We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tidy and nice staff in backpackers”
Review of Trek Global

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trek Global
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This backpackers is very nice place ive ever stayed. It has a value of money, and receptionists are very kind and friendly. It is located in heart of Wellington city, thats why it is very comfortable to go to stores and other places.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank billipark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hello, thank you very much for your review, the team are very pleased to hear your comments. Please do come and stay again if you're travelling through Wellington. Thanks again, Trek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

The location is very good and the kitchen and bathrooms are clean. Unfortunately our room had a window facing the smoking room. So it was constantly busy in front of the window, people had perfect view on the beds: there was no privacy at all in this room. The matterasses were old and you felt every piece of metal. If you managed to fall asleep in those beds the friendly staff would wake you up at 8am vacuuming and talking and laughing in the smoking area. (The window did not close properly so you had to hear everything...)
Also if you have a car you face the huge problem of parking: they offered me a parking spot on the second day from noon on for 20$ until 9am the next day. This means I would have to pay for another parking spot until noon, which was just senseless and I refused this nicely offered rip-off

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knute88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Hi there, thank you for your review.
The dorms located on the ground floor are the cheapest dorms available in the hostel, this is due to these rooms unfortunately being more susceptible to noise spill, apologies if this wasn't communicated to you when making the booking. Thank you for letting us know about the window, we will ensure this will get fixed. Kind regards, Trek Global Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Helpful friendly staff, the room was spacious but unfortunately next to the access and bathroom noisey door which also meant a lot of foot traffic. The good thing is we were so tired and slept through it all. There was a hot water jug and tea and coffee, also towels and complementary soap and hair conditioner - nice touches - have not received this in any other backpackers we have stay in. The pillows were thin and the sheets I wondered if they had been changed - used sleeping bags instead. There was a separate swipe card bathroom for women which was cleaner than the others - lucky women. For the bargain price paid one cannot be too fussed plus it was so central and in walking distance to a lot of attractions and events. We would stay again if wanting to save money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezra41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. The bed linen gets changed after every departure and I'm disappointed to hear that you thought this might not be the case. In future we would encourage you to let reception know so they can investigate asap. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in New Zealand and hope you come back and stay in you're travelling back through Wellington! Kind regards, the Trek Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were booked and paid for two nights but left after just one night! Our room was right beside the kitchen and we were woken at 2.30am to the sound of noisy guests cooking up a feed. What backpackers would put a bedroom right beside the kitchen!? The bed itself was a extremely flimsy and rickety bunk bed that felt like it would tip over when the person on top moved. If you can afford it spend a few extra dollars and stay somewhere decent.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for your review.
As mentioned in our email correspondence earlier this week we urge guests who are not satisfied with there stay to talk to reception at the time about your concerns, our staff would have done there best to make sure the rest of your stay was a positive one. You stated that you didn't voice your concerns as you 'didn't want to make a fuss' we would have welcomed the opportunity to change your experience of staying at Trek.
In our email correspondence you also corrected your statement that the late night guests were not 'cooking up a feed' and they had in fact just come back into the hostel after a night out, we would love to be able to have volume control for guests coming back into the hostel late but unfortunately we have not yet discovered this technology, so currently the in house security guard is doing his best to tackle this when guests are arriving back from town, we do apologise that he may have missed these guests. All kitchen appliances are automatically deactivated at 11pm each night so cooking after this time is impossible, this policy is in place to keep disturbances in the communal areas to a minimum.
Thank you for accepting the refund we offered and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Kind regards, Trek Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hostel was clean and tidy. Other guests were considerate and late night noise was minimal. The kitchen was well equiped and kept in reasonable order although a bit busy at times. The location was very good, particularly for exploring Wellington on foot. Close to museums, shopping, waterfront, parliment buildings etc. The staff were very helpful and the hostel seemed very well organised. I would gladly stay here again. The only negative element was difficulty shutting out the light right out side the window. There were blinds but these were ineffective and it was never properly dark in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi there, thank you for your review, it's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We are upgrading the blinds in the rooms gradually so hopefully during your next stay the blind will be new and improved! Thanks again, Trek Global Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Trek. For Wellington it's really affordable and provides a lot for the price. It's a good location, within about ten minutes walk of all the main city attractions. They offer free tea and coffee, and the kitchen has an oven which is always a plus. In fact, each floor has its own kitchen which is another nice feature.


I stayed in both a semi-private room (double bed with single bunk above) and dorm room and had no complaints about either. The whole place was really clean. The communal areas were also nice, especially the "chill zone" which had a cool and comfortable setup. And major plus is being able to have your own alcohol! It did, however, feel like more of a long-termer hostel which can be a downside if you're only staying a couple nights. Overall though, I would recommend Trek.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Trek! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around New Zealand and will come back and stay when you're next in Wellington. Thanks again, Trek Global Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great location in city centre. Modern well maintained venue designed for the younger travellers. We went as a group of 4 to a shared room that had 2 double bunks. Room was very clean and staff were welcoming and informative.

Room Tip: Great for a young at heart who likes the younger generation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezza111962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi there,
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Trek and we hope you will come back again if you're travelling through Wellington! Many thanks, Trek Global team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
694 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#1 of 54 in Wellington
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#3 of 54 in Wellington
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#15 of 54 in Wellington
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Setup on Dixon
The Setup on Dixon
#19 of 54 in Wellington
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trek Global? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trek Global

Address: 9 O'Reily Avenue, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: £16 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trek Global 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trek Global is the friendly, fun backpackers in the heart of Wellington. Whether you’re en route to an adrenaline driven destination or fancy a few days to explore the culture capital of NZ come and stay with us at Trek and we will make it your home for the night or week! Whether you are flying solo or travelling with friends our aim at Trek Global is to provide you with a memorable Wellington experience whilst giving you a homely and friendly base to explore from. Join in our in FREE in-house activities, take advantage of our extensive facilities or hire a bike and see what the capital has to offer. Our knowledgeable, friendly staff will offer you the best possible service and advice, and we are happy to organise your travel bookings and activities in and around Wellington as well as helping you on your way around New Zealand so contact us today! FREE highspeed unlimited WiFi in all areas of the property!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Trek Global reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing