We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable stay here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in Wellington for a night and it was a very welcome hotel from the mediocre motel that we had in Napier.

The room was very very clean, bed was plush and service was good. Travelling around NZ, we realised that wifi is seldom given and over here, the wifi was very very weak as well.

The service at the front desk was polite and friendly, but nothing more. Good for a nights stay though and we would stay here again, fuss free and good location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Michloh,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We very much appreciate the comments with regards the service you encountered and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    945
    319
    57
    20
See reviews for
414
804
146
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waipukurau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel has all the things you need and none of the things you don't - that is it provides shampoo, shower gel and soap, but not sewing kits, make up removers and shoe polishers - it is genuinely "green" - doesn't change the towels and sheets when you have put up the sign saying you are happy for them not to - which is good for the environment. But the main reason why I am looking forward to a return visit is that the service is first class - friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank WaipukRolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear WaipukRolly,
Thank you for posting feedback following your recent stay with here at the Novotel Wellington. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay and in particular the service the team here delivered. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

If you are looking for a comfortable bed that is modern but NOT spacious then this is the perfect place. However staff need a lesson in customer service on the front desk, I checked in and being a Gold Le Club normally expect an upgrade or something to welcome a member, when asked for a Water view was told there was none, then asked about upgrade and was told it would cost $60 unfortunately work doesn't allow extra costs. Went to room but the key didn't work, wasn't cut properly so back down to front desk. No apology gave me a new key, when I go to room called Duty Manager to explain my frustration with check-in was offered an water room now, mmm before there was none and now there is? Then enquired about paying upgrade then was told no executive rooms available, when people LIE i switch off and will never return, if staff can't be honest why should I be loyal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_Muller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Steve_Muller

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It is disappointing to read of your experiences with our Front Office Team and I can only apologise for the lack of recognition you encountered on arrival at the hotel. I can assure you we work hard to deliver on our promises to Le Club Members and the majority of the time the feedback we receive is positive. We understand the importance of loyalty and your feedback will provide us with motivation to work harder to ensure we not only meet but exceed member expectations moving forward.
If I can be of any further assistance then please do not hesitate to contact me directly on philip.hilton@accor.com.
Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Property: Novotel Wellington
Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing