We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, great room”
Review of Novotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Wellington
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Very comfortable, great room”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very modern room with everything I needed. Staff were friendly and accommodating, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again. Great location, easy walking to everything in the city.

I couldn't really fault the place!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyLala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear KellyLala,
We very much appreciate the comments you made and it was pleasing to read you enjoyed your time with us here at the Novotel Wellington. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    971
    337
    61
    23
See reviews for
434
828
147
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for four nights as part of our honeymoon in New Zealand. We found the hotel comfortable, well located and the hotel restaurant was excellent. However, we were annoyed about the extra charges which were levied during our stay, including the breakfast (which we had assumed was incorporated within the room rate) but most particularly the wi-fi. Everywhere else in New Zealand offered free wi-fi - simple and no strings attached. But the Novotel not only didn't offer free wi-fi, but it operated a complicated charging system whereby you only received a couple of hours service and then had to resubscribe. Please enter the modern age Novotel and provide free Wi-fi!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear David D,
Thank you for posting your feedback. We do appreciate your comments regarding breakfast and internet access. We do offer our guests a range of options for internet access throughout the hotel. If this was not explained to you on arrival then please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused. Once again thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, modern. Exactly what you would expect from a Novotel. Brilliantly easy to get to from airport - get off at the cable car stop and walk through a shopping centre to get to a lift which whisks you up to reception. Only downside is lack of nearby restaurants - most good eating establishments are at least a 10 minute walk away.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Chris H,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we hope to be of service again at some stage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Travellers using hotels regularly become complacent checking out of one hotel in another and usually finding nothing much changes, all that is really required are two things..free wifi please...and comfortable beds, and maybe a view other than an office block or brick wall!
The night before arriving at Novotel on The Terrace, we had a night at Novotel Auckland Airport (also reviewed), and was expecting much of what the airport hotel offered, but at a cheaper rate, which it was, plus a rate that included free buffet breakfast. That in itself is a plus, because when you take a look what's around the hotel, nothing..only eateries are McDonalds, Burger King, Subway, no restaurants or takeaways anywhere near the hotel as I explored Lambton Quay, Willis Street, the waterfront, to find absolutely nothing worth talking about. Disastrous in the capital city and CBD.
The buffet breakfast includes fruit juices, bacon, fried, scrambled eggs, sausages, hash browns, baked beans, pastrie danishes, selection of fresh fruits, flavoured milks, yoghurt, cereals, toast and condiments, excellent selection.
The room was comfortable, but had a view of apartments and little bit of the motorway, was going to be an extra $30 a night to be on the harbour side!
Wifi not free..and 30 minutes available in the lobby, not in the comfort of your paid room, and using the lobby that is shared as Caucus restaurant, not an ideal place to sit using a mobile device trying desperately to connect to wifi, or using the two PC's also in the lobby.
This arrangement could be so much better, but Novotel in both hotels do not seem to be concerned much about guests privacy and security, and unfortunately many hotels follow suit, but Accor could lead the way and do better.
The wifi would never connect and the 30 minutes available was expired many times before you even got to use it.
Access to Lambton Quay from the restaurant via lift, and New World is the closest supermarket half way up Willis Street about 15 minutes from the hotel. There is a small convenience store in Cable Car lane, that seems to be open late.
A small gym centre is available just near the lifts on the ground floor.
Walking to the Beehive and parliament buildings or railway station is about ten minutes.
The waterfront is two blocks away and to the Te Papa museum, Cuba Street and Courtney Place walking would take 15-20 minutes.
Take bus #23 Mairangi from Lambton Quay to Wellington Zoo - $3.50 each way, taxi $27.50! The bus stops right outside the zoo main entrance at Newtown.
Souvenirs, if any are really needed from Wellington, can be found in the shopping centre at Whitcoulls just beside the hotel, and at the information centre. Some newsagents have a range of souvenirs as well as the Te Papa museum shop.
The hotels housekeeping staff are very obliging and helpful, but start early, and why we had to wait more than three hours to check in is something I was not happy with. The airport shuttle from airport to the hotel costs $25 for two passengers.
Staff were generally friendly and must have got a little tired of the ever questioning wifi problems, management could make life so much easier for staff and their guests with taking a serious look at wifi accessibility, and move with the modern age, instead of trying to make it a money making source. Room rates could cover wifi rather than be seperate charges, the most complaint's about hotels is wifi access. A Vodafone assistant also helped us to get onto freeCBD wifi when walking around the city.
Television channels selection included TV1, TV2, TV,3 TV4, Disney, Sky News, Maori channel, Prime, two sports channels, no CNN or BBC or Skysports,ESPN, or music channels.
Placement of the tv is unusual not even centred on the wall. Connectivity outlets are available, but no relaxing furniture or chair, but beds comfortable.
Bathroom provided toiletries, tissues, face washers, hair dryer, bath and shower over bath, and plenty of towels.
The hotel was very quiet, was staying four nights over the weekend as well, and there was no traffic disturbance or noisy guests, perfect for relaxing. the block out curtains worked very well, and an iPod dock is situated with clock by the bed.
A good hotel when in Wellington, but like most hotels could be so much better, but then the rates would be so much higher!

Room Tip: Harbour side view rooms more expensive, try for a deal that includes breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTravellers2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Aussietravellers60,
Thank you for the detailed feedback following your recent t stay with us and we will certainly take on board the comments that you have made as continue to look for ways to enhance our guests experience. Once again thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had just stayed in the Sofitel in Queenstown where we were treated to world class luxury not hitherto known to exist in NZ. The Novetel in Wellington served as a reminder that our Sofitel was a unique exception.

This Novetel affirms with my experience of other Novetels (Rotorua and Port Harcourt) and Mercure in Togo and Luxembourg – other hotels in the stable. Sterile and blah!
Our check in was curb side off the road. Nothing memorable – maybe the jelly beans at reception. The hotel felt soulless and utilitarian.

The room left a lot to be desired with some good aspects:
• Small room – not much space other than to sit or lie.
• Tiny bathroom with only enough space for our toothbrushes. a small bath/ shower and barely enough towels. Towels were well used and small.
• No bath plugs – had to call for one.
• No work space chair – could use the metal based chair.
• The desk was ok for lighting and plugs for portable devices etc.
• One small cupboard with few drawers. Not enough for my wife and I to unpack.
• The minibar was ok – I liked the top shelf being empty for our own drinks etc.
• The coffee and tea were good and nice selection. Small kettle.
• The plastic type shampoo and conditioner set up was tacky.
• Wi-Fi was a big problem. It was a paid for service and was so slow I could not use it for emails and any low level activity like checking in for the airline. I called the provider twice and they agreed that the router was problematic and that it could only be addressed with the IS supplier “in the morning”. My charge was reversed. Internet is as essential as a bed for a hotel. THEY GET A FAT ZERO FOR THEIR ABILITY TO RESPOND TO THIS PROBLEM!!!
• Good reading lights.
• Comfortable beds.

I am still holding on for reception to answer the phone........

We did try the breakfast buffet. Not memorable.

Room Tip: High floors on the right wing of the hotel (looking from the harbour) to get osme view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWellington, General Manager at Novotel Wellington, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Rob N,
Thank you for the feedback. It is disappointing to read that we were unable to provide a suitable solution to your internet connection issues and I can only apologise for the inconvenience this must have caused at the time. Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wellington

Property: Novotel Wellington
Address: 133 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wellington
#8 Business Hotel in Wellington
#9 Family Hotel in Wellington
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#13 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy contemporary style in the centre of the capital city at Novotel Wellington. An international 4.5-star plus hotel conveniently located in the heart of the city providing outstanding service for all guests to ensure their stay is an enjoyable and memorable experience. All 139 rooms contain modern comfortable décor, plush bedding, LCD TV, iPod/iPad docking station, connectivity panel, cabled and WiFi internet (charges apply). Hotel facilities include a gymnasium, Caucus Restaurant and Bar, an executive boardroom, and two Mac stations in the lobby for guests use. The hotel has direct lift access to Lambton Quay, Wellington's premier shopping precinct and is perfectly located for all business and holiday needs. It's just minutes away from the capital city's popular attractions including the Cable Car, Parliament, Te Papa and the waterfront. As well as offering easy access to transport, Novotel Wellington offers valet parking for guests and complimentary car parking for hybrid vehicles. Novotel Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington
Wellington Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing