We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old favourite that is just slipping a bit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amora Hotel Wellington
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
184 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“An old favourite that is just slipping a bit.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After a number of stays at the Amora in the past, I must still say it is an excellent place to stay. However, this time we had just a couple of complaints about our stay. The air-con in our first room was noisy, so we asked to be moved after we were told that it could not be fixed. Which was all very well, but the air-con in the second room was actually worse than the first room. My partner accurately described it as sounding "like a truck starting up". The breakfast which has been good in the past was not up to scratch. The "hot" food was lukewarm at best, and some of it actually closer to cold.

Still excellent location, very good service, and nice clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear CR111,
I appreciate your feedback and have addressed the issues you have raised in relation to your last stay with my team. I do apologise that this was your experience on this occasion. It is always good to get constructive feedback from our regular guests as this is one of the channels that we use to make improvements where they are needed. It was good to read that you continue to enjoy the service of our staff, and the location and cleanliness of the hotel, and I do hope that you will continue to choose the Amora on many more occasions in the future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    515
    173
    43
    38
See reviews for
110
528
63
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Excellent reception - Haley was superb on the front desk and looked after us so well. The suite was fabulous! The bathroom was superb, and tv channels were great. Bar prices were very reasonable, and the location was perfect. Can't wait to stay. Here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexielou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Lexielou2013,
It was such a pleasure to read your review and I do appreciate you taking the time to write down your comments. I will ensure that Hayley is acknowledged in our Employee Recognition Program; this will be great encouragement for her and the rest of the team here at the Amora. Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I am here for a long stay (~2 weeks) while on a business trip in wellington. The staff are friendly and courteous. The check in was very efficiently done. The rooms are spacious, clean and tastefully done .....

However, the room that i was checked into had a lot of noise coming from the wall behind the bed (loud thuds, probably some plumbing lines) & the aircon was really noisy... Pointed this out to the hotel staff... Problem fixed the next day.... a week later, same problem.... Ended up spending 2-3 sleepless nights during my stay.... The hotel staff finally moved me to a new room when i complained the 2nd time....

Having said that, my overall experience at the hotel was good and i will stay here again in m next trip to wellington....

Room Tip: Harbor view from 5th floor and upwards is really good !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sood_varun85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear sood_varun85,
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and the service of our staff, and that your check-in was efficient. I will address the issue of the noise that you experienced with our Rooms Division Manager; please don't hesitate to contact me on +64 4 473 3900 if you would like to discuss this further. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Wellington.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here just one night when attending a function in Wellington. Nice and central - lovely room - liked the decor - clean and wine and chocolates a nice touch.And even though there was a school ball being held on the night we were there (same floor) we had no problems with noise at all. Check in was a bit slow but otherwise would definitly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czzzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear CZZZK,
I very much appreciate your encouraging comments and I hope you get the opportunity to visit us here at the Amora again soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Visiting Wellington for WOW and found hotel very convenient for the TSB Arena. Satff were very helpfull at checkin and checkout. very efficient. Bar service in the evening was very good. Also very convenient to visit the Ta Papa Museum which could be seen from the bedroom window.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear TKM981,
Thank you for a wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Amora Hotel Wellington and our beautiful city.
I do hope we can welcome you back to Amora Hotel Wellington in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Amora Hotel a few times over the years when I have found myself in Wellington and have never been disappointed. It is clean, well appointed, handy to everything in the central city and waterfront and staff are friendly and professional. Great spot and recommend it

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Paul L,

Thank you for taking the time to review Amora Hotel Wellington. It was great to read that you enjoy your stays here with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel and it's friendly efficient staff are a great option for a business trip to central Wellington. Close to Te Papa and the waterfront this is very centrally placed. The view from 7 th floor waterfront side is fantastic.rooms are spacious and clean.

Room Tip: Waterfront is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyWestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear SandyWestcoast ,

Thank you for a wonderful review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and also able to enjoy our stunning views.
I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Property: Amora Hotel Wellington
Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel redefines superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the capital city. Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel's rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms and Club Suites, featuring all the luxuries you would expect from a leading international hotel. Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in-room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing