We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of QT Museum Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked the "escape with us" package and stayed in one of the premier studios in the apartment complex. The bath in the room was really deep and luxurious. Hadn't planned on having dinner at the restaurant but was given a voucher from a friend, yes it was expensive but it was also amazing! Quite possibly the best meal I have ever had, after the first course I stopped caring about the cost. Only downside was that the spa wasn't operational as I had really wanted to use it while We were there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tratratraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    569
    199
    59
    41
See reviews for
189
798
77
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Good stay, but nothing I didn't know. In the past (for work) I have experienced a mixture of rooms and had many experiences - good and bad. Fortunately good this time, however we had to move rooms, as level 2 you can hear a humming from the water pipes flowing into the pool?
They moved us into a room much higher and facing Courtenay Place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for staying with us. First time anyone has noticed a hum! Thanks for letting us know. I will try to track it down.
Hope you enjoyed the Art, in-room Espresso etc, and also had time to enjoy one of the many restaurants surrounding us.
Look forward to next time, and remember to go direct to our website for the very best deals, and most complete information, including photos of our refurbished rooms.
Regards
Chris Parkin 021 459146 or chris.parkin@museumhotel.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Have stayed twice now and both times really enjoyed the quirkiness and individuality of this Hotel. The foyer area with art mixed with an individual's collection of beautiful motorbikes always brings a smile. Genuinely friendly staff cap it all off.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingKiwi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel. I'm please you enjoy the motorcycles which are a passion of mine along with the rest of the art collection, which now numbers more than 100 pieces.
We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of many of our rooms where we have incorporated the same sort of slightly zany design approach.
Click on the website connection above for photos and of course the best deals.
Kind regards
Chris Parkin 021 459146. Or Chris.parkin@museumhotel.co.nz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location and very close proximity to the local shops, boutiques, cafés, and of course the wonderful waterfront.

You can literally walk out the front door and be sitting in a cafe within 10 minutes walk easily.

The Wellington City area around Manners Street, Cuba Street has undergone a significant change in recent times - for the better.
Whilst the actual size of the city is very small, the choice, value for. Only and variety of products and services is really very good.

There is of course the wonderful Embassy theatre at the end that is well worth taking a movie in - and having a drink and nibbles downstairs beforehand.

The hotel rooms are dated, and are in need of some attention. Generally they are good, but the standard is below par with the rest of the APAC region. Substantially so.
The costs for an average or upgraded room aren't proportionate for the quality you receive. You should receive high standards of fittings and fixtures, larger rooms, premium services.

The staff are good and generally welcoming, however, it has to be said that there is an air of complacency and disinterest that doesn't seem to have changed in my stays at this hotel.
It's such a pity, as it has all the right ingredients to be a stellar hotel, but doesn't seem to have risen to the challenge.

Generally, you can't get a better location than this hotel, but do make sure you research comparables before you book.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We are in the midst of a comprehensive room renovation program which is about 60% completed. We expect to have the remainder of our hotel rooms completed in the next few months. I'm sure you will appreciate the changes when you next visit. Please be sure and ask for an upgraded room.
Images of the new design are on our website, which is the best place to make bookings and get the best deals.
Thankyou for your comment about us having the capability to be a stellar property. We will just have to try harder.
Chris Parkin Owner.
021 459146 chris.parkin@museumhotel.co.nz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had booked an 'Escape package' and since it was a special occasion went for the executive suite option. We were not disappointed lovely big room or rooms really. Loved that the kitchen was by the door then you walk into lounge area with chaise lounge to sit on and admire the view over Wellingtons harbour. What a spectacular sight - I'd never get sick of it. The bed excellent same as at home super king sized with superior linen. Requested a bath suite and yes we got a bath with bath bomb, great way to soak after a days shopping.
Now I must point out check-in was embarrassing as I handed over my Visa Debit card the receptionist said "do you have another card"? I don't and then it became very uncomfortable requesting my drivers licence to hold as security on room. I was very upset/embarrassed so the receptionist got her Manager to talk to me. She was very very sorry and gave my drivers licence back. Accepted my debit card and continued to apologise then on arrival at the suite delivered a apology gift which consisted of a bag of treats. Well done Museum hotel!!

Room Tip: Request a harbour view and floors above 5 as the old hotel is in front. We were on 6 so the view wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Nice review. Thank you. Hope you managed to explore the area around us. We are the closest hotel to all of the major attractions, and have more than one hundred eateries within walking distance. Something for all tastes!
I hope you are able to visit again, and enjoy our extensive and growing ART collection. This is featured on our website, which is of course the best place to find and book the best deals.
Kind regards,
Chris Parkin 021 459146
chris.parkin@museumhotel.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had read the descriptions about the hotel prior to staying but was still surprised when the decorations. The rooms we had was a nice size but was showing it's age a bit. it was however very clean and comfortable with all the expected the amenities.

We did have a problem with the hot water for one day which the hotel apologised for with a $50 voucher we used for room service. The location can't be faulted - right next to Te Papa, in the centre of the city and near a bus interchange.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnttoast87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
248 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Ideally situated near the waterfront opposite the Te Papa museum and alongside a large supermarket for self catering.

We stayed in a twin studio in the aparthotel part of the hotel, which was well equipped with an oven and a microwave. Laundry facilities were available if we had wanted them.

Our room had lumps out of the wall and plasterboard showing. When I pointed this out to reception they said that it was long overdue redecorating but they did not know when it would happen!

The concierge service was very good.

Car parking was expensive at $20 a night but it is in the centre of town.

The wi-fi was only free in the Lobby and restaurant. In room wi-fi is a rather expensive 12 dollars for 24 hours and 18 dollars for 48 hours.

Unlike much accommodation in New Zealand there was a safe in our room.

Watch out if you use a UK credit card to guarantee payment because the Reception staff did not realise that you can't take a token payment without entering a PIN.

Room Tip: Chose a high floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Property: QT Museum Wellington
Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing