We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time in beautiful Wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great time in beautiful Wellington”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I started in a dorm then realised I was disturbing everyone because had to get up early for work. Was happy and relaxed in my new room. Had an awesome time and the people at the reception were helpful and accommodating. :)

Especially liked the people working in the cafe. All made me feel welcome and looked after. Thanks people!

Room Tip: Better get a separate room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TabsRazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    157
    123
    49
    17
See reviews for
36
110
138
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights. We hadn't stayed at a backpackers before, so were a bit nervous - but it was really nice. The room was very small, but had a dresser and wardrobe so everything fitted. It is quite noisy, with doors shutting, the lift going, and a carpark next door that went 'clunk' every time a car went in - but we bought earplugs on the first day and had no trouble after that. We're a bit older, too, so the earplugs helped us cope with the busy kids who were staying, too :). I don't think the noise was anything out of the ordinary, though.
The bed was comfortable, everything was clean and smelled nice, and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We organized a school trip to Wellington and stayed at the Downtown Backpackers which is located very conveniently in the town center opposite the train station. All major activities are on walking distance. The children and staff were very pleased with the accommodation and the service and kindness of the DT Backpackers staff. The rooms were clean and well-presented and the meals tasty; overall a choice with very good value for money. The communication with Silvia went very efficient and smoothly and I certainly would recommend Downtown Backpackers Wellington to have a great stay!
Autograph Events by Anya

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Autograph_Events
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

After four separate stays at Downtown Backpackers I can definitely say that it is an ideal place to base yourself while visiting Wellington. Not only in practical terms of being close to railway station, buses and cable car, but because of the excellent staff and nice overall homely feel to the place. I've stayed in double rooms and also mixed dorms and will be returning to Hotel Waterloo for another stay this coming August. Only criticism - the dorm rooms need some good coat hooks around the walls, please. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Mixed dorms usually quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianpeterweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

OK the distance to the ferry is really far especially if you have an early am ferry to catch to the south island like i did. So this hostel was was perfect for two nights. I stayed here in Dec 2013. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There are public lockers to store luggage or backpacks just to the left before you get to the reception desk. OK the first night I stayed was in a 24+ bed mixed dorm and felt like military barracks. This building is quite old and musty smelling. It was strangely quiet but there was one German and one English staying in that massive room that night. The second night I switched to a 6 bed mixed share and that room was in pretty bad shape. Only 2 outlets for 6 people. I went out and bought a multiple strip plug-in so we could all share the power. It was an ensuite so the bathroom was attached but it was really nasty. The tiles were dirty. Door was dirty. The handle was dirty. Well you get the picture. DIRTY. We had a small window. The other roommates were from Denmark, Sweden, Finland, and Norway. Anyway it was good for the price. If you are hungry there is a Mcdonald's next door or you can go to Waterloo's bar and grille on that corner and be prepared to get blasted by that wind. :) If you need to catch one of the south island ferries you can go across the street to Wellington station. Tell them which one you need and they will direct you to the right bus. It's a walk so I would recommend taking the ferry bus. You can pay at the bus waiting area ticket machine. I believe it's less than $6 NZD one way. Trust me you don't want to walk. I think this place is ok for the price and somewhat the location but that's about it. Cheers! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aislesacross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

good location that near various attractions such as museums, queen wharf and cable car. The facilities of room is enough for personal needs. The shared bathroom with another single room is sound good as well cos it provides adequate privacy for people living in a single room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kw0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It was an ok stay in a 6 person dorm...brought me back to being a boarder lol...The reception staff were friendly & helpful...the lift worked & the bar was also pleasant! I would stay there again...but felt it lacked 'atmosphere' & could be a lonely place, maybe that's because of the size of the building, which was obviously a large old hotel...I also thought that the 'cafe' was expensive in comparison to what i've seen...but then Wellington is the Captial..!!! The location was fine for walking around the City, the rail station & for Islander ferry departures.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.0 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.9 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 51 in Wellington
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Property: Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Address: 1 Bunny St | PO Box 3071, Wellington, New Zealand (Formerly Downtown Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing