We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
QT Museum Wellington
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in an executive studio harbour view. The room was pleasant but small. Although it did have a kitchenette which was very useful. Bathroom was excellent with a huge bath. The TV was horrendous. Had 2 people in to "have a look'. They both said that that was as good as the TV's were in the hotel. They really need to have someone look at their system. Anyway as a result we got free wi-fi so we could stream our own stuff so that was a good result from the staff.
They charge extra for parking which is a real negative. Had room service one night and the pizza was inedible. The pasta was fine.
Overall probably would not stay in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brissie-based
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

911 - 917 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stay regularly here in Wellington when on business and frequently get upgraded to 1 bedroom or studio suite. Has washing machine and kitchenette. Comfy beds. Always spotlessly clean. Great art. Nothing like a bland chain hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Rosa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Return visits are the best form of compliment we can receive, so thank you for your loyalty.
If you don't already, make sure next time you book direct on our website. I guarantee you the best rates, and of course we have the latest information on specials etc. all direct bookings receive FREE WIFI.
Call me if I can help with anything.
Chris parkin. 021 459146 or Chris.parkin@museumhotel.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Went for two nights last friday for my daughters 18th,beautiful hotel,we got up graded to a re furbishec room,it was big,as was the lovely bathroom.we cannot complain about anything on our stay and will definitely stay here again on our return to wellington.proximity to museum theater and cuba street is great,can recommend the dragon,chinese restraunt round corner.the am ience and decor of the museum hotel is like non other,we absolutely loved our stay,thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for re furbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Return visits are the best form of compliment we can receive, so thank you for your loyalty.
If you don't already, make sure next time you book direct on our website. I guarantee you the best rates, and of course we have the latest information on specials etc. all direct bookings receive FREE WIFI.
Call me if I can help with anything.
Chris parkin. 021 459146 or Chris.parkin@museumhotel.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My girlfriend booked us in as a surprise for my birthday and the hotel was wonderful. The art and decor of the room and guest areas was spectacular, but it was the well thought out touches that really impressed me. These included a pillow menu, nespresso machine and an immaculate bathroom.

The hotel gym and swimming pool was extremely new with, and there were a good variety of machine. The sauna was also clean, and there were plenty off clean towels to use. The only downside is tight parking so if you can taxi I would recommend it.

The restaurant, HIppopotamus was fantastic and for silver service very reasonably priced. The service, food and wine were all first rate.

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JimmyM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Wow, looks like you tried everything. Great we were able to please you and your girlfriend, and inspire such a generous review. Wellington really is a great spot for a weekend, and we are at the centre of it, so we look forward to your next visit.
One tip! Always book directly on our website. Prices are better, and we offer free wifi.
Again, thank you so much.
Chris Parkin 021459146 or Chris.parkin@museumhotel.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Upgraded to a suite on arrival by an extremely friendly staff team who could not have been more welcoming. Very comfortable bed; an enormous bathroom with separate shower and bath. TV channels seemed only to be old style hotel analogue rather than HD digital. Wifi cost extra which was a bit of a surprise, though not over expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JCCMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hope you have had a wonderful time in New Zealand, and especially Wellington. So much to see and do in this littlest capital city. Thanks so much for your review. We are presently undergoing a refurbishment of our hotel rooms, and this will be followed by the replacement of our TV system.
FREE wifi is available if you book directly on our website. Booking direct on our website will also get you the best deals and most up to date information.
Kind regards
Chris parkin 021459146 or Chris.parkin@museumhotel.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Museum Art Hotel is one of the best hotels in Wellington. I make an effort to stay at the Museum hotel whenever I travel to Wellington for work (roughly monthly) for a number of reasons;
- spacious rooms with a variety of configurations
- comfortable and stylish rooms
- the deep bathtubs in the bathrooms - big enough for 2
- coffee machines and decent coffee in each room
- friendly and professional staff
- great art
On the last trip to Wellington (a personal trip) the team were kind enough to upgrade me to the 'White Suite' - a top floor large corner suite. Just magnificent. Great views of low rise Wellington. Thanks team.

Room Tip: If you're after a room with a balcony, request a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RegularWtnVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
museumh, Owner at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Nice review. Thanks for taking the trouble. About the only thing you didn't mention was our pool and gym! Anyway, I really appreciate your staying with us and trust you book direct on our website where the best deals can always be found. AND direct bookings get free WIFI.
Chris Parkin. 021 459146 or Chris.parkin@museumhotel.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a wonderful weekend away in Wellington and stayed at this hotel, it was excellent. Centrally located and everyone was very professional and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and the restaurant (Hippopotamus Restaurant) was one of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Thanks for a great time!

Room Tip: We went all out and had a harbour view suite but I'm going back to stay again and I don't ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,929 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
784 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Museum Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £116 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing