We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Trek Global

Trek Global
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trek Global
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our Under 15 boys basketball team have just returned from Wellington. I would highly recommend groups staying at this hostel. Staff are exceptionally helpful. They do their very best to accommodate any requests you have. The environment is very friendly and safe. The location is perfect. Walking distance into town and a supermarket 2 mins up the road. Also carparking is available at a reasonable cost. There is lots of room for the kids to relax with a lounge and pool table etc. Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hi there, It was a pleasure to have your group stay with us at Trek! Hope to see you all again next year! Many thanks, Trek Global
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    80
    52
    33
    15
See reviews for
13
42
108
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed here only for one night due to the beds being so bad I had the worst night of my travels. We were lying on the metal struts right through the matresses, very uncomfortable. Our room was noisy as well making for a very bad night. Also the bathrooms were under equiped and dirty, but I saw those were being renovated.
The location of the place is good, right at the edge of the centre.

Being pricy (80 dollars for a double) and having such poor accomodation it is a very bad hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottnederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm pleased that you are happy with the response and outcome from my reply to your email. As mentioned we are reviewing the choice of beds when it comes time to replace them. Cheers, Trek Global
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Prestatyn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Great hostel, it's like a home from home, work all week & look forward to coming back each night & seeing everyone, it's such a laugh in this hostel, i would probably say the best hostel i have ever stayed in. Come the weekend everyone likes to party & enjoy themselves. Great city location, 5mins walk from Cuba street & all the great cafe & bars. 3 months later & i am still here. I never want to leave :-)
The hostel staff are so friendly & helpful. The place is always clean & its such a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micktheswitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I have stayed at most of the Hostels in Wellington, and Trek Global is by far my favorite. Unlike other hostels that are either Party hostels that want to funnel you to their on premises bar, or full of uptight backpackers that go to bed at the crack of dawn, Trek manages to balance the needs and wants of both sorts of travelers. People who want to party are confined to the downstairs areas, and those that need a night of rest can relax in the various upstairs wings. It's not perfect, but it's better then any other hostel I have come across in wellington. Beds are decent(Best I've sleep in Wellington, but that isn't a high bar), kitchens are in each wing and can become somewhat crowded as there is a rush of people in one wing and not another, and the bathrooms are currently undergoing renovations(Unfortunately for the worst it seems, although it is a design that seems to stay cleaner). There are a range of people that stay at Trek, including some long term folks, although these folks try and make an effort for everyone to feel at home, but everyone on the whole is friendly, and willing to meet new people. Staff is excellent, place is generally clean and if you need to chill, there are plenty of places to do that. In my opinion it's the best hostel in Wellington. As for ages it tends to skew under 30 due to most travellers being on Working Holiday Visas, although there are private rooms, and older folks have been know to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid Yellow wing, whilst it is the cheapest, the kitchen is Tiny, and the longterm party folks tend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

this place is like a home away from home with great reception service whop are more than happy to help with any annoying little questions i have.
i have stayed here for a allot of the time i have been in wellington and it feels like a family home with all the people there helping each other settle in.
It should be mentioned on weekends the place can get hectic but if your into enjoying your weekends with a good crowd i doubt theres a better place
i will be sad to leave here

Room Tip: reds not the best block yellow has a great atmosphere blue orange and purple are all similar but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I've been staying in Trek Global for 6 weeks and can't recommend it highly enough. The location is great, everything is right on your doorstep & the people are fantastic. Working a 9-5 job, I was worried that it would be loud and noisy during the week but it's the perfect mix of chilled during the week and fun at the weekend.The added bonus of real bathrooms instead of cramped shower cubilcles, and kitchens in each block make it feel more like a sharehouse with friends than a hostel. I'll definitelty stay here again on future visits to Wellington

Room Tip: The yellow block is great value for money- quieter than the rooms downstairs but cheaper than the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for nearly 4 months and had nothing bad to say about it except for the bed being slightly uncomfortable and them losing and accidentally deleting out booking numerous times but its a backpackers so slip ups are to be expected, that's until the night the fire alarm went off when their was no fire! We had the staff security and owner in trying to turn it off but alas no joy in it so. So what can I say about this place? It's a great place with amazing people run by the most incompetent people in the world, so if you want a fun but stupid place to stay this is it!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eoingc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 51 in Wellington
573 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Setup on Dixon
The Setup on Dixon
#10 of 51 in Wellington
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trek Global? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trek Global

Property: Trek Global
Address: 9 O'Reily Avenue, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Trek Global 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trek Global is the fresh, fun, and friendly backpackers in central Wellington. Close to everything, we've got all your backpacking needs covered as well as some great extras and freebies to tantalise your time in the Capital! Join in on the free in-house activities which take place once or twice a week or chillax and make yourself at home with our range of facilities on offer, outside BBQ area, exclusive girls only floor, games and pool table, Global Gossip WIFI access in all the rooms (extra charges apply), parking facilities (extra charges apply) or why not hire one of our top range bikes. Our Trek reception team are on hand to give you the entire lowdown on local knowledge around the city. We can book your Wellington activities as well as help plan the rest of your journey around New Zealand. With rooms and packages to suit all budget types from a basic bed in a 6 dorm, to twin & double rooms, right through to a family sized suite with Sky TV and some comfy beanbags! So whether you're flying solo or backpacking with friends, we guarantee no matter what you're looking for in a backpackers you'll find it at Trek Global! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trek Global reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing