We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

At Home Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boulcott Suites(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Rydges Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,921)
Filter reviews
1,921 results
Traveller rating
871
681
239
85
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
871
681
239
85
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippopotamus restaurantte papaart collectiongreat arthuge bathacross the roadapartment roomespresso machinerain showerpublic areasnew zealandharbour viewmini barwasher dryercourtney placecourtenay placelocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 1,921 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Certainly amongst the nicest places I have stayed, across the the road from the waterfront and Te Papa the location is very central.
Large room, huge bed, good shower and a full kitchen if self catering is your thing. The staff were very friendly on check in and equally efficient on check out. The hotel has "Hippopotamus" as 1 of 2 in house restaurants.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GaryandLesleyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear GaryandLesleyTravel,

Thank you for the kind words. It's great to hear you enjoyed much of what our QT stay has to offer!

Until next time,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

There is two parts to this hotel.
There is an apartment section, which I booked into.
easy to find
A little strange reception.
You need to join the QT club to get late check out.
You get a voucher for a single free, beer or house and with two people , my wife and I this did not help us.
It has a good restaurant, called the Hippopotamus, but due to its lack local fresh seafood, we did not go.
It has a french style as far as the menu is concerned.
If you staying in the apartments try to get the top floor or you will end up with a great view of a big black building.
This is an interesting place, take a good look, it is sort of more like a gallery, than museum.
The Room is a good size, good bathroom.
Kitchen
Nice bed.
Great view of a black building.
make sure you read all the bits for sale, including the soap dish.
We enjoyed this place, but we have been once, not sure if we will return.
Its close to the middle of the city, easy walking distance to the main attractions.
Including the Cable Car.

Room Tip: Appartments get a top floor
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank pflynn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear pflynn58,

Thank you for taking the time to share you stay with us. It's great to hear you enjoy the little details and home comforts of your room. It sounds like you enjoyed our fabulous location and being the middle of it all!

Kind regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

So I tend not to review until I have stayed a couple of times so this is after my 3rd stay in over 18months.

This is a gorgeous property full of the most fabulous art collection which you can spend some serious time admiring.

Hotel staff are awesome, very helpful nothing is ever a problem and that’s everyone from the concierge to housekeeping to restaurant to front desk.

Rooms are all great, beds are super comfortable you have all the amenities including coffee machines and kettles, ironing board and iron in every room. Oh and most important a powerful Hairdryer and bathrobes !! The mini bar is amazeballs see the photo !

Restaurant is great and Hot Sauce is their new bar which is great.

Awesome location walking distance to everything and Te Papa is just across the road and the beach 10mins stroll. Love this hotel definitely worth staying here !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Monique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Monique G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We're thrilled to hear you embraced all the aspects of our QT experience. We hope we can welcome you back for further enjoyable experiences!

Best,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We were treated like royalty at this lovely hotel. Also enjoyed their beautiful restaurant and lounge. The staff was attentive and knowledgeable. We had a terrific stay and would gladly come back to enjoy even more of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Jane W,

Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back for more great service and terrific stay.

Kind regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Really interesting hotel. Very hip/trendy with some staff wearing berets and a variety of small and very large art pieces dotted all around throughout. Nice feel although you wouldn't recognise it from the outside as a traditional hotel as it blends completely into the building apart from a large golden hippo on top of the entranceway. Located within an easy walk of many things and definitely at the correct end of the city for the cuba street nightlife. If you can imagine logan brown restaurant roughly near the top of Cuba street this hotel is 1km walk away from it so lots of stuff between you and that 1km walk. It's a 5 min walk to Te Papa and has a view of the harbour / bay from some rooms - but do understand there is 100m+ of carparking/tourist campervan parking between you and the bay so it's not quite at water's edge but is still nice. Rooms are well furnished and a small table was in ours but most powerpoints are already sucked up by the plug in lighting etc so you may have to move some furniture / unplug stuff to be able to charge several phones. However not a huge issue.

All staff were very friendly and helpful and greeted you with a smile everytime. We arrived early morning and the concierge was happy to check our bag and it was in the room when we arrived to check in later that day. A nice touch and well appreciated. I would have given the hotel a 5 star but there were some issues that became apparent.

1. Key issue was noise in the room. Not street or traffic noise as I accept that comes through windows but our room - 340 backed onto the hippopotamus bar and restaurant. There was a wedding / private reception booked that had the usual PA system operating. Surprisingly that wasn't the issue as we could barely hear it. The biggest single let down for me was some mechanical systems running directly behind the wall that the bed was against or up in the roof / air handler system. Roughly 45 mins for every hour, something ran and created this god awful deep humming sound - like a large air conditioning unit or a large fridge compressor. It's a low frequency, constant loud humm. When it stopped, silence was golden then 15 minutes later - thrummmmmmmmmmbbbbbbbb…Put ear against headboard wall in the room and the wall was vibrating and the noise magnified hugely. Went out into the corridor and could hear it, albeit less loud. Walked into the hippopotamus bar and it was VERY loud while standing directly in front of the bar so I have no idea what it is but it kept me awake each night for long periods.

2. Staffing levels in the bar area. At peak time Friday and Saturday evenings, we saw one bar person for most of it. The bar appears to be a drop in for folks eating later in the hippopotamus restaurant as well as a trendy bar for office workers to have a few drinks in which is great and adds plenty of people watching opportunities. Nice jazz band playing on Friday night which added some real atmosphere without deafening everyone. That was really good. However service on Sat night was poor, primarily as the bar tender kept disappearing through the back door for extended periods, leaving the receptionist ( who was busy answering phones etc) to run around and try to serve. Thought it was just me as I stood there looking for someone to buy a drink from for nearly 5 mins while the receptionist kept looking over in a more agitated state each time. She hung up, ran around then said she couldn't make the cocktail but would get her colleague to sort. He then appeared after we'd sat down. Delivered the drinks then promptly disappeared again. Next couple walk in. Same issue. He's milling about looking to be served and nobody about??? Another couple walk in. Same issue. Receptionist now making coffees and yet more people walking in ( hotel guests by looks of things). This is around 9.45 to 10.00 pm at night.

3. Finally. And we laughed at this. It would appear the bottom light switch is a kill power button for the in room heatpump, although we couldn't find any information to this. Night 1 - heatpump all good. Night 2 - heatpump apparently dead. Power switch on wall beneath it is on. No response to the control. Reception asked if we had pressed the ' button the side' which eventually we figured out to be the wallswitch at the door - which had no indication it controlled anything other than the room lights. Again, we laughed but this is a no brainer with some in room documentation - or perhaps we missed it.


Would we stay here again - very much so. It's at the higher end of pricing in Wellington when we searched and at roughly $300+ per night isn't cheap. It has a bohemian feel to it and definitely avoids the corporate style in many other big chain hotels. Bright and relatively spacious rooms that appear pretty modern. Good location for walking to many of the nightlife and daytime shops. Great, friendly and helpful staff albeit a little light in the bar area downstairs but please - fix that noise or install dampening around whatever is vibrating level 3 to bits.

Room Tip: Balcony views have a carpark in the view. Room 340 has a constant droning noise - avoid unless it's fixed
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ged C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Ged C,

Thank you for such an informative review. We're consistently seeking support on maintaining our 5-star reputation on all counts. We're glad to hear you made the most of our location, live music and superstar staff. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

Kind Regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews