We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,037)
Filter reviews
2,037 results
Traveller rating
935
712
247
93
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
935
712
247
93
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hippopotamus restaurant te papa art collection great art huge bath across the road apartment room espresso machine cool hotel rain shower public areas new zealand harbour view washer dryer mini bar courtney place courtenay place
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 2,037 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed stay here. Bed comfortable shower superb . Friendly staff and welcoming at reception. Handy to downtown . Funky room mirrors everywhere. Would definitely recommend and stay here when next in Wellington

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank ohopedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear ohopedude,

Thank you for spending time to share your stay with us. We 're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our lush fit out and superb location.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights & arrived very early morning. The staff took care of our luggage until our room was ready & during checkin we were upgraded to an apartment suite. It was modern, funky, clean, spacious & quiet. Had everything including washer/dryer. All Staff were very pleasant & breakfast was exceptional. We loved the art & actually did the self guided tour of the art. The boutique hotel location was very centrally located & made walking everywhere a breeze. Loved this place!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank canuk47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear canuk47,

Thank you for your kind words on your recent stay with us! We're thrilled to hear our fantastic staff left an impression, and you lost yourself among the art!

Until next time,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Really enjoyed the innovative features in this hotel - especially the sculptures & other artworks including some rather unusual motor bikes - & great gear on some of the floor staff! Staff were charming & customer focussed & we had very good coffee in the bar each morning. Our room was spacious, quiet, clean & the bed sooo comfortable.
Good location - close to Te Papa (NZ's national museum), the waterfront esplanade & Courtenay Place bus stop.
Would definitely stay here again if returning to Wellington.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JulieL2088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear JulieL2088,

Thank you for your kind words! We hope you made the most of our central location and enjoyed perusing around of extensive art collection.

Until next time,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Room itself was well appointed and clean.
Staff in the hippotomus restaurant tried hard but were clearly overwhelmed and struggled with the number of diners. We were told we had to be seated rather than be allowed to have a pre dinner cocktail at the bar.
Service became fawlty tower-esque when we went downstairs to the lobby bar only to have the concierge suggest our group of 5 go to the Hot Sauce bar across the car park instead. We did, only to be told it was closing and to go back where we came from. Back to the lobby bar where we managed to get one round of drinks from a bartender before he disappeared. Then the concierge tried to serve drinks (less than std measures and couldn’t find anything). Gave up and went to bed. What could be a fun quirky hotel let down by its staff.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank razza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear razza71,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. This does not sound like our usual high standards and five-star service at all. Please be assured this has been taken to management.

We do hope you give us another chance,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

This hotel has some amazing art and the location is terrific, but that is where the good stuff stops. The customer service here is terrible. The staff at the front desk looks professional but are not friendly or helpfull at all. We rang in advance to see what the rules where about paying cash and not having a credit card at checking in and were reassured that a debit visa card would be sufficient. When we tried to book in we were informed that the staff member we talked to gave us the wrong information and that we would require a $300 bond, which would have been fine if we were informed of this, that was why we rang in advance. The duty manager though were very unhelpful and only decided to become cooperative when we suggested that we would book into another hotel instead. The hotel itself has got a rather quirky decor style which is unique. The hallways and lifts though is rather dark as they are painted in black. Clever use of mirrors in the room to give a sense of it being bigger than it actually is, since the rooms are rather tiny. Room was nicely decored, but the bathroom could do with a proper clean. Mould in the shower and the vents thickly covered in dust build up. Overall this hotel did not live up to its reputation of being an upmarket hotel. Considering that this hotel is one of the more expensive ones in Wellington we were very dissapointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, otherwise you will get a brick wall with a picture painted on it.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Fakeittillyoumakeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Fakeittillyoumakeit,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent stay with us. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay from the miscommunication taken place, as a bond upon check-in for guests without credit cards is standard hotel procedure. Also, we're a little taken aback by the comments on the service front, as you can see from previous reviews there's nothing but praise surrounding our team. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the art and quirky decor in our public areas!

Kind regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews