We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Staffydog55
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hands down best bed I have ever slept on. Rooms are quite small and the hotel does not have a swimming pool or spa, but regardless, it was a great stay. The location was quite central, and the breakfast buffet was not one to miss.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie_the_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Kylie_the_Traveller,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It was fantastic to read you liked our beds and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

novotel wellginton was terrific with our family. terrific central location, fun breakfast buffet my daughter loved, clean simple rooms with nice view. beds were a bit soft for our tastes but my husband prefer futons at home, so most travelers will love the cushioney beds. accommodating staff, reasonably prices, great location, family friendly: we'll be back, esp if breakkie is included.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpanda56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Travelpanda56,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post feedback. It was fantastic to read that your family all enjoyed your time at the hotel and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is a different thing to different people. That is purely because of your travel reasons for being there. If you are a business person you will find it central, convenient, impersonal and comfortable. For tour groups ditto the above with the added benefit of being given priority in the restaurant as the hotel falls over itself to please tour operators. If you are an independent traveller, like us, the story is somewhat different. Yes, the hotel is central, our reason for choosing it in the first place. It has a lift to Lambton Place which gives you easy access to the waterfront and shopping precinct. But you must find it yourself, like a child on a treasure hunt. As for convenient I am not so sure. Your Sat Nav will take you there and hopefully not to the wrong side of this very busy city street like us. Outside the hotel there are bus stops and traffic and no area to conveniently pull up for the uninitiated. So parking in a bus stop, we unloaded our suitcases ourselves, dragged them uphill to the entrance, desperately looking for the concierge from the bored, disinterested front desk to organise the car to be to be taken away and parked somewhere, anywhere. Our water view room peered through tall buildings so to be honest I wouldn't pay extra for that. Also the windows were absolutely filthy with city grime - the sort I would expect in downtown Beijing not waterfront Wellington. Spend some money Novotel and clean them! The room was comfortable without being glamorous. The wifi was exorbitant. This grasping wifi charge is ridiculous when, after a month in New Zealand in large and small motels, the only other place we had encountered it was another Accor hotel. We were surprised while waiting for lifts to find staff trolleys of all sorts, whether it be cleaning or food delivery, pushed in front, expecting and taking right of way. I cannot comment favourably on breakfast as we were herded into the conference room to give way to a tour group, with three other sets of independent travellers - nothing was cleared, no staff member came in, very unpleasant. Despite the Novotel being such a mediocre place, we did love its centrality. The ability to walk easily to the waterfront where we ate both nights (Go there as it is a wonderful place! Don't eat in!) was brilliant and the tram to the fabulous botanic gardens being next door was marvellous. It is also quite close to the ferry to Picton although you will probably need a taxi. Would I stay here again? No. New Zealand is full of fantastic accommodation with wonderful staff running them and Wellington is no exception. This impersonal place isn't in the same category in my book.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for water view as it is only a partial view at best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurlyandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear CurlyandMe,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. The comments you made are extremely valuable to us and we will take these on board as we continue to review all aspects of our guest offering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at Novotel, Wellington, over the weekend and it was brilliant! The staff were always friendly and helpful. I loved the large bed, 3 super comfortable pillows. The room was very clean and welcoming. The location was fantastic - The Terrace entrance with an elevator to Lambton Quay. The breakfast buffet had an amazing choice with eager staff ready to help. Great hospitality and a definite to return to. Well done Novotel!

Room Tip: I enjoyed our Terrace side room overlooking the interesting houses of Thorndon and the University be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Grace580,
Thank you for posting such great feedback following your recent stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Excellent location. Modern, comfortable décor in a good sized room. Excellent breakfast buffet and surprisingly decent evening dining. A good quality, central business-friendly hotel. One of the best Novotel Hotels in Australia/New Zealand.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank AXSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear AXSYD,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was great to read you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you caught the bus from the airport like I did and get dropped off on Lambton Quay, there is direct elevator access (business hours) to the Novotel - just ask them about the actual arcade as I can't locate it on Google Street view (it might be Capital Quay opposite a bus stop and there are escalators to the above floors). This makes it easier to access the CBD. When I arrived they didn't have any record of my booking but saw my email from Expedia who obviously didn't inform the Novotel. It took a bit of time to get sorted but they manually forced a booking through and gave me complimentary internet access. The room is huge, clean, had all the facilities one could want. Superb. The staff were friendly and more than willing to help. They also have luggage storage available and assisted in getting internet access when my work laptop refused to connect. Excellent location to Lambton Quay which has plenty of shopping and one can easily walk to Te Papa Museum and to Cuba St which has heaps of restaurants and more shopping. 5 Star experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Shaun D,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay in Wellington and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,451 reviews
0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £90 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing