We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located, majestic old era.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Centrally located, majestic old era.”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Getting here was very convenient using the shuttle. Location is definitely central & there a McDonald's 15m beside it. I stayed here for a night in the singles room. The room is clean & comes with a table & TV overhead. Toilet/bathroom is beside my room (in middle of 2 rooms) & shared with the room next door. The atmosphere in this hostel is 'classical'. However maintenance & repair need to be carried out. The upper floor where the ironing/laundry room is located squeaks a lot. An antique look is good but it needs to be maintained well. Cleanliness/maintenance in room is good but around the hostel more work need to be done. I see a lot of potential in this hostel but the management has to pour in more money to keep it tip top.

Room Tip: My room faced the wall of another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlzev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    155
    123
    49
    16
See reviews for
36
110
136
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed at Downtown again for Homegrown concert weekend which we go to every year, We booked their "deluxe" room with double and single bed, Sky TV and ensuite bathroom for three nights

Location is excellent, room was clean and comfy and all that but the reception on the tv was beyond rubbish and there was no Sky Movies channel as advertised and charged extra for. Dispite ringing the reception about the problem three seperate times nothing was ever done to rectifiy the situation. By our last night the reception had deteriorated so badly it was totally unwatchable.

Not really a major but was certainly annoying and due to the problem never being addressed would therefore look elsewhere for accom next time Im in Welly

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed in a private room Dec'11 the room was great, big bed, plenty of amenities and a big TV. The location is fine, on the doorstep of the station and ferry shuttle bus and the shuttle form the airport stops about 100m away.

Like most hostels in NZ it's a little overpriced (if it's deemed an extra, they'll charge like a wounded rhino for it) but it has a large well equiped kitchen area and the fact it's a grand old hotel gives it a sense of grandeur and sophistication that most other backpackers can only dream about (if you can look past the miriad of tacky tour leaflets in the foyer and jaded Lord of the Rings posters in the stairwells).

McDonalds is just seconds away from the door to cater for all those egg and bacon mcmuffin breakfast needs.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Downtown Backpackers is close to train and ferry terminals (except airport), convenient and well priced for short stay. I booked a room with an ensuit bathroom at a reasonable price. I got a comfortable room with no view but it was quite and I got a good nights sleep. The one-person at-a-time bathroom was complete with toilet, hand basin and shower over bath. The shower water temperature was a little tricky to adjust so do so before you get into the shower. The bathroom was clean as was the supplied linen. The room was larger than I expected. I would use the Downtown Backpackers again for late night stop over.

Room Tip: Book well ahead and ask for room away from busy streets. They have a great value choice of two brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnW_Palmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Downtown Backpackers was great for a quick overnight on our way from Wellington to Auckland via the train. DB is located across the street from the rail station and a quick walk from the waterfront, Te Papa Museum and other Wellington sights. Clean rooms, comfy beds, nicer linens than most! Helpful staff and the location make DB perfect for a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toyokawa, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I stayed for one night just as a stopover. I arrived in Wellington by train late at night, and was leaving for Picton early in the morning the following day. In a situation like this, Downtown Backpackers would be perfectly suitable. It's right across the street from the railway station and the reception is open 24hr. But, if I'm going to stay in Wellington for a few days and have a look around, I would stay somewhere else. Downtown Backpackers doesn't have any features except its location. You may also have trouble sleeping as it can be quite noisy with all the traffic.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elysiriarelsila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Staff had little interest in helping guests. Hostel has potential but is let down by dated decor and lousy staff. Seems to be a lot of bad comments about the staff, and I too had a smiliar experience, so I do hope management reads these comments and hires new people, or does some serious retraining. A few new bedspreads, and a lick of paint wouldn't hurt either.

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,784 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,475 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 47 in Wellington
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Property: Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Address: 1 Bunny St | PO Box 3071, Wellington, New Zealand (Formerly Downtown Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing