We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“BEAUTIFUL”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Loved this hotel. Only stayed for one night, but was wowed by the great wiine list, beautiful wime glasses, friendly and attentive staff and beautiful decor. no nice views, but city centre location. clean rooms with very comfortable bed and spotless facilities

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingvagabond283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
It's interesting you commented on our wines and particularly our glasses. We have recently replaced all the glassware in our award winning French restaurant, Hippopotamus, with Riedel glassware. As you will know, all of their products are specifically designed to enhance the characteristics of particular wines.
Many thanks for your review.
Chris Parkin. 021 459146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    600
    205
    63
    41
See reviews for
197
851
81
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

When in Wgtn on business, my partner Glenn and I always stay at the Museum Hotel. We have NEVER experienced the lack of customer service or care that we experienced on Sunday16th and Monday 17th Feb 2014.
We arrived at 2.30pm to be told there will be a slight wait for the room... That slight wait turned out to be 90 mins.
In that time, they offered us coffee, unfortunately it arrived cold.
We finally got into our room, the duty manage phoned to say they would like to send us a gift for the inconvenience.
The gift was 3 chocolates and a $9.99 bottle of wine. (Which we left in the room.)
On Monday morning,Glenn asked for the room to be cleaned before nine,( we were using the room for interviews) this did happened. While the room was been cleaned, Glenn went downstairs and ordered a coffee.. This time, waiting time was only 30 mins!!!! for coffee!!! the staff had to wait for the milk to arrive!!!
Monday evening. Glenn, and I along with another work colleague( who also was staying there) when into the bar had a few cocktails (over $100 spent) decided it would be nice to have dinner there, at around 6 pm, we TRIED to book into the restaurant to be told, NO sir, we are too busy... Glenn, said to the maître d, So its ok to stay here, but we cant eat here!!! The reply was That's correct sir.
Tuesday Morning!!!
We went down to have breakfast with our work colleague , ordered breakfast at 7.50 , colleague breakfast arrived, our breakfast a no show. At 8.15, Glenn asked, how much longer will our breakfast be, reply its on its way. Still a no show. At 8.30 we walked out, staff not that interested about our dilemma
On checking out, Glenn voiced his disappointment, to which the receptionist said, We will give you $30.00 off valet parking, Glenn said its not about the money its about the experience(or lack off) she said, Oh well I will give you $50.00 0ff. Unbelievable!!!!
The receptionist said she will pass on his "comments" to the duty manager, who will likely phone...To date NO CALL !!!!
Would we RECOMMEND this Hotel NO!!!!!!!
Would we stay there again NO!!!!!
Its my belief, we would have better treatment at a" back backers hostel", that the service we received at a so called 5 star Hotel.
This whole sorry experience is a comedy of errors.

Room Tip: Don't go there!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Seems we failed to deliver on several fronts. I can only say sorry, and try to put it right.
We are often completely booked out in our fine dining, French Restaurant, and urge all of our guests when they check in to make reservations for dinner to avoid just this disappointment. Usually we can fit an extra couple or so, but that night we had no room at all.
The wait for the room! Unfortunately the previous guest was very late checking out and there wasn't an alternative room available. We were caught between a rock and a hard place.
One correction. The chocolates were hand crafted, and the wine was a methode champenoise, equivalent to New Zealand's best. Certainly not a $9.99 bottle. (We don't have any of those).
Despite there being explanations for some of these shortcomings, they shouldn't become the guest's problem, and I am very apologetic. Normally we do get it right as our mostly positive revues attest. I will be calling this guest myself, and seeing what I can do to rectify the situation. Chris Parkin 021 459146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel for several reasons. Firstly we were upgraded to an apartment' and had a huge room with many luxury items that we didn't expect. Secondly the location was great so central to all the shops and attractions. Lastly the uniqueness of the hotel with all the art work
The staff were very friendly and helpful as well

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Amazing hotel with fabulous artefacts.

Very nice spacious bedroom with a beautiful bathroom.

Very good breakfast served in a beautiful dining room with very friendly staff.

Good location on waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmunro28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Perfectly succinct review. Thankyou. I'm sure you appreciated the in-room EXPRESSO machines, and if you had been travelling awhile, the in-room HOME LAUNDRY.
Hippopotamus, our French Restaurant was recently awarded the title of BEST SPECIALTY RESTAURANT in New Zealand. However, I should say that our location is perfect for exploring the more than 100 restaurants, bars and cafes within walking distance of the Hotel, featuring a variety of cuisines and styles.
Wellington really does have almost the perfect city/village feel about it, and you can walk pretty much everywhere.
Thanks for staying. Maybe we will see you again, when our ART collection has grown even more.
Chris Parkin 021 459146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a six night stay and the location cannot be beat. We stayed on the apartment side with a harbor view. The apartment was small but functional. The kitchenette was useful but the appliances are miniature compared to home. The fridge is full of minibar items and must be removed if you want to use the fridge. Service and cleanliness is top notch. It is located right on the waterfront and within walking distance of almost everything. One of our favorite walking and eating cities

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Orcharddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We liked our two night stay at the Museum Hotel. The art work is quirky and visually impressive on arrival but you need to spend some time exploring to see the rest of it - to some extent a mini "MONA" (in Hobart) but without the shock value. The works extend into the hotel floors.

We were most impressed by the toilets on the ground floor - curtains, beautiful fit out and soft individual hand towels. At least (unlike MONA) they didn't play truck sounds.

Our room had a balcony out the front but Windy Wellington being what it was, even in mid summer we didn't spend any real time out there and I can't say that the behind of the golden hippo on the roof improved the view!

Comfy bed, nice toiletries, clean, well presented hotel if a bit dark.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Very kind comparison with MONA. Thankyou. Our collection extends to more than 100 works and has become a must see in Wellington, even for non-guests.
I'm not sure if you tried our award winning French restaurant, Hippopotamus, but you obviously became well acquainted with our sculpture of the same!
Sorry about the weather, you must have missed one of our many good days. Hopefully the in-room EXPRESSO machine kept you fully charged.
Thankyou for being our guests.
Chris Parkin 021 459146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here due to the good location for Te Papa and the Te Aro side of Wellington. We stayed in an apartment room which was large and very well equipped, though no harbour view from our side of the building. The lobby areas and corridors to the rooms were decorated with art works which makes this quite unique when compared to chain hotels.

On the down side, service was average, didn't see a single staff member smile during the time we were there. Service also very slow at breakfast - waiting half an hour during an empty breakfast service was too long - need to put this on the menu that a la carte orders take a long time. The level of service means we probably won't stay here again when in Wellington.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,866 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing