We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Palmerston North
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Downtown and good value”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The superior room I booked as clean, warm and quite. The weather was far from accommodating but warm reception when I checked in certainly made Wellington a much friendlier place. I have stayed here before and the room had a refurbished ensuite bathroom, a reasonable TV and comfortable bed. The pre-purchased breakfast was a bargain as was the dinner I ordered in the first floor dining room. The railway station is nearby as is the commercial centre of Wellington. The closest supermarket is on Molesworth Street, about a 5-10 minute walk –up the hill from the railway station. There is a pharmacy nearby as well.

Room Tip: As for a quite room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnW_Palmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    160
    124
    50
    17
See reviews for
36
112
141
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is an old hotel. It was clean but definitely nothing fancy. Because of its great location you need reservations in the busy season. The Kiwi Rail was directly across the street and the bus system was a block away. There is a New World food store in the train station and a McDonalds around the corner. There are plenty of things to see in Wellington and it is a stopping off place to the South Island. The staff was friendly and helpful. Only one towel per person here. I didn't care for the food at their cafe. The kitchen for the backpackers was huge. Lots of cooking areas. And they have a large walk-in refrigerator to keep your foods cold. Overall, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the train station. I liked the corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2012

A real groovy place with rustic hints of the 60's kept clean until now. Perfect location. Walking distance to everything in downtown Wellington. A stones throw from the train station, government houses and Inland Rev (important for all you Working Holiday travellers). The bar was cheap as well and felt like a college rec room. Also, I noticed many of the cleaners were Cambodian! Respect and represent! Not to mince words this is a great place to stay in Wellington. Quite cheap.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeYoung360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed two nights in a single room, room not luxurious but quite adequate for a two night stay.
Dining room/ lounge area with very reasonable meals available from cafe good value.
location excellent for buses, trains and Ferry. Would happily stay here again if visiting Wellington again

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I think I would have liked this place a lot more 10 years ago. We stayed here because its just across the road from the Bluebridge ferry terminal so it was really useful but parking is a nightmare. The woman at the desk didn't seem to comprehend the fact that all three of the spaces outside were full.

The place is really big and just above a bar and cafe so probably good for young people who want to go out partying although it is a bit of a walk from the main going out areas. The room was fine, small and not the cleanest and the people opposite were quite noisy. Slept fine though and its pretty damn cheap!

I thought that it would be more arty as its got the beautiful art deco facade but once you're inside thats all a distant memory. Having said all that, I'm still struggling to find any accommodation that I love in Wellington!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleGems30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This large Back-Packer / Hostel is located on east edge of central Welli near the bus / train station. The room was clean and adequate. The kitchen / dining was also adequate. There is parking on the wharf (not free but close by). The Art Deco building is older than the YHA building but has more character. We stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Easy to find and get to from the ferry and train station, this large former hotel was well equipped for an easy stay. Close to the main sights. A large restaurant with reasonably priced food. Friendly and helpful reception and bar staff. The large bar was reasonably priced with pool tables and TV, and a Happy Hour.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nom001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,396 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#4 of 52 in Wellington
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Property: Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Address: 1 Bunny St | PO Box 3071, Wellington, New Zealand (Formerly Downtown Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing