We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recently renovated, reasonable price, friendly staff, great food. Highly recommended”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recently renovated, reasonable price, friendly staff, great food. Highly recommended”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great place to stay. Comfy room, clean, tidy and modern. I don't normally eat in hotel restaurants - the novatel Wgtn restaurant is an exception - fantastic, High quality menu, delicious food. Service is great

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellerben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Travellerben,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Novotel Wellington. It was great to read you enjoyed your time with us and in particular your visit to Caucus Restaurant. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    959
    333
    60
    22
See reviews for
427
818
147
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Room was nice and the bed was truly comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Lift access to Lambton Quay was excellent, however this was not pointed out to us during check-in, and I wouldn't have known if I didn't do my research beforehand. As some of the reviewers here already mentioned, the access is not very obvious as you have to go through the restaurant to get to the lift.

We were also completely puzzled by the low quality of TV reception. When weather is bad and you can't do much but stay inside the room, it's nice to enjoy a good TV.

We would probably stay here again, however I wouldn't fork out the extra bucks for a city or harbour view next time. Thought that was pointless, really.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japina65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Japina65,
Thank you for the feedback. We very much appreciate the comments you made and please accept our apologies for not providing you with the details to the Lambton Quay lifts on arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a business trip. The staff were beyond reproach. They were welcoming and helpful from our first moment until our check out. We were even allowed a late checkout until 12.30 because we had a morning meeting and our luggage was put into storage for us until late afternoon to allow us to do some shopping after check out until it was time to head to the airport.
The bed was extremely comfortable and although the room was not spacious, everything was clean and well serviced. The breakfasts were excellent as was the food and service for lunch and dinner. The chef made us a combination pizza especially to order for our lunch. Superb!. As others have said, Novotel is handy to the shops and buses on Lambton Quay from where the hotel can be accessed via an arcade and a lift. The only comment I would make is to inform guests on the booking confirmation that the hotel can be accessed from there. We took a bus from the airport and were told by the driver that we would need to take the cable car to The Terrace which we found to be not correct. Fortunately at the cable car entrance we were advised that there was an entrance about 100 metres on through the arcade.
If travelling to Wellington again, we will definitely book here. Well done Novotel.

The staff at reception were always helpful and friendly, available to answer any question.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayslong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Dayslong,
Thank you for posting your feedback on the hotel. It was great to read you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Unfortunately we were not impressed by our stay at the Novotel Wellington. Whilst the location is central, the breakfast is delicious and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful there were a few significant negatives that would make us reconsider staying at this hotel again.
For starters the wi-fi costs are atrocious, the speed was slow and the connectivity was poor. Unfortunately our two room service meals were cold and unappetizing and were definitely not worth $63.00. The bathroom towels were frayed and the face washers were stained and the bed whilst comfortable had stray hairs ... The cost of the room was reasonable but I doubt we will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bell_emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Bell_emma,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is disappointing that we have not been able to meet your expectations in a number of areas and I can only apologise for this. We will take on board your comments and work hard to ensure we correct the areas you have mentioned. Once again thank you for the valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
240 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Novotel is a decent business/tourist hotel with comfortable and clean rooms and a good location. We stayed three nights.

We were however fed up by their wi-fi policy. The so called complimentary net in the lobby (why only there?) was unstable and you only got one session a day even if you didn't use 30 min. In the room we payed for 2 h. After 70 min it shut down. Up until then it had been very slow and unstable. Very annoying and not worth the price. 

Upon checking out we overheard that loyalty club members have unlimited and complimentary wi-fi. This really tics me off. When will hotels learn to treat all their guests as they are ecually important and welcome!?!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Clara H,
Thank you for posting your comments following your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that we were not able to meet your expectations with regards WIFI and in particular the lack of consistency with the delivery of this service and can only apologise for this and we will escalate this to our provider, so they can review the system and ensure no further disruptions are experienced. Once again thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Hands down best bed I have ever slept on. Rooms are quite small and the hotel does not have a swimming pool or spa, but regardless, it was a great stay. The location was quite central, and the breakfast buffet was not one to miss.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie_the_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Kylie_the_Traveller,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It was fantastic to read you liked our beds and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.6 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Property: Novotel Wellington
Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing