We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing space in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Wellington
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing space in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Value for money, this is a massive modern hotel just minutes from the museum in heart of Wellington. Rental car parking is $ 30 a night. Good family room with two queen beds and reasonable space. Courteous staff. Gave us complementary Wifi for 24 hrs.

Room Tip: Book through Wotif to suite your requirement
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drajoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear drajoshi,
It was a pleasure to read your comments and I hope that your stay with us contributed to a successful and enjoyable trip to New Zealand.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    514
    172
    43
    37
See reviews for
109
520
63
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed here on business. Lovely room and excellent service. Only grumble was the wifi kept dropping out and was pretty much useless. But they did take the cost off my bill. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear gf6,
Great to hear that you had a pleasant stay (my apologies for the problems you experienced with wifi; I will have a look into this). Have a Happy Christmas and I hope that you can visit us again at the Amora Hotel, in the New Year.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Had a fabulous room, breakfast buffet is AMAZING. Had 3 servings at 10am and didn't have to eat again until 4pm, so was well worth it. Everyone was so nice and accommodating to every ask I had. Plus, perfect location. Was just wonderful apart from only being able to watch a movie once when purchased at $15, fell asleep halfway through and would have had to buy again if wanted to watch the rest and could feel where the two beds had been pushed together which made sleeping a little iffy and no knives or forks in the room? Also wished there was a pool and spa hah.

Room Tip: Request habour views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Sylvia M,
It was a pleasure to read of your enjoyable breakfast experience here at the Amora Hotel, and am glad that you made full use of it! I appreciate your feedback and have noted your comments, and I do hope you can stay with us again in the future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

My parents and I stayed in a 2 x queen bed room for two nights, while I was graduating from Victoria University of Wellington. The hotel is in a phenomenal location - just one block away from the bustling Courtney Place, diagonally across from Te Papa Tongarewa - The Museum of New Zealand, very near the Michael Fowler Centre, and just a short walk from Cuba Street, Lambton Quay and the heart of the business district. The room was comfortable, and having both a bath and shower in the bathroom was great. It would have been good to have had a couple of side plates, and one knife provided, on top of the tea/coffee making facilities. So what were the shortcomings? The buffet breakfast is expensive, as is the room service breakfast for what you get (a small bowl of cereal, yoghurt, one croissant and coffee is not worth $15). The second thing was that we requested a taxi to get my parents to the station and then me on to the Interislander terminal. The taxi was not there at 7.00am when we requested it. The concierge team said that they would chase it up, but there was still no taxi 20 minutes later, and we were getting tight on time. Once the taxi finally turned up, the driver told us that he had been given the wrong pick-up details by the hotel, and so had been waiting at another hotel since 7.00am. The attitude from one of the concierge staff was less than I would have liked - the first time my mother talked to him, he did little. It was only when the concierge in the top hat took control, that the taxi turned up.

Room Tip: Two tips for those trying to save money - 1) parking is free in the street parks in front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear Adrian J,
Thank you for providing a review of your stay. I have taken on board your comments and in particular the difficulty you experienced when booking a taxi and I will investigate this issue with the appropriate Department Manager; however if you would like to discuss this matter with me further please don't hesitate to call me on (04) 473 3900. Thanks again for your feedback and congratulations on graduating!
Regards,
Liam Craughwell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Great hotel to stay in for our family visit to Wellington.
Great, easy location to attractions and transport. Great rooms, very clean/tidy with good coffee/tea facilities and large bathroom facilities.
Wonderful, extensive breakfast that our girls loved.
Only very slight negative, was that no kids channels were screened on sky through the hotel rooms. Even one (eg Disney) would have been great to have - but that was only a minor detail.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4tuataras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Dear 4tuataras,
It was great to read that you had a pleasant stay here recently with your family, and that you enjoyed our fantastic location, breakfast and room. I have noted your comment in relation to providing a kids chanel on Sky tv and will take this into consideration. I do hope you and your family will get the opportunity to make a return visit in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

Love the Amora! Excellent service, valet parking is great and pretty reasonable rates for downtown wellington, they even let me leave it there until 4.00 on the day I checked out without charging me. My favourite purple chair and footstool overlooking the harbour. Only little gripe is the shower water flow is not great and the fittings could do with an update. But overall a great experience.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Heather L,
It was a pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and I hope you can make a return visit at some stage soon. I have noted your comment about the waterflow from the shower and will address this issue with our Maintenance Team; thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do appreciate all feedback which helps us make improvements where needed, and I thank you for taking the time to write down your comments.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Wellington is a lovely place, and the Amora Hotel is a great place to explore it. The location is perfect: right in the centre, facing the sea. The harbour and the famous Te Papa Museum are just minutes away. My room on the 9th floor was spotless, spacious and had a lovely view. But what made the place really special was the cheerful, very helpful attitude of the staff. I really would love to go back to Wellington, and I wouldn't hesitate a second about staying at the Amora.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Talkabout,
Thank you for a wonderful review of our hotel and our fabulous city. It is great to see such positive reviews of our staff and levels of service coming through as we have been working hard in this area. I really appreciate your comments, and hope you are able to make a return trip to Wellington in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,536 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
1,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Property: Amora Hotel Wellington
Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel redefines superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the capital city. Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel's rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms and Club Suites, featuring all the luxuries you would expect from a leading international hotel. Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in-room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing