We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arty Much?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This is iconic hotel in Wellington and a special place to stay.
Only twice have we stayed here mainly due to the fact we live out of town and the only time we stay is for special occasions BUT we like the place for the oddities and its location.
Great service as always at the desk and helpful.
I have to admit that this time we found our room to be very tired looking and in need of attention. Perhaps it was down to the room chosen? - harbour view deluxe.
It is not a complaint but a observation. But I have to wonder if it is worth the price of admission?
Nevertheless we will be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Verkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. Apropos your observations regarding the room, we have already commenced an Hotel wide refurbishment program, which we expect will be completed this winter. I'm sure you will like the result as it is very design oriented and quirky, much like the rest of the hotel.
With the Internet, the reason we charge is to cover the costs of supplying the service, which are still relatively high. As they reduce, we reduce our charges. We could incorporate this in our tariffs but then the more than 50% of guests who do not use ithe service would be disadvantaged. There is free Internet in the lobby and we also have a minimum charge for short period usage suitable for dealing with emails.
I hop you return to visit our new rooms.
Chris Parkin 021 459146.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,670 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for two weeks when we first arrived in Wellington. We had an apartment room so no sea view but it was a huge room with a big bed, sofa, large desk and small but well stocked kitchen. Everything was newly decorated and clean. The bathroom was really well finished with a big shower and the biggest bath I have even seen.

The location is fantastic, you can walk to all the major sites in the city and you are only a couple of minutes walk from the harbour.

My only gripe is that there wasn't free wifi and you had to pay quite a lot for a relatively small amount of data which you had to repeatedly top up. For a hotel like this, charging what they do, I really think they should provide free wifi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pundle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our stay was in the Museum hotel apartments - we enjoyed the spaciousness, pleasant lounge area, and huge comfortable King size bed. The bathroom was spacious and had lovely toiletries provided, plus we had a kitchen and laundry facilities.
Located in a very central downtown location, it is a pleasant easy walk to most downtown areas.
We enjoyed the art in the lobby area and the general ambiance when having a drink in the bar.
However I was surprised that we needed to pay for Wifi - surely at the prices paid to stay at the Museum Hotel, I would have expected WiFi to be included. With our growing reliance on the internet, I think this is an area that needs consideration. I am aware that there is a 'free' screen available to use in the lobby, but this is not always appropriate for completing work documents. This occurs quite frequently - not just at this hotel and I am sure that in time this may change.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Original decor,even a bit crazy but special.
Very good location overlooking the harbour. Excellent service at reception and concierge.
Room quite small but with balcony and good views.
Food and service at dinner in Hipopotamus restaurant excellent.
Breakfast was a disaster. Arrived at 9.45 am, service until 11 am. No tables ckeared, took some cups, cutlery, butter, milk ourselves from several empty but not cleared tables. Half of the buffet was empty and was not replenished, waited ages for some extremely poor coffee etc etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great hotel with excellent amenities and very professional staff. Enjoyed the art collection. This place is slightly quirky but a great place to relax. Handy location. Gym is small but ok. Very nice lap pool and spa. Easy to access from the airport. Walk to the central city. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the apartment block. Good space and really good work station. The lighting is a little dim bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coachese2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Booked for room and food. Restaurant is seperatly run from hotel and was full. Ended up with expensive in room service, with no apology :-(
There was no indication when I booked that this was a possibility.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Clive_A_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Regrettably there was no booking made before arriving at the Hotel. We endeavor to seat guests of the Hotel at our very popular French Restaurant, Hippopotamus if we possibly can, but this particular evening we had a sudden influx of cruise ship passengers on an unintended transfer which made it impossible.
However, whenever a guest is unhappy there is an opportunity for us to improve, and lessons can be learnt.
I understand from the guest that otherwise he found the hotel met all his expectations. The next time he visits, his dinner will be on us!
Chris parkin. 021 459146

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Loved this hotel. Only stayed for one night, but was wowed by the great wiine list, beautiful wime glasses, friendly and attentive staff and beautiful decor. no nice views, but city centre location. clean rooms with very comfortable bed and spotless facilities

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingvagabond283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

It's interesting you commented on our wines and particularly our glasses. We have recently replaced all the glassware in our award winning French restaurant, Hippopotamus, with Riedel glassware. As you will know, all of their products are specifically designed to enhance the characteristics of particular wines.
Many thanks for your review.
Chris Parkin. 021 459146.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £116 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing