We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, small rooms, expensive room rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent location, small rooms, expensive room rates”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location and very close proximity to the local shops, boutiques, cafés, and of course the wonderful waterfront.

You can literally walk out the front door and be sitting in a cafe within 10 minutes walk easily.

The Wellington City area around Manners Street, Cuba Street has undergone a significant change in recent times - for the better.
Whilst the actual size of the city is very small, the choice, value for. Only and variety of products and services is really very good.

There is of course the wonderful Embassy theatre at the end that is well worth taking a movie in - and having a drink and nibbles downstairs beforehand.

The hotel rooms are dated, and are in need of some attention. Generally they are good, but the standard is below par with the rest of the APAC region. Substantially so.
The costs for an average or upgraded room aren't proportionate for the quality you receive. You should receive high standards of fittings and fixtures, larger rooms, premium services.

The staff are good and generally welcoming, however, it has to be said that there is an air of complacency and disinterest that doesn't seem to have changed in my stays at this hotel.
It's such a pity, as it has all the right ingredients to be a stellar hotel, but doesn't seem to have risen to the challenge.

Generally, you can't get a better location than this hotel, but do make sure you research comparables before you book.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are in the midst of a comprehensive room renovation program which is about 60% completed. We expect to have the remainder of our hotel rooms completed in the next few months. I'm sure you will appreciate the changes when you next visit. Please be sure and ask for an upgraded room.
Images of the new design are on our website, which is the best place to make bookings and get the best deals.
Thankyou for your comment about us having the capability to be a stellar property. We will just have to try harder.
Chris Parkin Owner.
021 459146 chris.parkin@museumhotel.co.nz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    587
    201
    61
    41
See reviews for
194
832
77
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had booked an 'Escape package' and since it was a special occasion went for the executive suite option. We were not disappointed lovely big room or rooms really. Loved that the kitchen was by the door then you walk into lounge area with chaise lounge to sit on and admire the view over Wellingtons harbour. What a spectacular sight - I'd never get sick of it. The bed excellent same as at home super king sized with superior linen. Requested a bath suite and yes we got a bath with bath bomb, great way to soak after a days shopping.
Now I must point out check-in was embarrassing as I handed over my Visa Debit card the receptionist said "do you have another card"? I don't and then it became very uncomfortable requesting my drivers licence to hold as security on room. I was very upset/embarrassed so the receptionist got her Manager to talk to me. She was very very sorry and gave my drivers licence back. Accepted my debit card and continued to apologise then on arrival at the suite delivered a apology gift which consisted of a bag of treats. Well done Museum hotel!!

Room Tip: Request a harbour view and floors above 5 as the old hotel is in front. We were on 6 so the view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Nice review. Thank you. Hope you managed to explore the area around us. We are the closest hotel to all of the major attractions, and have more than one hundred eateries within walking distance. Something for all tastes!
I hope you are able to visit again, and enjoy our extensive and growing ART collection. This is featured on our website, which is of course the best place to find and book the best deals.
Kind regards,
Chris Parkin 021 459146
chris.parkin@museumhotel.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had read the descriptions about the hotel prior to staying but was still surprised when the decorations. The rooms we had was a nice size but was showing it's age a bit. it was however very clean and comfortable with all the expected the amenities.

We did have a problem with the hot water for one day which the hotel apologised for with a $50 voucher we used for room service. The location can't be faulted - right next to Te Papa, in the centre of the city and near a bus interchange.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnttoast87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
251 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Ideally situated near the waterfront opposite the Te Papa museum and alongside a large supermarket for self catering.

We stayed in a twin studio in the aparthotel part of the hotel, which was well equipped with an oven and a microwave. Laundry facilities were available if we had wanted them.

Our room had lumps out of the wall and plasterboard showing. When I pointed this out to reception they said that it was long overdue redecorating but they did not know when it would happen!

The concierge service was very good.

Car parking was expensive at $20 a night but it is in the centre of town.

The wi-fi was only free in the Lobby and restaurant. In room wi-fi is a rather expensive 12 dollars for 24 hours and 18 dollars for 48 hours.

Unlike much accommodation in New Zealand there was a safe in our room.

Watch out if you use a UK credit card to guarantee payment because the Reception staff did not realise that you can't take a token payment without entering a PIN.

Room Tip: Chose a high floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Well this hotel surprised me. Nicely designed room (a renovated one) but small. All the necessary facilities and well maintained. Very expensive room service - you would think you were in NYC. Comfortable bed and good bathroom. Pretty noisy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank stiletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thankyou for mentioning our newly renovated rooms. The design aspect is a bit out there, but most of our guests find it complements our extensive ART collection.
We think our location is the best in Wellington for visitors. Close to all of the important sights, and with more than 50 restaurants in the immediate vicinity, you have plenty of food choices.
I hope you are able to return sometime. Book directly on our website for the best prices, and information. Call or email if I can help in any way.
Chris Parkin 021 459146 chris.parkin@museumhotel.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for just one night as a special treat while dining at Hippopotamus, and neither experience disappointed. The room was of a good size and with a beautifully comfortable bed and linen. The espresso machine is a nice touch (very Wellington) and we made the most of the enormous bath and complimentary bath fizz. We also enjoyed the sauna and lap pool to work up some energy for our dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneD_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Lovely review. Sounds like you experienced pretty much everything we have to offer. Well done! I look forward to your next stay with us. Don't forget, for the best information and prices, go direct to our website.
Chris Parkin 021 459146.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
229 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Enjoyed our stay - great location, nicely decorated hotel, friendly staff, indoor heated pool/spa. What more do you want?
Enjoyed our stay - great location, nicely decorated hotel, friendly staff, indoor heated pool/spa. What more do you want?

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sinbarambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,833 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing