We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in trendy boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location in trendy boutique hotel”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Museum Hotel in Wellington. It's a fabulous location with well appointed rooms. Unfortunately, their onsite restaurant was closed due to the holidays but there are plenty of wonderful restaurants nearby within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    587
    201
    61
    41
See reviews for
194
832
77
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Thought our harbourfront room was very good value, super view and great location close to everything we wanted to do in Wellington. Fascinated by the fact that they moved this hotel in its entirety, on two sets of railway tracks, when the Te Papa Museum was being developed on its site- how crazy is that!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Yes, I organized the building move over 20 years ago. It was world famous for awhile. Even mentioned on Coronation Street! It weighed 3500 tonnes, and we moved it 180 meters, using 96 railway bogies and 8 sets of rails. It was train spotters paradise. I'm sure we set the world land speed record for hotels! 12metres an hour.
Now we are more of an art hotel, with a collection of more than 100 contemporary New Zealand works.
Chris Parki 021 459146
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Sheer luxury , state of the art reception/bar/lounge area... Wow I could live there.truly beautiful place.. The apartment had a balcony with city view.. Stunning bedroom with1st class furnishings & offered total comfort.. . The staff, were also brilliant .
I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the apartment side of the hotel... The hotel rooms are a bit tired but some offer stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A high class of room and right in the centre of Wellingtons entertainment and dining area. Well worth the price, which is quite reasonable. Helpful and friendly staff. Rooms a good size for longer stays with the option of apartments if more space is needed.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are larger and have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We decided to treat ourselves, and booked the best suite available - Park Terrace Suite.

It was a good size, comfortable furnishings, but the disappointment was the wear and tear of the fabrics, curtains, carpets. About 2 years past best presentation.

The views were lovely, but with TePapa in front, limits the city and harbour views. And Oriental bay is blocked by the Capital Apartments.

We had issues with the ovens - but fixed within half hour.
Air cond broke down for 3 days, in the middle of summer. And took 3 complaints and a demand to see the Manager personally to get it addressed on day 4. Management did extend a goodwill credit..... gratefully excepted, but we did have to spend the hot afternoons out of the fuly glassed apartment, as one of the main balcony doors had NO key.

Museum Hotel is a favourite of ours: Given the nightly cost of the "Suite" , I do not see the value in this tired (but huge) apartment. The 1 bedroom apartments in the back building are much newer and better presented.
Suggestion: Save on nightly accommodation, and dine at Hippopotamus (onsite 5* French restaurant) instead.

Room Tip: high floor for views INTERNET: do not pay for Hotel internet (yep they still charge....) stand on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GooseGirl555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here for work in a standard room. The hotel lobby areas certainly promise a lot but the room I got was really depressing. Dark furnishings, quite old, and a feeling of gloom pervaded. I saw other nicer areas of the hotel but I had got a discount rate so I guess should have expected a poorer quality room but it was still a disappointment. The reception staff member was unfriendly, never smiled or made any attempt to be friendly. This added to the sense of doom and gloom I experienced during the stay.

Room Tip: pay for a really good room - don't get a cheap deal as they give you the worst room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bianca5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We have started a major room refurbishment program, which will see all of our Hotel rooms substantially changed by the middle of this year. They look wonderful, and are very much in keeping with the design/art theme generally presented in the Hotel. Please make a point of asking for a redecorated room for your next stay.
I hope you took time out to enjoy our Pool and Gym, and perhaps you also made the Sunday market across the road. It's wonderful!
Chris Parkin 021 459146
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 5 days in early January 2014. The hotel is very well placed for the traveller. Set in Wellington Central it is walking distance from the waterfront and across the road from The Museun of New Zealand, Te Papa.

The hotel has a beautiful art theme and I was pleasantly surprised to see several motorcycles displayed in the foyer (Owners). The hotel is very well appointed, comfortable (rooms are quiet) and has a great restaurant. Service is great and nothing seems to be a problem.

We will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The Apartments were great. Our room had a functional kitchen with washing machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillhead12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,833 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing