We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and great stay with great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel part of the complex for a night. It's a very unique hotel with vintage atmosphere and also heaps of art decorations etc. Great and friendly service and concierge. The location is wonderful just opposite Te Papa and walking distance to the harbour and Wellington CBD for great restaurants nearby. The room is somewhat a little small but nevertheless it is clean. The bed is comfortable and love how there is a pillow menu!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

994 - 1,000 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here Sunday night of Queens Birthday weekend, were going to Annie Show. When arriving at hotel on Saturday we were to early to check in 12.30pm. Thats fine we understand rooms need to be cleaned etc, the lady asked us if we would like to fill in paperwork now, great idea, paper work filled in,car parked,we asked if we could get a call or a text when rooms were ready as we had an early dinner & show,no problem. However 4.30 arrives still no word from Hotel, so we go back to try & get in, guess what paperwork lost & have to start again. No we will not I explained, you have taken my credit card imprint all my details,find it! After much searching it was found.Not the best start. We had a 2 bedroom apartment,with a little balcony,clean,tidy & good TV. I had asked if one of the beds in a room could be split into 2 singles,but this was not possible.Coffee machine crazy,complicated,no instructions. Porter man very nice to take bags to room,great art in hotel & very warm & cozy. Just the reception staff not the most friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaffajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights last weekend. This is a perfect little boutique hotel centrally located in Wellington. It is full of lots of different art works which one of the staff informed me is changed regularly. The rooms are beautifully appointed with added little extras to make your stay feel special. It is also located in a prime spot for easy access to the CDB. If I go bak to Wellington this would now be my preferred place to stay. Ps. They staff are fabulous as well!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theDayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Great review. Thanks for staying. We are constantly trying to improve our general presentation. Michael Tuffery's BULL sculpture is our latest addition. It's very large, and believe it or not includes a BBQ?? Artistic License I guess.
We are currently refurbishing all of our Hotel rooms. We have almost completed the first two stages, and expect to complete the project in the next few months.
Our website has all the details, and of course the best packages.
Chris Parkin 021 459146.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

As we were only staying one night in Wellington we thought we should stay somewhere memorable.
The Museum Hotel was the perfect choice, from the moment we stepped into the lobby which was dark and broody, lit by low hanging chandeliers, wonderful art works hung on the walls, such as NZ artists Nigel Brown, Brett Wong and Bill Hammond. Sculptures were dotted here and there. It all made for a wonderful atmosphere.

Once the check-in procedure was done we were directed to the room, we really should have been listening better or been taken to the lift, as we did not realise that we had to walk through the lobby, down a corridoor to get to the apartment lifts. Not that it was a huge distance but for first time guest they should have shown us the way rather than us stumbling around like lost sheep.

Our room was 611, a one bedroom apartment with city views. Not the best views of a city. But the apartment was large. A full kitchen with table and four chair dining suite.

The lounge area had a Chaise Longue that was perfect for reading the paper or catching up on facebook and tripadvisor.

The bedroom had a huge king-size bed that was wonderful and comfy. Plenty of storage for clothes and bags.

But it was the bathroom with the biggest and deepest hotel bath I have ever had the privilege to soak in. What a treat. The separate shower had a rain shower-head that cascaded from the ceiling. The bathroom had white tiled walls and black tiled floor and very clean.

The one negative was the room safe, after spending some time to find it, in a high cupboard in the kitchen. Could only reach it by climbing on a chair to get items in and out of the safe. Not very convenient at all.

Used the lap pool and hot tub, the hot tub looked to needing some work done on it. There is also a sauna and gym.

The room rate was $279.00 for the night including internet use, bottle of wine and cheese platter.
There was a little confusion when checking out, the price they wanted to charge was $25 more my printed hotel confirmation. They accepted the price on the confirmation and apologised for their mistake.

Overall would recommend this hotel. Being so close to Te Papa Museum and downtown Wellington is a plus but being just that bit different makes it really worth staying here.

We also ate in the hotel restaurant "Hippopotamus" which I have reviewed on tripadvisor

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himandme2gethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Very thoughtful reviews for both Hotel and Hippopotamus Restaurant, thankyou.
You will be pleased to know that the spa pool is to be retiled shortly.
I hope you also used out in room EXPRESSO machines. And thankyou for booking directly on our Website, always the best information and special deals.
Regards
Chris Parkin 021 459146

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Always a delight to stay at the Museum Arts Hotel and always my first choice for accommodation in the capital. The ambience of the foyer, the restaurant, the hallways & the rooms themselves is a special experience and it is always fabulous to see favoured pieces of art on display as well as new art added to the mix. The staff are very approachable & helpful and the hotel is in a good location with handy front, side & rear entrances ... everything about it enhances the pleasure of our stay in Wellington

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The first thing that strikes you about this hotel is the quirky interior decor. The location is awesome. My purpose was to see Annie at the St. James and it was less than a 10 min walk to the show. It is across from Te Papa and the lovely waterfront walk of the city. The room was small but beautifully decorated and finally a room that has decent curtains that block out the city lights. It was quiet and comfortable and had a Nespresso machine. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank lucystarbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Great review thanks. Glad you enjoyed the ART. We have more than 100 pieces in the collection and I am adding new works quite regularly. Most recent is a large bull by Michael TUFFERY. A similar work is held in the Te Papa collection.
We have also just hung a new Peter STITCHBURY portrait of Lorde which is stunning.
And you liked the NESPRESSO, that's great.
Next time, try our award winning restaurant, HIPPOPOTAMUS, it's the best French restaurant in New Zealand, staffed totally by French nationals.
And don't forget, the best information and pricing comes direct from our website.
Kind regards
Chris Parkin 021459146.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was my 2nd stay, and just as good as before. Travelling with my daughter and 2 children we would like to have had 2 adjoining rooms, but were told there weren't any. However there clearly are, as our rooms had locked doors, so a bit disappointing. We were in the apartment block, can't remember what it was last time. Prices pretty steep but all staff pleasant and helpful. Breakfast buffet much enjoyed by the kids. Great location.

Room Tip: You might have to insist to get the kind of room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thanks for the review. Much appreciated. We have a number of adjoining rooms, most of which comprise a one bedroom suite and a premier studio. I can only think that the reason we weren't able to provide one on the day, was that one or other room was already occupied.
Not sure how you made your booking, but direct to our website always has the best information and pricing.
Please call me if I can help further, or next time you visit.
Many thanks
Chris Parkin. 021459146

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,969 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
800 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £108 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing