We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as previous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not as good as previous”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed at Downtown again for Homegrown concert weekend which we go to every year, We booked their "deluxe" room with double and single bed, Sky TV and ensuite bathroom for three nights

Location is excellent, room was clean and comfy and all that but the reception on the tv was beyond rubbish and there was no Sky Movies channel as advertised and charged extra for. Dispite ringing the reception about the problem three seperate times nothing was ever done to rectifiy the situation. By our last night the reception had deteriorated so badly it was totally unwatchable.

Not really a major but was certainly annoying and due to the problem never being addressed would therefore look elsewhere for accom next time Im in Welly

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    158
    124
    50
    17
See reviews for
36
111
141
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed in a private room Dec'11 the room was great, big bed, plenty of amenities and a big TV. The location is fine, on the doorstep of the station and ferry shuttle bus and the shuttle form the airport stops about 100m away.

Like most hostels in NZ it's a little overpriced (if it's deemed an extra, they'll charge like a wounded rhino for it) but it has a large well equiped kitchen area and the fact it's a grand old hotel gives it a sense of grandeur and sophistication that most other backpackers can only dream about (if you can look past the miriad of tacky tour leaflets in the foyer and jaded Lord of the Rings posters in the stairwells).

McDonalds is just seconds away from the door to cater for all those egg and bacon mcmuffin breakfast needs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Downtown Backpackers is close to train and ferry terminals (except airport), convenient and well priced for short stay. I booked a room with an ensuit bathroom at a reasonable price. I got a comfortable room with no view but it was quite and I got a good nights sleep. The one-person at-a-time bathroom was complete with toilet, hand basin and shower over bath. The shower water temperature was a little tricky to adjust so do so before you get into the shower. The bathroom was clean as was the supplied linen. The room was larger than I expected. I would use the Downtown Backpackers again for late night stop over.

Room Tip: Book well ahead and ask for room away from busy streets. They have a great value choice of two brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnW_Palmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Downtown Backpackers was great for a quick overnight on our way from Wellington to Auckland via the train. DB is located across the street from the rail station and a quick walk from the waterfront, Te Papa Museum and other Wellington sights. Clean rooms, comfy beds, nicer linens than most! Helpful staff and the location make DB perfect for a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toyokawa, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed for one night just as a stopover. I arrived in Wellington by train late at night, and was leaving for Picton early in the morning the following day. In a situation like this, Downtown Backpackers would be perfectly suitable. It's right across the street from the railway station and the reception is open 24hr. But, if I'm going to stay in Wellington for a few days and have a look around, I would stay somewhere else. Downtown Backpackers doesn't have any features except its location. You may also have trouble sleeping as it can be quite noisy with all the traffic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elysiriarelsila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Staff had little interest in helping guests. Hostel has potential but is let down by dated decor and lousy staff. Seems to be a lot of bad comments about the staff, and I too had a smiliar experience, so I do hope management reads these comments and hires new people, or does some serious retraining. A few new bedspreads, and a lick of paint wouldn't hurt either.

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I've had innumerable trips to Wellington and stayed in some very nice hotels, but paid twice the amount of money, so when it comes to doing a road~trip holiday cheap and cheerfully, including self~catering, it's a different scenario one needs to look for.

This is handy to busses, trains and, of course, the inter~islander ferries. Parking is nearby, but not free. (I just had to remember to wander off there to renew the tickets). We did use a space outside for unloading and loading the car, and that worked OK for us.

It has a huge kitchen, which was not as clean as it could be (bit smelly actually) but it looks like they're working on that. The other draw~back was that there was no freezer space at all, but the main kitchen kindly refroze our ice~bags for us.

We had a two single~room~share bathroom set~up. Sadly there is no bath plug for said bath though. But the shower was OK.

Others have complained that this is dated... well yes, it's a heritage hotel, and it's character lies in the fact it hasn't been converted into a soulless sterile environment, and that comes with it's own problems, of ages old stains and a bit of rust here and there. I saw nothing abjectly dirty (and trust me, I'd have let you know if I did!!).

I've stayed here before and dined in the dining area, so can comment that it was a good experience then (and assume it still is now). This time we used the bar and even had a bit meet up with Wellington acquaintances, which was a lot of fun.

Could have been quieter. Construction work nearby started very early. (Before 7.00am) Young people yahooing around (this was a school trip I believe) really early, and older young people yahooing around really late (no, not my friends!!). But that's not going to be the experience of everyone, and *this is* a major central city establishment.

I'd love for there to be a name~change though, back to The Waterloo. Refurbished, this could provide luxurious accommodation in it's lovely art deco way, as a more boutique establishment.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#4 of 53 in Wellington
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Property: Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Address: 1 Bunny St | PO Box 3071, Wellington, New Zealand (Formerly Downtown Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing