We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our room was clean, tidy and comfortable. Car parking was a mission in itself - the valet service is $25 per night. No views but we got what we paid for. Appreciated the restaurant staff letting us have a late buffet breakfast after we were told the wrong time by reception staff.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Kym,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We very much appreciate the comments you made which will help us to monitor our service levels.

We look forward to welcome you back at Novotel Wellington in near future.

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and was my last stop before returning home after 10 days. This was the best of all that we had stayed at. It wasn't the most "luxurious" but it was the only one that exceeded expectations in many ways. It was also the cheapest and booked through the Accor website.
The location is the best there is; the airport buses and the city buses stop outside and are cheap; its easy to find (good directions have been given in previous posts -thank you, they helped), check in quick & easy - very very polite and helpful; sometimes its the small things that can irritate, such as waiting for ever for a slow lift/elevator; not so here; always there within seconds.
The room is bright and fresh, nothing special but a standard Novotel room that you would expect but here they would be on the better end of the standard. Breakfast; Very polite staff here too; can't say that I liked the breakfast but I don't really like breakfast buffets so thats a personal thing & not something that I think they should change; the "masses" probably enjoy it & thats the commercial reality. I would definitely recommend staying here; I've given it 5 stars on tripadvisor because it delivers, & more compared to expectations for this class of hotel not because it is a 5 star hotel and they don't sell themselves as one either.
If anyone knows the brand of the beds that they use or if Novotel/Accor sell them, I'd be grateful if someone could contact me; the bed was the most comfortable I've slept on for many many years.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rikkimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Rikkimca,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Novotel Wellington for the last stop of your New Zealand trip.

It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay. We also hope that you enjoyed all the awesome landscapes and attractions New Zealand has to offer.

Our new Novotel beds are indeed relaxing and comfortable and add to the wonders of your good night's sleep. You can easily buy the beds online; here's the following link:
http://www.novotelstore.com/en/index.aspx

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcome you back in near future!

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel is centrally located about midway along the Terrace, and has access to Lambton Quay. (Only a a minutes walk from cable car lane) So it makes for a nice and central location to explore the Wellington downtown area, with your longest walk being over to Te Papa and Oriental Parade of about 25 - 35 minutes depending on how fast you walk. Parliament buildings are 5 minutes away, and colourful Cuba street is 15 - 20 minutes walk.

We had a Terrace facing room, which was very quite due to it being a Sunday night. Also as it was a Sunday, it allowed us to park free on the street until 8AM, though the hotel also has parking if you do need to store the vehicle, at a cost of $25 per day.

The staff were of the professional standard as we would expect from a Novotel, courteous and full of information.

The hotel room as per most Accor hotels, work to a formula, and once you've seen one, the rest will be quite familiar to you. That said, the room was in very good condition, with a fully stocked mini-bar. The bed was very comfortable, and a selection of pillows were available.
The hotel also had a gym available for guest use, though we did not use this facility.

The free Wifi was probably the only let down, and I reverted to using my mobile phone as a mobile hotspot as the Wifi was so slow. That said, they did have computers available in the foyer for guest use, though with a 30 minute time limit.

We ate dinner off the premises, but the breakfast buffet the next morning was very good. With a full selection that should suit most tastes, including a gluten free selection. For those that require expresso coffee in the morning, the bar (adjacent to the restaurant) was open for service (At an additional cost).

I would have no hesitation using this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, Front Office Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to write a detailed review.

Our service is our benchmark and it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to monitor our service levels and hotel facilities to ensure we are maintaining our high expectations and meeting our guest expectations.

The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Novotel Wellington.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Saurabh Paranjape
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here with my two teenagers for a long weekend break. Catching the Airport Flyer bus to Lampton Quay was quick, easy and economical. Check in was quick and without any issue, rooms are clean and quiet with nice modern decor. My favourite things about this hotel were the location - an easy walk to everything we wanted to do thanks to access directly down to Lambton Quay (a bit strange having to walk through the restaurant area though when people are eating). If you're not up to walking in this very compact city, buses are right outside and will take you to where you need to go. The buffet breakfast was outstanding and included gluten free options - cereal, bread and hot options. I couldn't have thought of another thing they needed to have (though my 14 year old suggested a waffle station would be great!) - cereals, birtcher muesli, fruits, mini smoothies, pastries and bagels, toast, pancakes, hot items......perfect! Would not hesitate to stay again - especially good value for families with a free breakfast for children staying with their parents.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor - it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicalsundae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Tropicalsundae,
Thank you for choosing to stay with here at the Novotel Wellington and for taking the time to post your feedback. It was pleasing to read both you and your family enjoyed your time with us and in particular our breakfast buffet options and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Harjha
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Novotel Wellington at bookends of our New Zealand vacation. The room was very comfortable and well laid out. The bathroom was a good size and the mirror never fogged up after a shower - that was awesome!

Really, the only drawback to this hotel is that you only get 30 minutes of free wifi. After that, you have to pay for it. Now, if this is not a priority to you, then this hotel is good value.

Unfortunately, it is a priority for me to have free wifi in my room. Other than that, reasonable value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheYvetteRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear TheYvetteRene,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Philip Hilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,416 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £88 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing