We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, View & modern looking room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amora Hotel Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, View & modern looking room”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here for one night while in wellington. This hotel is pricey but it is in a great location, within walking distance to many sites around wellington and our room had a great view overlooking the bay. Our room was also very modern (must have been redone recently) and clean and the bed was very comfortable to sleep in. We also showed up a little earlier than check in time and they let us check in early since there was a room available which was helpful after a 4 hour drive. The only problem here is the parking situation. We had to pay $30 to valet park the cark and only got into a spot they had because we got there early. I believe the parking garage next to it is under construction. We also had free wifi but had to call the front desk to get the code. This should be standard in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Stephanie L,
I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback of your stay, and was pleased to read that you enjoyed the superb location and views we enjoy here at the Amora, your room, and it's cleanliness. I have taken on board your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Wellington.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    515
    173
    43
    38
See reviews for
110
528
63
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This 5-star hotel is perfect for couples to spend some quality time in Wellington.

Having said that, if you are on a tight budget, you can find better value for money elsewhere else in Wellington.

It is located close to Te Papa and the waterfront and it affords great views over the harbour (if you are on the 7th floor or above!)

While the room somewhat lacks in character, it is clean and spacious.

The King Size bed is very comfortable.

The bathroom is spotless and has a bathtub. I would have liked to have a spa bath though.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acarb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear acarb83,
Thank you for providing a review of your stay; we do always welcome and encourage guest feedback and I appreciate your comments. I hope you get the opportunity to make a return visit to the Amora in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

2 nights spent there - very nice accommodation after all
At the beginning we had some discussion at the reception - we arrived in the early morning after a whole night trip and we asked for a room just to sleep and have a shower. The initial reply was "NO, too early for checking in" but one of the 2 guys at the reception had a puzzled look as to say "why not if we have room available?".
We had some minutes discussing but at the end we made it and we got our harbour view room.
Accommodation was good, actually, room clean and with all amenities needed.
Location is fine, few minutes walking from Te Papa museum and from liveliest street of the city - so no complain at all.
The only big disadvantage, again, was the lack of free wifi connection that, for a 5 star hotel, is really a big Cons!
LAst but not least - we had a very windy nights (not unusual in Wellington) and it was so bad that all the furniture and in the rooms started really squeaking...it seems like windows were not strong enough to retain and prevent the wind from annoying guests sleep - not so professional for a supposed luxury hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear backpacker_f,
Thank you for providing feedback of your stay. I have taken note of your comments, and was pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and it's cleanliness, the amenities provided and our convenient location. I do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

After our time in the South Island we were ready for a night in a really comfortable hotel. Because it was New Year’s, Wellington was pretty deserted, and the hotel likewise. But we were made so welcome, given a new room on the top floor when wifi did not work too well, delicious breakfast and a wonderful send off. The bed must rank among the comfiest ever. 10 and a half hours unbroken sleep. Bliss.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SxO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear SxO2013,
Thank you for your review from your stay earlier this month. I am pleased that you were well looked after during your stay here, however, I do apologise for the inconvienence caused by the wi-fi not functioning correctly.
I do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here on the 1st Jan for one night. We were on the 9th floor. The room had an awesome view over the Harbour. It was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. Club Lounge was great to relax in, however the breakfast was cold......maybe because it wasn't very busy and the food had been there for a while. All staff were helpful and the service was good. I would definately stay here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear PaulaNewZealand,
Thank you for your review and I was delighted to read you enjoyed the luxury that our Club Rooms and Club Lounge offers. I do apologise for the breakfast not being up to standard and I will enjoy that this is looked into further.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night only on this trip. It is a great hotel in a good location and very easy to get around. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The only negative is that our first room had an issue with the air conditioning so they gave us another room but I noticed in both rooms the bathrooms were not the cleanest, plus there was mould in the shower rooms. Totally unacceptable. It is not hard to make sure the mould is kept at bay and to ensure the vanity is cleaned thoroughly and does not have toothpaste drops from previous guests.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynO1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear KathrynO1610,
Thank you for taking the time to review Amora Hotel Wellington from your recent stay here with us. I was disappointed to read of your expereince with the Air Conditioning Unit and also the issues you have raised in regards to the bathrooms. Rest assured that this is not the quality that we pride ourselves on and your feedback will be passed onto the relevant managers for further follow up.
Once again, I thank you for your feedback and wish you a wonderful 2014.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Situated in downtown Wellington this hotel is a stones throw from the night life, funky Cuba street (good food, coffee and treats) and the Te Papa museum.
The staff are friendly and efficient at helping you in any way they can (helped us find 3 different stores we were looking for)
A pleasant surprise was the free laundry facility. Coming to the end of a 2 week holiday this was a much needed comfort ( I should stress its on a first come first serve basis)
The room itself is modern decor, king size bed, walk in wet room with bath tub and beautiful views of oriental bay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Emma M,

Thank you for your wonderful review and I was pleased to read you have an enjoyable stay here with us. I do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Wishing you a wonderful 2014.
Regards,
Liam Craughwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.1 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Wellington

Property: Amora Hotel Wellington
Address: 170 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#11 Business Hotel in Wellington
#12 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fabulous, downtown hotel redefines superior comfort and luxury with contemporary style in the capital city. Nearly all the rooms command unobstructed views of Wellington Harbour and/or the city and we’re located right in the arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel's rooms are spacious with 192 Deluxe Rooms, Club Rooms and Club Suites, featuring all the luxuries you would expect from a leading international hotel. Our Club Rooms are located on the top floor and assure stunning harbour views, superior in-room amenities and access to the exclusive Club Lounge for complimentary refreshments and a gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duxton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing