etc. We stayed in the hotel's apartments which are spacious, very comfortably and thoughtfully furnished with everything needed for self-catering. The standard of service from all staff was excellent and there is also an excellent in-house restaurant quirkily named "The Hippopotamus" which provides wonderful food brilliantly presented and good value for money.
My only gripe is that you are charged for WiFi access in your room. However it is available free in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernonpopperbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I used the Museum Hotel to get ready before and stay the night after my wedding. We had a harbour view balcony room which had a nice view over the Chaffers Marina. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable, and made a great base to get ready before my wedding ceremony. It was great to be able to park in the carpark right outside the entrance to the hotel. The location is fantastic, we had our wedding dinner just up the road and were able to walk back. In the morning we visited the Sunday market directly across the road, which is an absolute treasure. We bought some great produce and had breakfast from the many food carts.
Our one very small complaint would be that we couldn't quite get the 'rain' shower to work - it seemed to only produce cold water from the top fitting, and the bathroom sink drained very slowly. Otherwise we had a very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: We were located in room 240 - a harbour view balcony room located on the second floor. This room has a small level of traffic noise due to proximity to the main road.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neurula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you so much for providing your room number. We'll get right onto those items.
Congratulations on your wedding. I'm pleased we could be a small part of it. I' m getting married myself next March. Very exciting!
Chris parkin 021459146

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

we got off the ferry and were to tired to drive so found the apartment online. it was lovely. beautiful comfy beds and really nice pillows, big deep bath and a great rainhead shower. very compact kitchen but with everything you need including a coffee machine and a washing machine/dryer. There's a supermarket just down the road. it was so nice not having to check out until 11am. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Many of our travellers find the EXPRESSO coffee, and the WASHING MACHINES a delight when you have been on the road for a few days. Hope you found our Pool and Gym facilities, not to mention the Sauna.
Great location too. Right amongst the action. Museum, Sunday Market, Restaurants Nightspots.
Chris Parkin 021 459146.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews