We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amora Hotel Wellington
Nearby Hotels
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CityLife Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Fitness centre
Wellesley Boutique Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
West Plaza Hotel(Wellington)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Ohtel(Wellington)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,186 results
Traveller rating
420
513
173
43
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
513
173
43
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewste papaclub roomgreat locationmichael fowler centreacross the roadvalet parkingwellington harbourbuffet breakfastspacious roompillow menuharbour viewshower headking bedfree wificuba stnew zealanda bit tired
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
669 - 674 of 1,186 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

There are many positives to this hotel that include its location; its clean and well laid out rooms and free WiFi as part of the package.

My cautionary note is to avoid room 908 and any room adjacent. We suffered the usual hotel room fate of a fridge that would wake the dead and always kicked off just as you were lapsing into a dream state. When I pointed this out to staff the next day there response was thoughtful and decisive and the fridge was soon emptied and turned off.....regretfully...not the ice tray so we did have a wet patch on the carpet....small price to pay though! This was replaced by a loud hum from the buildings air conditioning unit located on the roof..above our head. Enough said..methinks you get the picture by now..avoid 903 eh?

Room Tip: Read my notes and avoid Room #903 and adjacent rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Dudley C,
I appreciate you providing a review of your stay, and apologise profusely that this was your experience. I have addressed your comments with our Maintenance Manager who will undertake an investigation of the noise in this room, with a view to resolving these issues. I am please however that you found the location of the hotel, the cleanliness and staff service to be of a high standard, and I hope you will consider a return visit in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

As world travelers, we have been to many hotels. In our opinion, The Amora in Wellington, is THE best. It has everything...ambience, excellent customer service, beautiful rooms, comfortable beds and an view that is second to none. Additional amenities: Champagne, chocolate upon arrival, awesome shampoo/conditioner/lotion. The cost vs. experience makes this truly a remarkable experience. If you have the chance, make your reservations on the 9th floor, especially The Club Suite. Totally awesome!

Room Tip: 9th Floor, Club Suite
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi Linda W,
Thanks so much for a fantastic review of your stay; it is greatly appreciated and I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time here at the Amora Hotel Wellington! I do hope you get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We spent 3 nights in a Club Floor Room and from the minute we checked in the staff were very attentive and helpful (concierge always happy to field questions, etc; and our 4:30am departure for the airport was no problem - we received our 'breakfast in a bag' as we checked out, which had fruit, muffins, yoghurt, juice, etc inside). Our room was well appointed (mini bar was well-stocked and we loved the chocolates left at the turndown service as well as the complimentary sachets of milo along with the tea and coffee). Club Rooms enjoy free Wi-Fi, which is a bonus. The Club Floor Lounge is well worth the (we felt, marginal) extra spend - we popped in a few times at various times of the day and there were always drinks on ice, pastries, newspapers, etc. The late afternoon drinks and canapes were lovely and we sampled a few of New Zealand's wines and beers. Breakfasts were also really good and the staff inside the Lounge were also very friendly. Another great feature was the iron and ironing board inside the room. The hotel itself is definitely well situated and within very easy walking distance to the Te Papa Museum, Opera House and other theatres, great selection of restaurants on the Waterfront, shopping, etc. The view across the harbour is an awesome sight to wake up to :)

Room Tip: Club Rooms are worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurdyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear PurdyFamily,
Thank you for your delightful review; I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the Club experience here at the Amora Hotel Wellington. I will relay your comments to my team, as feedback such as this is a real incentive for all their hard work. Thanks again, and I hope you get the opportunity to visit us on a future occasion.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Clean and pleasant accommodation. Staff are kind and friendly. Commissionaire very helpful with parking and unloading of car when arriving at hotel. Valet parking service is excellent. Bar snacks were generous in portion size and the service was fast.

Room Tip: Two great things about the Amora. 1] you can open a window or use the air conditioning and 2] there is a separate bath and shower
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nnn1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Nnn1066,
I thank you for your wonderful comments; in particular the service that you experienced from our staff here at the Amora Hotel Wellington, and the valet service that we provide to our guests. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Spent the last few nights of our visit to New Zealand at the Amora, with a club floor room. Every staff member that we ran across was helpful and polite, and tried to assist anywhere they could.
The hotel is in a great location, with an easy walk to shopping, city centre, and wharf areas. Club floor room was in very good condition and very comfortable. Some of the features of the hotel are looking a little worn, but no doubt Amora (who I believe only took over the hotel recently) will improve those quickly as they put their stamp on the premises.
All in all, a very pleasant stay at a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Get a club floor room, with access to the lounge, afternoon drinks, and a quiet breakfast with a view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMember073020151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmoraHotelWellington, General Manager at Amora Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear BFD,
Thank you for a delightful review of your stay with us here at the Amora Hotel Wellington! I very much appreciate your feedback which I will share with my team, and I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Liam Craughwell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews