We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good and the location is perfect! I love the shortcut lift to lambton quay, makes it really easy to go to the shops! For their toiletries, it would be nice to have a toothpaste included and also a microwave in the rooms would be good as well. We tried their dinner menu but unfortunately weren't impressed, it was too bland :( The staff were very very helpful and friendly! Thanks for the hospitality

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lovely B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Lovely B,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I will ensure the comments regarding your dining experience are discussed with the kitchen team. We do hope to be of service again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,041)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dave255118
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Would recommend this hotel as a base in the Wellington CBD.
Convenient location in the city aided by a lift down to one of the city's main streets - Lambton Quay - otherwise Wellington's hills can take their toll!
Good sized room with modern amenities, and staying here with my son the double room featured two Queen sized beds, making it very comfortable.
Contemporary decor was pleasing but the curtains did have a disconcerting 'blood splatter' type design.
Only comments are that the hotel staff were a bit tight with soap and shower gel - we ran out on our last day.
I also have a general grip about hotels and Wi-Fi, How come backpacker hostels can offer free Wi-Fi but hotels still charge?

Room Tip: Water side rooms had great views - not so sure what the view to the hill side would be like.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Nigel B,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to post your comments. We hope to be of service again at some stage in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Right in the cbd & there is access to Lambton quay via an in hotel lift. Room was comfortable and had a real king size bed. Room decor was a bit CSI crime scene with bloodstains on the curtains but otherwise really comfortable and quiet. Only issue is if you stay out beyond 7 pm you need to use your room pass to access the hotel from Lambton quay and for some reason mine decided not to work at that moment. Very long walk around to The terrace to access the hotel via the front door.

Room Tip: Free wifi in the lobby for 30 mins. Access to Lambton quay but only after check in so will need to a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mark C,
Thanks for the feedback and it was nice to read you enjoyed our central CBD location. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have stayed here several times recently. The Hotel is modern and well set out, but the really good service is what makes the difference. Nothing seems too much trouble, the staff are friendly and prompt to fix any issues. They make all the difference. Great view from the eigth floor.
The hotel is very handy to great shops, simply take the elevator down to Lambton Quay.

Room Tip: The 02 and 04 rooms have a great view of the water and we saw the ferry coming and going. Very coo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Fred M,
Thanks for your continued loyalty and great to read your comments with regards the service you received. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have no complaints about the Novotel, except that they really need new curtains! (the "bloodstain paint job" pattern is inadvisable) The room was lovely, the gym was perfect, valet parking a huge bonus. Only caveat: Location-wise, the Novotel is in a tricky spot. If you stay out late (10 PM or later) you have to go through another hotel to get up to the Novotel. It was a bit confusing and convoluted.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSB395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear DSB395,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for posting your feedback. We look forward to being of service again on your next trip to the Capital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here on business and enjoyed a comfortable room with everything I needed. Good service from the front desk, and quick checkout time in the morning. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was strong.

I enjoyed the buffet breakfast - a nice selection was available, and one of the waiters quickly organised me a copy of the newspaper when I asked for one.

I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank w3ndytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear w3ndytravels,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for posting your feedback. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: £89 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing