We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic and decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trek Global

Trek Global
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trek Global
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic and decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March. Wellington is windy and cold but the rooms are bright and clean and have a decent duvet out keep you warm. When we checked into our room it hadn't been cleaned yet and was still gross from the last guests, we went down and told them and they sorted it out immediately and apologised.
We stayed in the purple zone on the top floor which is quite a climb, but luckily there's a lift. The rooms have tea and coffee making facilities which is a nice touch as you rarely see that in hostels. They use Global Gossip Wifi which I don't like as it's pricey.

The kitchen is good and the toilets are ok but kind of far from our room and there were queues in the morning to use them. The showers were good and hot and strong.
The location is the best thing, right in the centre with access to everything, and reception will give you a map and advice of what to see.
I got the impression that some people had been living there a long time.
Overall pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hello, Thanks for your review, hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday! Kind regards, Trek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    78
    51
    32
    15
See reviews for
13
41
103
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I was impressed with the standard of cleanliness. I stayed in a four-bed dorm which was rather crowded, but fine for the price. More clothes hooks would be helpful. I slept well despite the thin pillow. I could not find anywhere to store valuables securely but my stay was just one night so this was not an issue. I appreciated the free tea. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandron60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hello, thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back again! Many thanks, Trek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

A lot of the highly-rated hostels in Wellington were booked out, and we just booked Trek Global as we were getting a little desperate for a place to stay - we were there for four nights. The facilities are fine, but extremely crowded - the communal area/kitchen for our wing was full of people from 8 am to 11 pm (or later), who were often very noisy and "took over" the space - this isn't the hostel's fault (they obviously can't control who books into the hostel!) but it might be a good idea to send around hostel staff at 11 pm each night (when the communal areas are supposed to "close") to ensure the place is quiet - our area often had parties going (including beer pong...) late into the night, which made sleep difficult, and also made it tough to eg cook dinner or get a glass of water at night. Our room was a bit grim (not much natural light) but fine. The bathrooms were clean enough. The kitchen had no communal supplies (eg oil, salt, pepper) which is a little unusual but not a big deal. The location was good - 20 minute walk from train/bus/ferry station, five minute walk from supermarket. So overall an OK hostel, but our experience was tainted a little by the loud kids partying each night near our room (or perhaps we are just getting too old and grumpy for hostel life??).

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room, and if when you check in it looks like there are lots of people in the commu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your review, I'm disappointed to hear that the 11pm curfew was not enforced during your stay as this is usual practice, I will be following up with the onsite security guard and night manager in regards to your feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in New Zealand, kind regards Trek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This backpackers is very nice place ive ever stayed. It has a value of money, and receptionists are very kind and friendly. It is located in heart of Wellington city, thats why it is very comfortable to go to stores and other places.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank billipark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hello, thank you very much for your review, the team are very pleased to hear your comments. Please do come and stay again if you're travelling through Wellington. Thanks again, Trek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The location is very good and the kitchen and bathrooms are clean. Unfortunately our room had a window facing the smoking room. So it was constantly busy in front of the window, people had perfect view on the beds: there was no privacy at all in this room. The matterasses were old and you felt every piece of metal. If you managed to fall asleep in those beds the friendly staff would wake you up at 8am vacuuming and talking and laughing in the smoking area. (The window did not close properly so you had to hear everything...)
Also if you have a car you face the huge problem of parking: they offered me a parking spot on the second day from noon on for 20$ until 9am the next day. This means I would have to pay for another parking spot until noon, which was just senseless and I refused this nicely offered rip-off

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knute88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi there, thank you for your review.
The dorms located on the ground floor are the cheapest dorms available in the hostel, this is due to these rooms unfortunately being more susceptible to noise spill, apologies if this wasn't communicated to you when making the booking. Thank you for letting us know about the window, we will ensure this will get fixed. Kind regards, Trek Global Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Helpful friendly staff, the room was spacious but unfortunately next to the access and bathroom noisey door which also meant a lot of foot traffic. The good thing is we were so tired and slept through it all. There was a hot water jug and tea and coffee, also towels and complementary soap and hair conditioner - nice touches - have not received this in any other backpackers we have stay in. The pillows were thin and the sheets I wondered if they had been changed - used sleeping bags instead. There was a separate swipe card bathroom for women which was cleaner than the others - lucky women. For the bargain price paid one cannot be too fussed plus it was so central and in walking distance to a lot of attractions and events. We would stay again if wanting to save money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezra41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. The bed linen gets changed after every departure and I'm disappointed to hear that you thought this might not be the case. In future we would encourage you to let reception know so they can investigate asap. We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in New Zealand and hope you come back and stay in you're travelling back through Wellington! Kind regards, the Trek Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We were booked and paid for two nights but left after just one night! Our room was right beside the kitchen and we were woken at 2.30am to the sound of noisy guests cooking up a feed. What backpackers would put a bedroom right beside the kitchen!? The bed itself was a extremely flimsy and rickety bunk bed that felt like it would tip over when the person on top moved. If you can afford it spend a few extra dollars and stay somewhere decent.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrekGlobal, Manager at Trek Global, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for your review.
As mentioned in our email correspondence earlier this week we urge guests who are not satisfied with there stay to talk to reception at the time about your concerns, our staff would have done there best to make sure the rest of your stay was a positive one. You stated that you didn't voice your concerns as you 'didn't want to make a fuss' we would have welcomed the opportunity to change your experience of staying at Trek.
In our email correspondence you also corrected your statement that the late night guests were not 'cooking up a feed' and they had in fact just come back into the hostel after a night out, we would love to be able to have volume control for guests coming back into the hostel late but unfortunately we have not yet discovered this technology, so currently the in house security guard is doing his best to tackle this when guests are arriving back from town, we do apologise that he may have missed these guests. All kitchen appliances are automatically deactivated at 11pm each night so cooking after this time is impossible, this policy is in place to keep disturbances in the communal areas to a minimum.
Thank you for accepting the refund we offered and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Kind regards, Trek Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.6 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 47 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trek Global? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trek Global

Property: Trek Global
Address: 9 O'Reily Avenue, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Trek Global 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trek Global is the fresh, fun, and friendly backpackers in central Wellington. Close to everything, we've got all your backpacking needs covered as well as some great extras and freebies to tantalise your time in the Capital! Join in on the free in-house activities which take place once or twice a week or chillax and make yourself at home with our range of facilities on offer, outside BBQ area, exclusive girls only floor, games and pool table, Global Gossip WIFI access in all the rooms (extra charges apply), parking facilities (extra charges apply) or why not hire one of our top range bikes. Our Trek reception team are on hand to give you the entire lowdown on local knowledge around the city. We can book your Wellington activities as well as help plan the rest of your journey around New Zealand. With rooms and packages to suit all budget types from a basic bed in a 6 dorm, to twin & double rooms, right through to a family sized suite with Sky TV and some comfy beanbags! So whether you're flying solo or backpacking with friends, we guarantee no matter what you're looking for in a backpackers you'll find it at Trek Global! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trek Global reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing