We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few days whilst visiting Wellington, my room on the fourth floor enjoyed a wonderful view to the harbour. The room was nice and spacious with a kingsize bed, desk overlooking the window, tv with pay per view movies (if desired) and the bathroom with a separate bath and shower. The central location of the Amora places you a short walk to Te Papa, i-Site, shopping and restaurants.

Parking appears to be limited if you plan to park a car, but in my case I parked overnight at Te Papa which offers 24hr parking for $28. The Amora kindly provides a convenient parking map with parking options nearby with addresses for your gps.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BryGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear BryGL,
It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Amora Wellington. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review, highlighting the spaciousness of our guest rooms and our ideal location in the heart of the tourism district of Wellington. I do hope you get the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    514
    172
    43
    37
See reviews for
109
522
63
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The location is perfect...right around the corner from Cuba Street and Te Papa and Circe and all kinds of wonderful Wellington Restaurants and sights. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room spotlessly clean and very comfortable. This is a fine place to stay in Wellington.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redshino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Redshino,
I was delighted to read your comments in relation to the service you received from our staff, the cleanliness of your room and the superb location we enjoy here at the Amora Wellington. Thanks for providing a wonderful review; it is very much appreciated!
Regards,
Liam Craughwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our experience at this hotel was near perfect. We loved the view and I only wish I had more time to gaze and enjoy the Harbour. The room seemed light and airy and spacious matched by a modern decor. Each morning we excitedly feasted on the breakfast buffet and enjoyed a perusal of the complimentary newspaper. The only slight downside was the off hand service at arrival and the staff in general. However, everything else was perfect including the location and I have booked to return in a few weeks.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor and the view was spectacular of the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear SANDRA V,
Thank you for your very encouraging review. I have taken on board your comments and will address the issue of the service you received from our staff with my team, as this is not the standard that we strive for here at the Amora. However, I am delighted that you enjoyed your room, the view, and the buffet breakfast, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

After a number of stays at the Amora in the past, I must still say it is an excellent place to stay. However, this time we had just a couple of complaints about our stay. The air-con in our first room was noisy, so we asked to be moved after we were told that it could not be fixed. Which was all very well, but the air-con in the second room was actually worse than the first room. My partner accurately described it as sounding "like a truck starting up". The breakfast which has been good in the past was not up to scratch. The "hot" food was lukewarm at best, and some of it actually closer to cold.

Still excellent location, very good service, and nice clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear CR111,
I appreciate your feedback and have addressed the issues you have raised in relation to your last stay with my team. I do apologise that this was your experience on this occasion. It is always good to get constructive feedback from our regular guests as this is one of the channels that we use to make improvements where they are needed. It was good to read that you continue to enjoy the service of our staff, and the location and cleanliness of the hotel, and I do hope that you will continue to choose the Amora on many more occasions in the future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Excellent reception - Haley was superb on the front desk and looked after us so well. The suite was fabulous! The bathroom was superb, and tv channels were great. Bar prices were very reasonable, and the location was perfect. Can't wait to stay. Here again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexielou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Lexielou2013,
It was such a pleasure to read your review and I do appreciate you taking the time to write down your comments. I will ensure that Hayley is acknowledged in our Employee Recognition Program; this will be great encouragement for her and the rest of the team here at the Amora. Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I am here for a long stay (~2 weeks) while on a business trip in wellington. The staff are friendly and courteous. The check in was very efficiently done. The rooms are spacious, clean and tastefully done .....

However, the room that i was checked into had a lot of noise coming from the wall behind the bed (loud thuds, probably some plumbing lines) & the aircon was really noisy... Pointed this out to the hotel staff... Problem fixed the next day.... a week later, same problem.... Ended up spending 2-3 sleepless nights during my stay.... The hotel staff finally moved me to a new room when i complained the 2nd time....

Having said that, my overall experience at the hotel was good and i will stay here again in m next trip to wellington....

Room Tip: Harbor view from 5th floor and upwards is really good !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sood_varun85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear sood_varun85,
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and the service of our staff, and that your check-in was efficient. I will address the issue of the noise that you experienced with our Rooms Division Manager; please don't hesitate to contact me on +64 4 473 3900 if you would like to discuss this further. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Wellington.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here just one night when attending a function in Wellington. Nice and central - lovely room - liked the decor - clean and wine and chocolates a nice touch.And even though there was a school ball being held on the night we were there (same floor) we had no problems with noise at all. Check in was a bit slow but otherwise would definitly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czzzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear CZZZK,
I very much appreciate your encouraging comments and I hope you get the opportunity to visit us here at the Amora again soon.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Property: Amora Hotel Wellington
Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel redefines superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the capital city. Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel's rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms and Club Suites, featuring all the luxuries you would expect from a leading international hotel. Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in-room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing